باتت مصر على أعتاب انتخابات برلمانية من المقرر أن تُجرى على مرحلتين، تبدأ أولاهما في الأسبوع الأخير من شهر أكتوبر الجاري، وتنتهي الثانية في الأسبوع الثاني من ديسمبر المقبل. وحالياً، أغلق باب الترشيح، وبدأت الدعاية الانتخابية للمترشحين، وأصبح الكل داخل الملعب مرشحين (أغلبهم من المُستقلين) وناخبين، وبينهما مَنْ يُدير المباراة وهي الهيئة الوطنية للانتخابات.

والمُستقلون هُم غير المُتحزِّبين؛ بعضهم وُجِدَ هكذا، وبعضهم لم يطِق الاستمرار في التحزُّب. والاستقلالُ عن الأحزاب عامةً سمةٌ لغالبية المجتمعات في النُّظم السياسية على اختلافها، لكنها ظاهرة تتباين نسبتها وأسبابها من نظام سياسي إلى آخر. وفي مصر دائماً ما تُناقَش هذه الظاهرة في مناسبتين موضوعية ووقتية؛ المناسبة الموضوعية تأتي عند الحديث عن الأحزاب السياسية، والمناسبة الوقتية تأتي عند كل انتخابات برلمانية.

حجم ظاهرة "المستقلين" وتطورها

في انتخابات هذا العام يتنافس وفقاً للبيانات الواردة على الموقع الإلكتروني للهيئة الوطنية للانتخابات 4532 مرشحاً أصلياً (لأن القوائم تُرشِّح أناساً احتياطيين)، منهم 568 مترشحاً على مقاعد القوائم المطلقة، ولها نصف عدد المقاعد المنتخبة لمجلس النواب (وعددها 284 مقعداً) وغالبية هؤلاء من الحزبيين. ومنهم أيضاً 3964 مرشحاً على المقاعد الفردية، ولها نصف عدد المقاعد المنتخبة للمجلس، منهم 3097 مرشحاً مُستقلاً، والباقي وعددهم 867 مترشحاً عن الأحزاب، وبذلك يُشكِّل المستقلون زهاء 78% من المقاعد الفردية، و68% من جميع المقاعد المرشحة الأصلية.

وبمقارنة تلك الأرقام بما كان عليه الحال في الانتخابات الماضية، يلاحظ أن عدد المترشحين في انتخابات 2000 التي جرت بالنظام الأغلبي عبر الأسلوب الفردي لبرلمان عدد نوابه المنتخبين 444 نائباً، كان 3957 مترشحاً منهم 923 حزبياً. وفي انتخابات 2005 التي جرت بذات الأسلوب وذات المقاعد، كان عدد المترشحين 5177 منهم 4423 مُستقلاً. وفي انتخابات 2010 التي جرت بذات الأسلوب لعدد 508 مقعداً، كان عدد المرشحين 5411 مرشحاً، منهم نحو 600 مرشحاً حزبياً. وفي انتخابات 11/2012 التي جرت بنظام المقعد الفردي بنسبة الثلث (أي 166 مقعداً)، والقوائم النسبية بنسبة الثلثين (أي 332 مقعداً)، كان عدد المرشحين 10251 مرشحاً، منهم 6154 ترشّحوا على مقاعد المستقلين. ورغم أن العدد الأخير شمل مرشحين حزبيين ترشحوا على المقاعد الفردية، إلا أن الرقم أشار إلى ارتفاع معدل التنافس على المقعد الفردي بشكل غير مسبوق، إذ تنافس على المقعد الواحد في المتوسط 37 مرشحاً. أما الانتخابات الأخيرة التي جرت عام 2015، وكانت بالنظام الأغلبي بنسبة 79% من جملة المقاعد بالأسلوب الفردي، فقد تنافس على تلك المقاعد البالغ عددها 448 مقعداً منتخباً من إجمالي المقاعد المنتخبة البالغ عددها 568 مقعداً، عدد 5876 مترشحاً منهم 5441 مترشحاً من المستقلين، ما أشار إلى انخفاض كبير في معدل التنافس على المقعد الواحد، وأن ثمة ضعفاً كبيراً في المشاركة مقارنة بانتخابات 11/2012.

