أنهى الاتفاق الأخير بين مُنتجي النفط الأساسيين في العالم أزمة داخل أسواق الطاقة استدعت تدخلاً فاعلاً للرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترامب، لوقف ما عرف بحرب الانتاج والأسعار بين السعودية وروسيا. وقد سببت هذه الأزمة انخفاضاً في أسعار النفط بنسبة 40 بالمائة منذ أوائل مارس 2020، عندما فشلت السعودية وروسيا في الاتفاق على خطة طارئة لمعالجة وفرة الإمدادات داخل مجموعة "أوبك+".

وفيما بدت تلك الحرب نتاج تباين في نظرة موسكو والرياض إلى القطاع النفطي وتناقض في مصالح البلدين في ظل تراجع عجلة الاقتصاد بسبب جائحة كورونا، تأثرت صناعة النفط الصخري في الولايات المتحدة على نحو مباشر، ما دفع البيت الأبيض إلى اعتبار أن الأزمة ليست عرضية، بل باتت تهدد بالإطاحة بمئات الآلاف من الوظائف داخل هذا القطاع الأمريكي الواعد في صناعة الطاقة، كما تلقي بتداعيات مُقلِقَة على حملة ترامب للانتخابات الرئاسية في نوفمبر المقبل.

لاعبون قُدامى وتفاهمات جديدة

استطاع تدخل الرئيس الأمريكي والتواصل الذي أجراه الرئيس الروسي فلاديمير بوتين مع الرئيس ترامب وولي العهد السعودي الأمير محمد بن سلمان إلى بناء تفاهمات أُبرِمَت في 12 أبريل الجاري لضبط أسواق النفط من جديد، ونجح تدخل البيت الأبيض في إنتاج تسوية تلتزم بموجبها المكسيك بتلك التفاهمات. وبموجب الاتفاق، ستُخفِّض المكسيك إنتاجها بمقدار 100 ألف برميل في اليوم، أي أقلّ من الالتزام بـ 250 إلى 300 ألف برميل، والذي كانت السعودية تُطالِب به.

وتُلزِم حصيلة ما تم التوصل إليه 23 دولة بحجب 9.7 مليون برميل يومياً من النفط عن الأسواق العالمية. وتهدف الصفقة، التي تعالج وفرة النفط المتزايدة الناتجة عن تآكل الطلب جراء أزمة كورونا، إلى حجب كمية قياسية من النفط الخام عن الأسواق تقدر بأكثر من 13 بالمائة من الإنتاج العالمي.

ويمثل الاتفاق خسارة لرهانات الرئيس بوتين على تحقيق اختراق انتهازي لصالح صناعة النفط الروسية داخل الأسواق، سواء من خلال إغرائها بغزارة الإنتاج الروسي والاستحواذ على مزيد من الأسواق التي تنشط داخلها تقليدياً دول منتجة، بما فيها السعودية، أو من خلال توجيه ضربة موجعة لصناعة النفط الصخري في الولايات المتحدة التي باتت شريكا متقدماً ينافس الدول الكبيرة المنتجة للنفط التقليدي.

وفيما جادل بعض مُراقبي أسواق النفط، لاسيما في الولايات المتحدة، بأن الرياض شريكة مع موسكو في إغراق الأسواق من خلال انخراطها في حرب الإنتاج مع روسيا، تولى مُشرِّعون أمريكيون شنّ حملة ضد الرياض واتهامها بعدم احترام عقود من التحالف التاريخي مع واشنطن (فعلى سبيل المثال، قال السيناتور كيفين كريمر، الجمهوري عن ولاية داكوتا الشمالية، "إن هذه ليست الطريقة التي يتعامل بها الأصدقاء مع الأصدقاء"). غير أن خبراء في شؤون الطاقة يرون أن السعودية تعاملت مع صناعة النفط الصخري الأمريكي بصفتها أمراً واقعاً تعايشت معه، وحرصت في السنوات الأخيرة على الدفاع عن نقطة توازن في أسعار النفط تحمي مصالح صناعة النفط السعودي، ولا تسبب في الوقت نفسه ضرراً كبيراً لصناعة النفط الصخري في الولايات المتحدة.

