نجح مصطفى الكاظمي في نيل ثقة البرلمان العراقي وأصبح رسمياً رئيس وزراء العراق. صَوَّت البرلمان لصالح الحكومة (بما في ذلك على وزريْ الدفاع والداخلية) في 6 من الشهر الجاري بانتظار البت في اكتمال أسماء من يتولون الوزارات المتبقية، وهو أمرٌ أصبح من عاديات تشكيل أي حكومة في العراق منذ عام 2003. ولا ريب أن تشكيل حكومة الكاظمي وتمريرها حدثٌ سياسيٌّ مهم، ليس فقط لفشل آخرين في تشكيل حكومة جديدة منذ استقالة رئيس الوزراء السابق عادل عبد المهدي (محمد توفيق علاوي، وعدنان الزرفي)، بل لأن في اسم الكاظمي وخلفيته السياسية والمهنية وظروف تشكيل حكومته ما يدفع لقراءة أعمق لتحولات المشهدين الإقليمي والدولي.

موقف الولايات المتحدة وإيران إزاء ترشيح الكاظمي

منذ سقوط نظام الرئيس الراحل صدام حسين عام 2003 مثّلت عملية تشكيل أي حكومة واجهة أولى من واجهات الصراع الإيراني الأمريكي على بسط النفوذ داخل "العراق الجديد"، بحيث كان واضحاً أن تعايشاً صعباً، كان يميل لهذا الطرف أو ذاك، ظل يجري داخل الحكومات المُتعاقِبة، وإن حظي النفوذ الإيراني بحصة الأسد داخل الحكومات التي تلت الانسحاب الأمريكي من العراق (عام 2011) في عهد الرئيس السابق باراك أوباما.

وقد أوحى الرفض الذي عبَّرت عنه تيارات عراقية موالية لإيران لترشيح الكاظمي لهذا المنصب، بأن الرجل ليس مُحبباً لطهران، خصوصاً أن بعض حملات هذه التيارات اتهمت الكاظمي، بصفته رئيساً لجهاز المخابرات الوطني العراقي، بأنه متواطئ مع الأمريكيين في اغتيال الجنرال قاسم سليماني (قائد فيلق القدس التابع للحرس الثوري)، وأبو مهدي المهندس (نائب رئيس هيئة الحشد الشعبي في العراق) في 3 يناير الماضي. إلا أن حضور قادة التيارات السياسية الشيعية حفل تكليف الرئيس برهم صالح الكاظمي بتشكيل الحكومة (9 أبريل الماضي)، أوحى بأن الفيتو الإيراني قد رُفِعَ عن الرجل، وأن حكومة الكاظمي تستفيد من تحولات جارية داخل أروقة مُتَّخذي القرار في طهران.

ومن التبسيط القول إن مصطفى الكاظمي يمثل ترجيحاً لكفة النفوذ الأمريكي في العراق، وإن كانت واشنطن تُفضِّله عن أسماء أخرى واضحة في موالاتها لطهران أو أخرى رمادية الهوية والموقف. وفيما تحتاج طهران تقليدياً لشخصية كاملة الولاء للجمهورية الإسلامية، فإن واشنطن، وإن كانت تُفضِّل شخصيات تُناصِب إيران العداء، إلا أنها بدأت تميل إلى دعم شخصيات وسطية تسعى لتعظيم الوضع السيادي للدولة العراقية.

والظاهر أن الاحتضان الذي حظي به الكاظمي، سواء في شكليات التكليف ثم تسهيلات التأليف وصولاً إلى السرعة في منحه وحكومته الثقة، يعود لنقطة تقاطع أمريكية إيرانية من المبكر التعرف بالدقة على ملامحها. والأرجح أن الكاظمي قَدَّم في طباعه ومسيرته المهنية ما من شأنه طمأنة الكتل السياسية العراقية. والأرجح أيضاً أن ضغوطاً غربية قادتها الولايات المتحدة دفعت إلى تسهيل مهام الرجل وتبريد الميدان العراقي بوصفه ساحة صراع وصندوقاً لتبادل الرسائل الدراماتيكية بين واشنطن وطهران، ومن ذلك مثلاً إشارة واشنطن اللافتة عبر قرارها السماح للعراق باستيراد الكهرباء من إيران لمدة 120 يوماً إضافياً، وربما كان لافتاً أيضاً في هذا الصدد ما قيل عن تَخلِّي الأكراد عن مرشحهم لوزارة المالية بما فُهِمَ أنه استجابة لضغوط واشنطن لتسهيل إخراج حكومة الكاظمي.

 فُرَص حكومة الكاظمي في مُصالحة الشارع العراقي والنأي عن الصراعات الإقليمية

من الواضح أن الكاظمي يُحاول التقاط اللحظة المحلية الإقليمية الدولية الراهنة ليتقدم بخطوات سريعة وجريئة لمصالحة الشارع العراقي المُنتَفِض منذ أكتوبر الماضي (2019). وبناء على قوة الدفع الخارجي هذه يمتلك رئيس الوزراء العراقي الجديد هامشاً أوسع نسبياً للمناورة، سواء في مسألة ملاحقة مَنْ قَتَلَ المتظاهرين (مع ما يعنيه ذلك من اختراق لدوائر حزبية قريبة من إيران)، أو في مسألة الوعد بإجراء انتخابات تشريعية مبكرة (لطالما رفضتها هذه الدوائر في أوقات سابقة) لم تستطع الشخصيات التي كلفت بتشكيل الحكومة سابقاً أن تَعِدَ بها بنفس الشكل الواضح، أو لجهة إنصاف الفريق عبد الوهاب الساعدي من خلال إعادته لعمله وترقيته وتعيينه رئيساً لجهاز مكافحة الإرهاب.