ومن الأرقام سالفة الذكر يتبيَّن أن المستقلين هم الرقم الرئيس في عملية الترشُّح للانتخابات البرلمانية في مصر، مع الاختلاف في درجة الأهمية وفقاً للعديد من الاعتبارات، أهمها: طبيعة النظم الانتخابي، ومناخ إجراء الانتخابات من الناحيتين السياسية والقانونية، بمعنى مناخ الحريات السائد، ومسألة الإنفتاح أو الإتاحة القانونية.   

أسباب تضخُّم ظاهرة المرشَّحين المستقلين

تقودنا الأرقام والإحصائيات سالفة الذكر إلى طرح سؤال حول الأسباب والعوامل التي جعلت المستقلين في السباق الانتخابي الراهن يحتلون النسبة الأكبر من عدد المشاركين في الترشيح للانتخابات. ولعل أهم الأسباب والعوامل لذلك يتمثل في الآتي:

  • يُعدّ العمل في المجال السياسي في مصر من الأعمال غير المُفضَّلة وغير المرغوب فيها، ورغم أن الاهتمام بالسياسة والشأن العام مفتوحين للتعبير عنهما بدرجات تتباين بتباين النظم السياسية المتعاقبة، إلا أنه على العموم اهتمام غير منظم وغير مؤطر في شكل انضمام لأحزاب وقوى سياسية معترف بها.
  • تربَّى الشعب المصري واعتادَ منذ مطلع القرن الماضي، على عدم رغبة السلطة في انغماسه في الشأن السياسي. ففي الحقبة الملكية، كان العمل بالسياسة مرتبطاً لدى السلطة أما بالعمل مع الملك وعدم العداء للاحتلال أو معارضة أحدهما أو كلاهما. وعقب ذلك كانت الحقبة الناصرية قد سلَّمت بأنه لا عمل بالشأن السياسي قبل جلاء الاحتلال. ورغم عودة الأحزاب السياسية للعمل عام 1976، إلا أن تلك الحقبة سادها مناخٌ كارهٌ لدى الناس بعدم استحباب السلطة مشاركتهم في العمل السياسي، وبالطبع كانت الأحزاب أهم أداته. وقد كرَّست أعمال الدراما السينمائية المصرية كل ما سبق، حتى أصبح تكرار بث تلك الأعمال وإعادتها، نوعاً من التذكير بأن السلامة هي في البُعْد عن النشاط السياسي.
  • تتسم الحياة في مصر بوجود العديد من المشكلات الاقتصادية والاجتماعية المرتبطة عادة بمشكلات التعليم وأزمات الصحة وارتفاع أسعار السلع والخدمات وقلة الدخول...إلخ. وكل هذه الأمور أدت إلى تركيز اهتمام الناس على أولوية العمل على سد حاجاتهم اليومية، واعتبار العمل السياسي من ثمَّ نوعاً من الرفاهية.
  • أدت رؤية الناس في مصر للخلافات المستمرة داخل الأحزاب السياسية، وأزمات الديمقراطية داخلها، والتطاحن بين قياداتها على المواقع الحزبية، إلى نفور الكثير منهم عن المشاركة في عضوية الأحزاب، وتفضيل الاتجاهات المستقلِّة البعيدة عن التحزُّب.
  • يعد النظام الأغلبي في الانتخابات (50%+1)، وهو النظام الذي ساد العمل الانتخابي في مصر منذ تأسيس مجلس شورى النواب في عام 1866، باستثناء سنوات قليلة، واحداً من أهم أسباب عزوف عموم المصريين عن المشاركة في الأحزاب. فهذا النظام أدى إلى جعل رغبة المصريين في المشاركة في الترشيح في الانتخابات مُتاحة دون حاجة للمشاركة في الأحزاب والمكونات السياسية.
  • ساد بين المصريين في العقود القليلة الماضية رغبة في المشاركة في الترشيح لعضوية البرلمان، واعتبر البعض أن تلك العضوية كسباً لهم في مواجهة خصومهم من العائلات والقبائل، ودعماً للوجاهة الاجتماعية، وذوداً عن نفوذهم الاقتصادي المستشري بنفوذ سياسي يستطيع التغطية عليه وإكسابه قوة.

وإذن، فلكل الأسباب السالفة الذكر كان المُستقلّون المرشحون هم الغالبية، والمُتحزِّبون المترشحون هم الأقلية.