ويخلص الخبراء إلى أن السعودية ذهبت بعيداً في الرد على موقف روسيا التي رفضت اتفاقاً لخفض الإنتاج داخل "أوبك+" أوائل مارس الماضي (2020)، حين رفعت معدل إنتاجها إلى 13 مليون برميل، مع ما يسببه ذلك من خفض كبير للأسعار، وأن القرار السعودي كان السلاح الوحيد للدفاع عن حصص المملكة التاريخية في أسواق الاستهلاك من جهة، ولممارسة أقصى الضغوط على روسيا من جهة ثانية، ما سهّل مسعى ترامب لدفع بوتين من جديد إلى داخل مربع الاتفاق.

أبعاد الاتفاق ودلالاته

أُبِرم الاتفاق في مؤتمر عقد عبر الهاتف عقد على عجل مع وفود من منظمة البلدان المصدرة للبترول (13 دولة) وغيرها، بما في ذلك روسيا، عشية افتتاح الأسواق يوم الاثنين (13 أبريل) في وقت سادت خلاله مشاعر القلق من إمكانية حدوث انهيار هائل في الأسعار إذا تعذَّر التوصل إلى اتفاق. والظاهر أن قساوة الأزمة شكلت صدمة لكل مُنتجي النفط في العالم، لاسيما المنتجين الكبار، ودفعت بروسيا والسعودية إلى الاتفاق من جديد والعودة إلى استخدام تعابير التعاون والود بينهما، على الرغم من أن هذه الأزمة قد تترك آثاراً سلبية على طموحات بناء علاقات استراتيجية بين البلدين، تحتاجها موسكو، على نحو خاص، لرفد مساعيها المستمرة لاستعادة نفوذها في الشرق الأوسط.

واستطاع المنتجون التوصل إلى اتفاق يعولون من خلاله على تعويم سعر برميل النفط بما يتناسب مع متطلبات الإنفاق في روسيا والسعودية، كما أن حدة الأزمة وما واكبها من توتر سياسي واقتصادي أعادا الاعتبار لروحية التوافق وقواعد ضبط الإنتاج، ما يسّر موافقة المُنتِجين على حجب كميات بمستويات أعلى مما كانت الرياض تطالب به، وفق تعبير وزير النفط السعودي، الأمير عبد العزيز بن سلمان.

غير أن أكبر الرابحين من هذا الاتفاق هو الرئيس ترامب الذي أثبت قدرته على معالجة أزمة معقدة متعددة الأطراف، الأمر الذي أعاد تعويمه بوصفه زعيماً دولياً ومرجعاً لحل الأزمات العالمية، وأبرز قدرته على الدفاع عن قطاع النفط الصخري في بلاده، ولذا سارع - كعادته- إلى التباهي بما جرى على منصة تويتر، قائلاً إن الصفقة "ستوفر مئات الآلاف من وظائف الطاقة في الولايات المتحدة"، مُظهِراً قدرته على استثمار الحدث في أوساط الكتلة الناخبة استعداداً للاستحقاق الرئاسي في الخريف المقبل.

ويُعوّل، وفق بعض الخبراء، على قيام الدول الصناعية، وهي جزء من وكالة الطاقة الدولية، بالإعلان عن مشتريات الخام لملء مخزوناتها الوطنية كوسيلة لسحب بعض فائض النفط من السوق، علماً أن الاتفاق يأخذ بعين الاعتبار أن الإجراءات بشكل عام مقترنة بالعقوبات الحالية على إيران وفنزويلا وتوقُّف إمدادات المناطق الساخنة، مثل ليبيا، يمكن أن تحجب 20 مليون برميل يومياً من الإمدادات عن السوق.

ومع ذلك فإن المستثمرين لا يزالون يُشكِّكون بأن تكون التخفيضات كافية لدعم ارتفاع الأسعار في الأسابيع المقبلة، إذ تؤدي عمليات الإغلاق العالمية إلى الحد من الطلب على البنزين والديزل ووقود الطائرات. ومع أن هناك اعتقاد سائد بأن الاتفاق وقيود الانتاج التي وضعها سيُخففانِ من حالة الاكتئاب في أسواق النفط، إلا أن ثمة من يرى أنها تظل قليلة جداً وجاءت متأخرة جداً، خصوصاً أنه من المتوقع، وسط قيود السفر وإيقاف العمل، أن ينخفض ​​استهلاك النفط بما يصل إلى 30 مليون برميل يومياً هذا الشهر.

