تعددت المبادرات الفرنسية العسكرية لمكافحة الإرهاب في منطقة الساحل الأفريقية، لكنها لا تزال تواجه تحدي تصاعد الهجمات وتمدد نفوذ التنظيمات الإرهابية. وفي هذا السياق، اجتمعت فرنسا مع مجموعة الساحل الخماسية في قمة "باو" في يناير الماضي. وبعدها أعلنت ثلاث عشرة دولة[1]، في 27 مارس 2020، تأييدها تشكيل قوات عسكرية أوربية خاصة لدعم عمليات مكافحة الإرهاب في المنطقة، وهو ما يثير العديد من التساؤلات حول الدوافع والفرص والتحديات المرتبطة بهذه التوجهات الفرنسية الجديدة.

معالم التوجهات العسكرية الفرنسية الجديدة

تهدف هذه التوجهات إلى تعزيز الدور الأمني الفرنسي في المنطقة، وذلك من خلال:

  • الحصول على الدعم السياسي من جانب دول المنطقة، حيث طلب الرئيس الفرنسي، إيمانويل ماكرون، من قادة دول مجموعة الساحل الخماسية المزيد من الدعم السياسي للوجود الفرنسي. وخلال قمة "باو" في 13 يناير، أعرب قادة هذه الدول عن تأييدهم لاستمرار الانخراط العسكري الفرنسي في المنطقة[2].
  • قيادة الجهود العسكرية الأوروبية في المنطقة، من خلال حث هذه الدول على التعاون باعتبار أن التهديد الإرهابي في المنطقة يساعد على تزايد معدلات الهجرة غير الشرعية لأوروبا[3]. ومن ثم، فقد أيدت ثلاث عشرة دولة تشكيل قوات خاصة أوروبية، تعرف بــفرقة المهام "تاكوبا"، بينما عملت فرنسا على أن تعمل هذه القوات تحت قيادة العملية العسكرية الفرنسية "برخان"[4].
  • إعادة بناء الثقة في الدور الأمني الفرنسي في المنطقة على صعيد الداخل الفرنسي وعلى الصعيدين الأفريقي والدولي، والاستفادة من دعم الحلفاء الأوربيين، إذ يتوقع أن تبدأ هذه القوات مهامها مع بداية العام القادم (2021)، وستعمل هذه القوات بشكل رئيس في منطقة ليبتاكو- جورما على حدود بوركينا فاسو ومالي والنيجر[5].
  • تعزيز الوجود العسكري الفرنسي، إذ تعهدت الحكومة الفرنسية في فبراير بتعزيز وجودها العسكري الحالي (4500 جندي) بإرسال 850 جندياً فرنسياً إلى المنطقة[6]، وإرسال حوالي 50 عسكرياً من القوات الخاصة لتعمل نواةً لقوات "تاكوبا"، التي تضم حتى الآن حوالي 300 مقاتل من الدول المشاركة[7]، والتي يتوقع أن تتشكل منها سبعة كتائب بعد اكتمال تشكيلها، وستنشر مالي والنيجر اثنتان منها، وواحدة من كل من تشاد وبوركينا فاسو وموريتانيا[8].

محفزات (دوافع) التوجهات العسكرية الفرنسية الجديدة

وتتمثل أهمها في الآتي:

  • تصاعد العمليات الإرهابية برغم تعدد المبادرات، فمنذ عام 2016، زادت الهجمات إلى خمسة أضعافها في بوركينا فاسو ومالي والنيجر. وقُتل ما يقرب من 300 نيجري، وأكثر من 180 مالياً، و30 بوركينابياً، و20 جندياً تشادياً، فضلاً عن حوالي 13 جندياً فرنسياً لقوا حتفهم نتيجة اصطدام مروحيتين في مالي في نوفمبر 2019[9].
  • تصاعد موجة الاحتجاجات في مالي ضد الوجود العسكري الفرنسي، وقد أشار ما يقرب من 80 بالمائة من المستطلعين في استطلاع للرأي في مالي إلى تراجع الثقة في قدرة العملية العسكرية "برخان" على حماية المدنيين. علاوة على تصاعد الانتقادات داخل فرنسا. وفي هذا السياق، أشار مسؤولون فرنسيون إلى أن تشكيل قوات تاكوبا لا يعد "مبادرة جديدة"، ولكنه بمثابة إعادة تشكيل لاستراتيجية أمنية[10].
  • تصاعد الاهتمام الروسي بالمنطقة، ومن ثمّ مزاحمة الوجود الاقتصادي والأمني الفرنسي، وخاصة في ظل تصاعد بعض مطالب القوى السياسية المحلية بالتدخل الروسي لمكافحة الارهاب في المنطقة، حيث ترتبط روسيا بعدد من الاتفاقيات الأمنية مع دول المنطقة، لاسيما تشاد والنيجر، ومالي التي وقعت اتفاقية للتعاون العسكري في يونيو 2019. كما تحاول روسيا تقديم بديل متوازن للمقاربة الأمنية الفرنسية من خلال إبراز قدرتها على مكافحة الإرهاب[11].

فرص مكافحة الارهاب في ظل التوجهات الفرنسية الجديدة

ومن أهمها ما يأتي:

  • تصاعد المواجهات بين تنظيم "نصرة الإسلام والمسلمين" و"داعش الصحراء"، حيث وقعت أكثر من أربعين معركة عنيفة بين التنظيمين في كل من بوركينا فاسو ومالي بين يناير وأبريل الماضيين[12]، بسبب الخلاف على تقاسم النفوذ وترسيم حدود مناطق العمليات بعد اجتماع لقادة التنظيمين في سبتمبر 2019[13].
  • الانشقاقات داخل تنظيم "نصرة الاسلام والمسلمين"، وبشكل محدد في "كتيبة ماسينا"، بسبب الخلاف حول التفاوض مع الحكومة المالية، ما أدى إلى انشقاق مجموعة من المقاتلين لتشكيل مجموعة جديدة على الحدود مع موريتانيا، وتعهدوا بالولاء لداعش. وهو ما مكن "داعش الصحراء" من التوغل في مناطق عمليات "الكتيبة"، وبالتالي الاشتباك مع جماعة "نصرة الإسلام والمسلمين"[14].

تحديات مكافحة الإرهاب في ظل التوجهات الفرنسية الجديدة

ولعل أهمها يتمثل في الآتي:

  • الخلافات السياسية المتنامية بين أعضاء مجموعة الساحل الخماسية (g5)، بعد أن نَدَّد الرئيس التشادي بضعف التعاون الإقليمي في مكافحة الإرهاب، وإبدائه عزمه على عدم مشاركة القوات التشادية في عمليات خارج الحدود عقب مقتل 152 جندياً تشادياً في هجمات لتنظيم بوكو حرام، بيد أن المشكلة الرئيسة هو تأثير التوجه التشادي على عزم أعضاء مجموعة الساحل الآخرين[15].
  • الجدل السياسي الداخلي في فرنسا حول الغرض من تشكيل القوات الجديدة في منطقة الساحل، إذ يرى البعض أن دور هذه القوات سيتركز في تقديم الدعم والمشورة والمساندة والتدريب والتوجيه القتالي وليس الانخراط المباشر أو تنفيذ عمليات عسكرية مستقلة[16].
  • التنافس وصراع المصالح بين الدول الأعضاء والداعمة لتشكيل فرقة المهام "تاكوبا" تحت القيادة الفرنسية، فبينما نجد أن دول مثل السويد والدنمارك قد أظهرت التزاماً قوياً بإرسال قوات وأسلحة للمشاركة، نجد أن دول مثل ألمانيا والنرويج قد اكتفت بتقديم الدعم السياسي واعتذرت عن عدم المشاركة بقوات عسكرية[17].
  • تمدُّد نفوذ التنظيمات الإرهابية خارج حدود مناطق العمليات، وخاصة في بلدان خليج غينيا، وهو ما يمنح هذه التنظيمات مجالاً أوسع لممارسة استراتيجية الكر والفر.
  • حالة الحرب وعدم الاستقرار في ليبيا، والتي توفِّر مناخ ملائماً لتهريب المقاتلين والأسلحة، وهو ما يدعم بدوره نشاط هذه التنظيمات وقدرتها على الصمود.