الانعكاسات المتوقعة على المشهدين الانتخابي والبرلماني

تشهد مصر اليوم انتخابات برلمانية لتمثيل المصالح الضيقة والدوائر والجهويات، أكثر من كون الأمر عبارة عن تمثيل للأمة المصرية عامةً، ما يجعل الناخب يتجه لمرشحه الذي يتوسم فيه تقديم الخدمات الشخصية والجهوية. والمؤكد أن هذا الأمر سيؤثر على تشكيل مجلس النواب، حيث تكون الأحزاب في المجلس (بوصفها كياناتٍ وليس كياناً واحداً) مجرد رقم ضمن أرقام، وليست إطاراً منمقَّاً لعمل برلماني منظم ويُمكِن التَّعويل عليه.

وأمرٌ كهذا يُلاحَظ منذ الآن؛ فمثلاً تعد القوائم التي أسستها اليوم قوى حزبية وسياسية مجرد تجمعات انتخابية لقوى متعددة الأطياف، ستنفرط بمجرد فوزها أو خسارتها للانتخابات، ما يجعل العمل البرلماني مُعتمِداً بقدرٍ ما على النواب المستقلين، الذين كانوا نتاجاً لانتخابات غير حزبية. وقد دلَّ على ذلك نسبة المستقلين المرتفعة في ترشيحات الشق الفردي على مستوى كل المحافظات المصرية السبعة والعشرين، إذ احتل هؤلاء نسب السبعينات في ترشيحات محافظتي الوادي الجديد، وأسوان (62,5%، و69% على التوالي)، ونسب الثمانينات في ترشيحات محافظات أسيوط (77,9%)، والإسكندرية (76,7%)، والإسماعيلية (79,6%)، والأقصر (78,7%)، والبحر الأحمر (71%)، والبحيرة (77,1%)، والشرقية (73,6%)، والفيوم (70%)، والقاهرة (77,1%)، والمنيا (71,7%)، وبني سويف (74,7%)، وسوهاج (71,8%)، وشمال سيناء (71%) وقنا (72,5%)، ومطروح (77,8%)، ونسب التسعينات في ترشيحات محافظات الجيزة (80,6%)، والدقهلية (84%)، والسويس (85,3%)، والغربية (82,4%)، والقليوبية (84,3%)، والمنوفية (83,9%)، وبورسعيد (80%)، وجنوب سيناء (80%)، ودمياط (86,4%)، وكفر الشيخ (81,3%).

وكل ما سبق يُشير إلى أن المستقلين سيحتلون نسبة معتبرة في البرلمان المقبل. ومع أن الأحزاب والقوى السياسية التي تمتلك في الشق الفردي 867 مترشحاً من إجمالي 3964 مرشحاً هي قوى مُنظَّمة، إلا أن ضعف الأحزاب في مصر لا يَشي بتنظيم جيّد يُحقق لها الغلبة بالضرورة في هذا الجانب. لكن - وهنا المهم - إذا ما أُضيف للشق الفردي شق القوائم الذي تمتلك فيه الأحزاب الأغلبية الكبيرة في الترشيحات، فالأرجح أن يحتل المستقلون ما يقرُب مِن 50% مِن إجمالي المقاعد المنتخبة.

وواقع أن استحواذ المستقلين على قرابة نصف مقاعد المجلس النيابي المقبل قد يعتبره البعض أمراً مُقلِقاً للحكومة المصرية، لكنه على الأرجح لن يكون كذلك، لأن تلك الفئة غير مُنظَّمة وغير مُتكتِّلة، كما أنها تهتم عادةً بدوائرها الضيقة ومصالحها الخاصة. وأخيراً، سيُدرِك أغلب المنضوين تحتها - كما حدث في المجلس الحالي - أنه لا مصلحة لهم في مُعارضة السلطة التنفيذية على طول الخط، ولذلك من المتوقع أن يكون البرلمان المقبل أكثر تعاوناً مع السلطة التنفيذية مقارنةً بسابقه.