خلاصة واستنتاجات

  • أثبت اتفاق أوبك وشركائها استمرار الدول في التعاون وفق نظام دولي ما زال يعمل بنفس القواعد، بما ينفي ما يستشرفه البعض من قيام نظام عالمي جديد نتيجة لما أظهرته جائحة كورونا من تناقضات وصراعات مصالح داخل المشهد العالمي الراهن.
  • أعاد الاتفاق تأكيد زعامة الولايات المتحدة العالمية من خلال رعاية صفقة تَهُم حلفاءها (السعودية والمكسيك مثلاً) وتَهُم خصومها في الآن نفسه (الصين وروسيا على سبيل المثال).
  • سلَّطت أزمة سوق النفط والاتفاق الأخير الضوء على دور السعودية المركزي والأساسي في تحديد توجهات هذا السوق ومساراته، وقدرة الرياض على امتلاك أوراق ضاغطة قوية تأخذها دول عظمى مثل الولايات المتحدة وروسيا في الحسبان.
  • مثَّلت الأزمة النفطية الأخيرة فشلاً لافتاً لسياسات الرئيس الروسي ومقارباته للمتغيرات الإقليمية والدولية. فمن جهة، شكلت حرب النفط مع السعودية ضربة لخطط بوتين لاستمالة حلفاء الولايات المتحدة، لاسيما في منطقة الخليج، على منوال ما حققه مع الرئيس التركي رجب طيب أردوغان، وسببت نكسة داخل سياق العلاقات الروسية السعودية. ومن جهة أخرى، نالت الأزمة من صورة بوتين لجهة عجزه عن تقديم نفسه زعيماً دولياً ذا سطوة ناجِزَة، واضطراره إلى "الامتثال" لضغوط الرياض وواشنطن والقبول بخفض في الإنتاج رفضه بشدة قبل ذلك، ما سيؤثر حتماً على طموحاته اللاحقة في الساحتين الإقليمية والدولية.

أحدث الإيجازات

The recent deal between the world’s major oil producers has ended a crisis within the energy markets that had required the intervention of US President Donald Trump to stop what has been known as the war of production and prices between Saudi Arabia and Russia. The crisis has led to a decline of 40 percent in oil prices since the beginning of March 2020 when Saudi Arabia and Russia failed to reach an agreement on an emergency plan to deal with the abundance of supplies within the OPEC+ group.

While this war appeared as an output of the divergent views of both Moscow and Riyadh vis-à-vis the oil sector and the conflicting interests of the two countries against the slowdown of economic activity as a result of the corona pandemic, the US shale oil industry was directly affected. This prompted the White House to view the crisis not as a casual event but rather as a threat to hundreds of thousands of jobs within this promising US sector in the energy industry. It would also have disquieting implications for Trump’s campaign for the presidential elections next November.

Old players and new understandings

The intervention of the US President and the communications between Russian President Vladimir Putin and both President Trump and Saudi Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman have resulted in building understandings on 12 April to re-adjust oil prices. The White House intervention has managed to produce a settlement whereby Mexico would be committed to those understandings. Under the deal, Mexico would cut its production by 100 thousand barrels per day, i.e. less than the commitment of 250-300 thousand barrels a day demanded by Saudi Arabia.

As a result of the understanding reached, 23 countries would commit themselves to withholding 9.7 million barrels of oil per day from global markets. The deal, which seeks to deal with increasing oil abundance as a result of the declining demand due to the corona crisis, aims to withhold from the markets a record quantity of crude oil estimated at more than 13 percent of global production.

The deal represents a loss of President Putin’s bet on achieving an opportunistic breakthrough in favour of the Russian oil industry within markets, be this through tempting with the abundant Russian production and the takeover of more markets where producing countries, including Saudi Arabia, are traditionally active, or through aiming a painful blow to the US shale oil industry which has become a well-developed partner competing with major countries producing traditional oil.

While some oil market observers, especially in the US, have argued that Riyadh is a partner of Moscow in dumping markets by entering the production war against Russia, some US legislators have launched a campaign against Riyadh accusing it of failing to respect decades of historical alliance with Washington (for instance, Republican Senator for North Dakota Kevin Cramer said, “that's not how friends treat friends”). However, experts on energy affairs consider that Saudi Arabia has dealt with the US shale oil industry as a reality that it has coexisted with and that it has been keen over recent years to defend a point of equilibrium in oil prices that would protect the interests of the Saudi oil industry while not leading to a great harm to the US shale oil industry.