خلاصة

تواجه الاستراتيجية العسكرية الفرنسية لمكافحة الإرهاب في منطقة الساحل تحديات متنامية، وفي حال تعثُّر الجهود الفرنسية هذه، من المتوقع أن تضعف عزيمة حكومات دول منطقة الساحل عن مواصلة التعاون مع فرنسا. كما أن عدم إحراز تقدم سيُولِّد المزيد من المشاعر المعادية للوجود الفرنسي في المنطقة، ويتيح الفرصة لقوى دولية جديدة مثل روسيا للاضطلاع بدور أمني بديل.

الهوامش

[1] تشمل هذه الدول كلاً من: بلجيكا، وجمهورية التشيك، والدنمارك، وإستونيا، وفرنسا، وألمانيا، ومالي، وهولندا، والنيجر، والنرويج، والبرتغال، والسويد، والمملكة المتحدة.

[2] Ahmet Berat ÇONKAR, Development and  Security Challenges in The Sahel Region, NATO Parliamentary Assembly, 10 April 2020, p.14

[3] Sergey Sukhankin, France to Lead Joint Effort in War on Terrorism in Sahel Region, terrorism Monitor, The Jamestown Foundation, Volume Xviii, Issue 10, May 15, 2020, p.5.

[4] Krzysztof Danielewicz, Task Force Takuba – nowe siły w rejonie Sahelu, 23/4/2020, available at: https://securityinpractice.eu/task-force-takuba-nowe-sily-w-rejonie-sahelu/

[5] Ideam.

[6] Sergey Sukhankin, op. cit, p.5.

[7] Ahmet Berat ÇONKAR, op. cit, p.14

[8]  Krzysztof Danielewicz, op. cit.

[9] Sergey Sukhankin, op. cit, p.5.

[10] Ann sehmuder, Zoe Gorman,and flore Berger, Takuba: A New Coalition For The Sahel?, Analysis  Conflict And Fragility, The Clingendael Spectator magazine for International Relation,  30/6/2020, available at: https://spectator.clingendael.org/en/publication/takuba-new-coalition-sahel

[11] حمدي عبد الرحمن، "الساحل الأفريقي .. تعثر فرنسي وصعود روسي"، مركز المستقبل للأبحاث والدراسات المتقدمة، 17/12/2019، متاح على الرابط: https://futureuae.com/ar/Mainpage/Item/5146

[12] The Armed Conflict Location & Event Data Project (ACLED), Regional Overview: Africa, 12 april-18 April 2020, 22/4/2020.

[13] Africa Report, Sahel – a new battlefield between IS and Al-Qaeda?, 4/6/2020 , available at: https://www.theafricareport.com/29184/sahel-a-new-battlefield-between-is-and-al-qaeda/

[14] Ideam.

[15]  Sergey Sukhankin, op. cit, p.6.

[16] Elin Hellquist and Emma Sjökvist, International Military Missions Accompanying Partners During Military Operations Early Expectations For Task Force Takuba, FOI Defence Analysis, June 2020.

[17] Finabel European Army Interoperability Centre, “Task force Takuba: An Illustration of European Solidarity?”, April 23, 2020. Available at: https://finabel.org/news-flash-task-force-takuba-an-illustration-of-european-solidarity

 

أحدث الإيجازات

Despite France’s many military counter-terrorism initiatives in the African Sahel, terrorist attacks and the influence of terrorist groups continue to rise. On March 27, 2020, nearly two months after the heads of State of France and the Group of Five for the Sahel (G5 Sahel) assembled at the Pau Summit to address this ongoing challenge, 13 States[1] announced their support for the creation of a special European military force to support counter‑terrorism operations in the region. This has raised many questions about the drivers, opportunities, and challenges involved in the new French strategy.