كيف لهذا الوضع أن يتغيَّر؟

إن إحدى وسائل علاج ظاهرة المستقلين في مصر، تتمثل في العمل على تشجيع عموم المواطنين المصريين على الانضمام للأحزاب السياسية قبل الانتخابات، بدلاً من الركض خلفهم لتشكيلها - أو الانضمام للقائم منها - من قِبَل الفائزين بعد تأليف البرلمان. ولعلّ من أهم العوامل التي ستؤدي إلى إنعاش العمل الحزبي في مصر هو عودة نظام القوائم النسبية الحزبية، والتي تُجبِر المواطنين على الانضمام للأحزاب للمشاركة في الانتخابات.

ومن ناحية أخرى، يُعد اهتمام الدولة المصرية بالأحزاب قولًا وفعلًا، من أهم سُبُل جَذْب عموم المصريين إلى الأحزاب. وهنا يجب التذكير بأن اهتمام الدولة بالشأنين السياسي والحزبي وعلى نحوٍ يُماثِل اهتمامها بالشأن الاجتماعي الانتخابي، عبر اهتمامها بالكوتات المتصلة بالجندر وأصحاب الهِمم (ذوي الإعاقة) والشباب وغيرهم، يُعد واحداً من أهم أشكال جَذْب المواطنين المصريين إلى الأحزاب.

وأخيراً، فإن إعادة تنظيم الأحزاب السياسية المصرية من داخلها، سيكون كفيلاً بأن تُشكِّل مصدر جذبٍ شعبي عوضاً عن التصارع والتطاحن الذي خلَّف مناخ السلبية والعزوف الراهن.

أحدث الإيجازات

Egypt is on the eve of the first of two stages in its parliamentary elections, scheduled to begin in the last week of October and ending in the second week of December. The window for nominations has closed, and candidates (many of whom are running as independents) have begun campaigning, under the oversight of the National Elections Authority.

Independents do not belong to a political party; some running in the current elections never have done, while others have left parties to which they previously belonged. Independent candidates are a feature in the political systems of most societies, but their prominence and motivations within each system vary from one to the next. In the context of Egypt, we can talk in general of independent candidates with regard to the political parties, and we can also talk of temporary independents who appear only during elections. This paper will examine the phenomenon of independent candidates in the Egyptian elections and the impact that they have had on elections and the Egyptian parliament.

The development of the independent candidate phenomenon

According to the website of the National Elections Authority, 4,532 original candidates (including back-up candidates on electoral lists) have registered to run in the upcoming elections in Egypt, of whom 568 are running on closed lists for half of the elected seats in the House of Representatives, totaling 284 seats. Most of these candidates are affiliated with a political party. The remaining 3,964 candidates are running for individual seats, which represent the other half of seats in the House of Representatives. Of these, 3,097 are independent candidates, and the remaining 867 are affiliated with a political party; independent candidates therefore represent 78% of those running for individual seats, and 68% of all original candidates.

By comparison, in 2000, 3,957 candidates ran in the parliamentary elections (which used the single-candidate majority system, in which candidates had to receive 50%+1 of the votes to win the seat), competing for 444 seats. Of them, 923 were party-affiliated. In the 2005 elections, which had the same number of seats and used the same system, there were 5,177 candidates, of whom 4,423 were independents. In the 2010 elections, the number of seats increased to 508; there were 5,411 candidates, of whom around 600 were party-affiliated. In the 2011/12 elections, a third of parliamentary seats (i.e. 166) were elected using the individual candidate system, and two thirds (i.e. 332) of seats used closed lists. There were 10,251 candidates, of whom 6,154 ran as independents. Although this included candidates running for individual seats, it represented an unprecedently high rate of competition, with an average of 37 candidates competing for each seat. The 2015 elections also used the majority system, with 79% of seats elected via the individual candidate system (448 of the total 568 seats). There were 5,876 candidates, of whom 5,441 ran as independents; both competition for seats and the level of participation were therefore far lower than during the 2011/12 elections.

Independent candidates have long been a key feature of Egyptian parliamentary elections. The importance of their role varies depending on the nature of the electoral system, the political and legal climate behind the elections, the prevailing model of freedoms, and the level of legal openness or accessibility.