The experts conclude that Saudi Arabia has gone too far in responding to Russia’s position which has refused a deal to cut production within OPEC+ at the beginning of March 2020 when it increased its production to 13 million barrels per day despite the resulting significant fall in prices. They also conclude that the Saudi decision was the only weapon to defend Saudi Arabia’s historical shares in consumption markets on the one hand, and to exert maximum pressure on Russia on the other. This facilitated Trump’s attempts to drive Putin once again into striking a deal.

Dimensions and implications of the deal

The deal was struck over a hurried videoconference with delegations from the 13 OPEC countries and others, including Russia, on the eve of the of start of dealings on Monday, 13 April, at a time of prevailing concerns about a possible huge collapse in prices if a deal cannot be reached. The severity of the crisis has apparently shocked all oil producers in the world, especially major ones, driving Russia and Saudi Arabia to agree once again and resume the use of expressions of cooperation and friendship between both countries, although the crisis will have adverse effects on the aspirations to build strategic relations between both countries, something which Moscow particularly needs to support its ongoing efforts to restore its influence in the Middle East.

Producers have managed to reach an agreement whereby they would rely on floating the price of the barrel of oil in proportion to spending requirements in both Russia and Saudi Arabia. Besides, the severity of the crisis and the accompanying political and economic tension have contributed to restoring the spirit of consensus and rules to adjust production. This facilitated agreement by producers to withhold greater quantities than was demanded by Riyadh, according to Saudi oil minister Prince Abdulaziz bin Salman.

However, the biggest winner of this deal is President Trump who has proved that he is capable of solving a complicated and multilateral crisis. This has re-positioned him as an international leader and a reference for solving global crises. It has also proved his capability to defend the shale oil sector in his country. That is why he was quick to boast about what has been achieved through his Twitter account, saying that the deal “will save hundreds of thousands of energy jobs in the United States” and demonstrating his capability to invest the event to influence voters in preparation for the presidential elections next autumn.

According to some experts, industrial countries, which are members of the International Energy Agency, are relied upon to announce the purchase of the crude to fill their national stocks as a way of withdrawing the oil surplus from the market, given that the deal takes into account that the procedures generally, in association with the current sanctions on Iran and Venezuela and the interruption of supplies from hot areas, such as Libya, could withhold 20 million barrels per day of supplies from the market.

Nevertheless, investors continue to express doubts that the cuts would be sufficient to support the rise in prices in the coming weeks. Global lockdowns lead to reduced demand for gasoline, diesel and jet fuel. While a view prevails that the deal and production restrictions therein will ease the depressive state in the oil markets, according to another view, this would be too little too late, especially that it is expected, amidst travel restrictions and suspension of work, that consumption will fall by nearly 30 million barrels per day this month.

Conclusion

• The deal between OPEC and its partners has demonstrated the continuing cooperation between countries under an international order that continues to operate according to the same rules. This denies what some foresee as the emergence of a new world order due to the discrepancies and conflicts of interest within the current world scene as a result of the corona pandemic.

• The deal has reaffirmed the US world leadership through sponsoring a deal that is simultaneously important for both its allies (such as Saudi Arabia and Mexico) and its rivals (such as China and Russia).

• The oil market crisis and the recent deal have highlighted the pivotal role of Saudi Arabia in determining the orientations and paths of this market in addition to Riyadh’s capability to hold critical pressure cards that are heeded by major powers such as the US and Russia.

• The recent oil crisis has constituted a remarkable failure for the Russian President’s policies and his approaches to international and regional changes. On the one hand, the oil war with Saudi Arabia has constituted a blow to Putin’s plans to win over US allies, especially in the Gulf, similar to what he achieved with Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan, and has resulted in a setback within the context of Russian-Saudi relations. On the other hand, the crisis has damaged Putin’s image as he failed to present himself as an influential world leader and had to “give in” to the pressures from Riyadh and Washington and accept an oil production that he had previously adamantly refused. This would certainly affect his subsequent aspirations in the regional and international arenas alike.

Latest Briefs