Outline of France’s new military strategy

The strategy aims to strengthen the French security role in the region by:

  • Obtaining political support from the G5 Sahel heads of State: At the Pau Summit on January 13, in response to President Emmanuel Macron’s request for political support for the French presence in the region, the G5 Sahel leaders expressed their desire for France’s continued military involvement in the region.[2]
  • Leading European military efforts:  Since the terrorist threat in the Sahel fuels illegal migration to Europe,[3] France has encouraged European States to cooperate in the fight against terrorism in the region. As a result, 11 European States, together with Mali and the Niger, have backed the creation of a special European force called the Takuba Task Force, which will operate under the military command of France’s Operation Barkhane.[4]
  • Rebuilding confidence in France’s security role in the region: The country needs to regain trust – domestically, in Africa, and internationally – and to channel the support of European allies. The Takuba Task Force is expected to become fully operational at the beginning of 2021, working mainly in the Liptako-Gourma region bordering Burkina Faso, Mali, and Niger.[5]
  • Strengthening the French military presence: In February 2020, the Government pledged to bolster its current military presence (4,500 soldiers) with an extra 850 soldiers,[6] and to send around 50 special forces personnel to form the core Takuba Task Force, which currently comprises around 300 soldiers from the participating States.[7] The new task force will complement the G5 Sahel Joint Force, which is expected to have seven battalions once it reaches full operational capacity – two each from Mali and Niger and one each from Chad, Burkina Faso, and Mauritania.[8]

Drivers of the new strategy

The key drivers are:

  • Increasing terrorist operations: Despite multiple initiatives, attacks have increased fivefold in Burkina Faso, Mali, and Niger since 2016. Nearly 300 soldiers from Niger have been killed, more than 180 from Mali, 30 from Burkina Faso, and 20 from Chad, in addition to 13 French soldiers killed when two helicopters collided in Mali in November 2019.[9]
  • Escalating anti-French sentiment: The wave of protests in Mali against the French military presence is rising, with almost 80% of respondents in a Malian survey citing low confidence in Operation Barkhane’s ability to protect civilians. With this and mounting criticism at home, French officials are keen to stress that the Takuba Task Force is not “a new initiative” but a reshaping of the existing security strategy.[10]
  • Russia’s growing interest in the Sahel: Russia has become a competitor to France’s security and economic presence, particularly in view of the growing calls from some local political powers for Russian counter-terrorism intervention in the Sahel. Russia is involved in security agreements with Chad, Niger, and other States in the region, and it concluded a military cooperation agreement with Mali in June 2019. It has also been highlighting its counter-terrorism capabilities in an attempt to provide a balanced alternative to the French security approach.[11]

Opportunities for counter-terrorism efforts under the new strategy

The most important are:

  • Intensified confrontations between terrorist groups: Between January and April 2020, there were more than 40 violent battles between Jama’at Nusrat al-Islam wa’l-Muslimin (JNIM, or “Group to Support Islam and Muslims”) and Islamic State in the Greater Sahara (ISGS) in Burkina Faso and Mali.[12] This came after the leaders of the two organizations failed to agree on power‑sharing arrangements and territorial demarcation when they met in September 2019.[13]
  • JNIM defections: Disagreement about whether to negotiate with the Malian Government saw a number of Katibat Macina militants defect from JNIM and form a new group at the Mauritanian border, which has pledged allegiance to ISGS. This has enabled ISGS to penetrate deeply into Katibat Macina territory, leading to clashes with JNIM.[14]

Threats to counter-terrorism efforts under France’s new strategy

Perhaps the most important are:

  • Growing political friction within the G5 Sahel: The President of Chad has criticized weak regional cooperation on counter‑terrorism and declared that Chad’s army would no longer participate in military operations beyond its borders, after 152 Chadian soldiers were killed in Boko Haram attacks. However, the main issue is the impact of Chad’s decision on the resolve of the other G5 Sahel members.[15]
  • Political controversy in France: There has been much domestic debate about the purpose of the Takuba Task Force, with some believing it should focus on the provision of support, advice, training, and combat guidance, rather than direct engagement or the execution of independent military operations.[16]
  • Competition and conflict of interest regarding the French-led Takuba Task Force: While some member States such as Sweden and Denmark have demonstrated strong commitment to contributing forces and weapons, others like Germany and Norway have only given political support and have apologized for not contributing military forces.[17]
  • Expanding influence of terrorist organizations: These groups are increasingly operating beyond their territorial boundaries, especially in the Gulf of Guinea, where they have more scope for hit­‑and‑run tactics.
  • War and instability in Libya: This provides a favorable climate for smuggling fighters and weapons, which boosts the activity and resilience of terrorist organizations.

Conclusion

France’s  military counter-terrorism strategy in the Sahel faces growing challenges. If its efforts stall, the resolve of the Sahel States to continue to cooperate with France will weaken. Furthermore, failure to achieve progress will fuel hostility towards the French presence in the region and will give new international powers such as Russia the chance to play an alternative security role.

References

[1] Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France, Germany, Mali, the Netherlands, Niger, Norway, Portugal, Sweden, and the UK.

[2] Ahmet Berat Çonkar, Development and Security Challenges in the Sahel Region, NATO Parliamentary Assembly (April 10, 2020), p. 14.

[3] Sergey Sukhankin, “France to Lead Joint Effort in War on Terrorism in Sahel Region”, Terrorism Monitor (The Jamestown Foundation), vol. XVIII, issue 10 (May 15, 2020), p. 5.

[4] Krzysztof Danielewicz, “Task Force Takuba – nowe siły w rejonie Sahelu” [Task Force Takuba – New Forces in the Sahel Region], Security in Practice, April 23, 2020. Available at: https://securityinpractice.eu/task-force-takuba-nowe-sily-w-rejonie-sahelu/.

[5] Ibid.

[6] Sergey Sukhankin, op. cit., p. 5.

[7] Ahmet Berat Çonkar, op. cit., p.14.

[8] Krzysztof Danielewicz, op. cit.

[9] Sergey Sukhankin, op. cit., p.5.

[10] Ann Schmauder, Zoe Gorman, and Flore Berger, “Takuba: A New Coalition for the Sahel?”, The Clingendael Spectator, June 30, 2020. Available at: https://spectator.clingendael.org/en/publication/takuba-new-coalition-sahel.

[11] Hamdi Abdalrahman, “Al-Sāḥel al-Ifriqī…Ta’athur Faransī wa-Ṣu’ūd Rūsī [The African Sahel: The French Falter and the Russians Rise], Future for Advanced Research and Studies, December 17, 2019. Available at: https://futureuae.com/ar/Mainpage/Item/5146.

[12] The Armed Conflict Location & Event Data Project, Regional Overview: Africa, 12–18 April 2020, April 22, 2020. Available at: https://acleddata.com/2020/04/22/regional-overview-africa12-18-april-2020/.

[13] Flore Berger, “Sahel – A New Battlefield between IS and Al-Qaeda?” The Africa Report, June 4, 2020. Available at: https://www.theafricareport.com/29184/sahel-a-new-battlefield-between-is-and-al-qaeda/

[14] Ibid.

[15] Sergey Sukhankin, op. cit., p.6.

[16] Elin Hellquist and Emma Sjökvist, Accompanying Partners During Military Operations Early Expectations For Task Force Takuba, Swedish Defence Research Agency, June 2020.

[17] Finabel European Army Interoperability Centre, “Task force Takuba: An Illustration of European Solidarity?”, April 23, 2020. Available at: https://finabel.org/news-flash-task-force-takuba-an-illustration-of-european-solidarity.

 

Latest Briefs