Reasons for the rise in the number of independent candidates

As evidenced by the aforementioned figures, most candidates in the current elections race are running as independents. This may be driven by a number of factors:

  • In Egypt, politics is not seen as a desirable field in which to work. Although politics and public affairs have been discussed openly to varying degrees depending on the political system, such engagement is not structured through membership of recognized political parties or forces.
  • Since the early 20th century, Egyptians have become accustomed to the unwillingness of the authorities to involve them in political affairs. Back when Egypt was a kingdom, to work in politics meant either working on behalf of the King and showing opposition to occupation, or opposing one or both of them. During the Nasser era, Egyptians recognized that political work would not be possible until the occupation had ended. Despite the return of Egypt’s political parties in 1976, the people strongly resented the authorities’ unwillingness to allow them to participate in politics. The political parties were, of course, the authorities’ main tool in this regard. Egyptian TV and film dramas regularly discuss these same issues, which has become a reminder to the Egyptian people that there is safety in keeping their distance from political activity.
  • Egypt suffers from numerous economic and social problems, often linked to failures in the education and healthcare systems, high prices for goods and services, and low incomes, etc. The Egyptian people therefore prioritize their daily needs and see political work as a luxury.
  • The ongoing disagreements, democratic crises, and leadership quarrels within the political parties have alienated many Egyptians and have driven up support for independent candidates.
  • The use of the majority system in Egyptian elections – the most commonly used system since the establishment of the Shura Council of Representatives in 1866, with the exception of a few years – is one of the main reasons why Egyptians are reluctant to engage with political parties. Under this system, Egyptians can stand in elections without needing to belong to a political party or entity.
  • In recent decades, there has been a growing desire among Egyptians to stand for parliament, which some see as a way to gain the upper hand over enemy families and tribes, gain social prestige, and further boost their own strong economic standing.

Consequently, the number of independent candidates far outstrips those affiliated with political parties.

Expected repercussions for the elections and parliament

Parliamentary elections in Egypt tend to represent the narrow interests of certain circles and groups rather than the wider interests of the Egyptian people, meaning that voters are drawn primarily to candidates whom they feel will serve their local and personal interests. This shapes the composition of the House of Representatives, where political parties are disunited, and there is no well formulated framework that would allow for organized, reliable parliamentary work.

The current lists established by political parties are little more than electoral groupings of multi-sectarian forces that will disperse as soon as the elections are over, whether they win or lose. Parliamentary work is therefore dependent to a certain extent on independent, non-partisan representatives. This is evidenced in the high proportion of independent candidates running for individual seat in all 27 governorates: New Valley (62.5%), Aswan (69%), Asyut (77.9%), Alexandria (76.7%), Ismailia (79.6%), Luxor (78.7%), Red Sea (71%), Al-Buhayrah (77.1%), Al-Sharqia (73.6%), Fayoum (70%), Cairo (77.1%), Minya (71.7%), Beni Suef (74.7%), Suhag (71.8%), North Sinai (71%), Qena (72.5%), Matruh (77.8%), Giza (80.6%), Al-Dakahlia (84%), Suez (85.3%), Al-Gharbia (82.4%), Al-Qalyubia (84.3%), Al-Munufia (83.9%), Port Said (80%), South Sinai (80%), Damietta (86.4%), and Kafr el Sheikh (81.3%).

Independent candidates will therefore hold a considerable percentage of seats in the next parliament. Egypt’s political forces and parties, while technically organized groups, are weak, and will not necessarily have an advantage in this regard during the elections. Even in lists in which the political hold parties have a large majority of candidates, independent candidates are expected to win around half the seats.

While this could be a cause of concern for the government, it is unlikely to see independent candidate as much of a threat, as they are isolated and unorganized and usually have very narrow interests. As with the current parliament, it will also become clear that independent representatives have no interest at all in opposing the executive authorities; the next parliament is therefore even more likely to cooperate with the executive authorities than its predecessor.

How might the situation change?

One way to rebalance the situation would be to encourage Egyptians to join a political party before the elections, rather than attempting to push winning candidates to form or join parties after the fact. Perhaps one of the key factors in restoring Egypt’s political parties would be the return of the party proportional list system, under which citizens must join a party if they wish to stand in the elections.

Furthermore, one of the most effective ways to attract Egyptians to political parties would be for the Egyptian State to demonstrate its support for the parties in both word and deed. Another important step is for the State to show an interest in political party affairs and, similarly, in electoral social affairs by introducing quotas for women, disabled people, young people, and other groups.

Lastly, Egypt’s political parties must be reorganized from within so as to overcome their internal conflicts and eliminate the climate of negativity that dissuades so many voters from joining them.

Latest Briefs