وبحكم موقعه على رأس جهاز الاستخبارات، يملك مصطفى الكاظمي معطيات حسية دقيقة قد لا تملكها شخصيات سياسية أخرى، كما أن قدرته على قيادة الجهاز من داخل حقول الألغام السياسية والميليشياوية التي يعرفها البلد، يُظهِر جانباً مهماً من شخصية الرجل وقدراته في التواصل مع كافة تناقضات العراق الداخلية، وحُسْن التعايش مع تناقضات الأجندات الخارجية حول هذا البلد.

ويُدرك الكاظمي أن الحكمة تقتضي أن يدفع باتجاه تقوية الدولة العراقية دون الاصطدام مع الأمر الواقع الإقليمي الذي يمثله النفوذ الإيراني داخل الطبقة السياسة، لاسيما لدى الأحزاب الشيعية. والأرجح أن رئيس الوزراء الجديد قد قدَّم ضمانات جادة إلى طهران بأنه لن يمارس سياسة عدائية ضد مصالح إيران في العراق، خصوصاً أنه، بحكم تجربته وموقعه السابق، يُدرك أنه لا يستطيع تشكيل حكومة وممارسة حكم دون ذلك.

وعلى أساس متانة هذه الضمانات، يَعِد الكاظمي بالانفتاح على العالم العربي، لاسيما دول الخليج، كما يسعى لتطوير وإعادة تعريف العلاقات بين العراق والولايات المتحدة، والتفاهم على مستقبلها، بما يتجاوز ما دعا إليه البرلمان العراقي حكومة بغداد من السعي لإخراج القوات الأمريكية من البلاد عقب مقتل الجنرال سليماني.

ويستفيد الكاظمي من عوامل عدة قد تساعده على القيام بمهامه دون عراقيل داخلية وخارجية كبرى.

أول تلك العوامل، انكشاف الطبقة السياسية منذ اندلاع الحراك الشعبي ووضوح عجزها عن مواجهة هذا الحراك وتشكيل حكومة ترقى إلى مستوى هذا التحدي.

وثانيها، حاجة الولايات المتحدة وإيران إلى تبريد الساحة العراقية ووقف التعامل معها بصفتها ميدان الصدام وتصفية الحسابات على ما برز منذ اغتيال سليماني والمهندس.

وثالثها، تفاقم الأزمة الاقتصادية العراقية وانسحاب أجواء الانكماش الاقتصادي على المنطقة والعالم نتيجة أزمة جائحة "كورونا"، بما يستدعي الحاجة الملحة لترتيب البيت الداخلي.

وربما تجدر ملاحظة أن مسائل كثيرة في المنطقة ستنتظر هوية الرئيس الأمريكي المقبل الذي ستخرج به صناديق الاقتراع في الولايات المتحدة في نوفمبر المقبل، وأن الكاظمي يحظى بفترة سماح من عدة أشهر، وربما حتى العام المقبل، حتى ينجلي الضباب عن المشهد الإقليمي، لا سيما ما يتعلق بمستقبل الصراع مع إيران ومستقبل التسوية في سوريا.

استنتاجات وخلاصات

  • يظهر من سقوط الاعتراضات ضد الكاظمي وتوفر الدعم الداخلي لمهامه أن قوى خارجية نافذة تدخلت بقوة لقلب مواقف التيارات الداخلية لصالح تسهيل ولادة حكومة الرجل والإسراع بمنحها الثقة.
  • يمتلك مصطفى الكاظمي رصيداً مهنياً وسياسياً جيداً يجعله الرجل الأوفر حظاً لقيادة العراق في هذه المرحلة، دون أن يعني ذلك بالضرورة أنه سيقود تحولاً استراتيجياً انقلابياً داخل المشهد الإقليمي.
  •  يستفيد الكاظمي من لحظة تقاطع أمريكية إيرانية نادرة تهدف إلى تبريد الصدام الثنائي للدولتين في العراق بانتظار جلاء الأمر بعد زوال جائحة كورونا وإجراء الانتخابات الرئاسية الأمريكية.
  • لا يمكن التسليم بانتصار خيار واشنطن من خلال تشكُّل الحكومة العراقية أخيراً، ذلك أنه لم يكن بالإمكان القبول بتكليف الكاظمي تشكيل الحكومة وتسهيل تمريرها في البرلمان دون موافقة طهران على الرجل وأجنداته وخططه.
  • لحظة التوازن التي يحظى بها الكاظمي من المرجح أن تتيح له المُضي قُدُماً في تحقيق إنجازات تُرضي الشارع العراقي، والشروع في إجراءات تعيد الاعتبار لعلاقات العراق العربية، واتخاذ خطوات جديدة في مسار تنظيم مستقبل العلاقات الاستراتيجية بين العراق والولايات المتحدة.

أحدث الإيجازات

Mustafa al-Kadhimi has managed to gain the confidence of the Iraqi parliament and became officially Iraq’s Prime Minister. Parliament voted for the government (including for the defence and interior ministers) on 6 May 2020 pending completion of the names of those who would assume the other ministerial offices, something which has become commonplace during the formation of any government in Iraq since 2003. Doubtlessly, the formation and approval of the al-Kadhimi government constitute an important political event, not only in light of the failure by others to form a new government since the resignation of former Prime Minister Adil Abdul-Mahdi (Mohammed Tawfik Allawi and Adnan al-Zurfi), but also because the name of al-Kadhimi, his political and professional background and the circumstances of the formation of his government warrant a deeper reading of the shifts in the regional and international landscapes.

The position of the US and Iran on the designation of al-Kadhimi 

Since the fall of the regime of late president Saddam Hussein in 2003, the process of forming any government has always constituted an initial front of the fronts of the Iranian-US conflict to extend influence within the “new Iraq”. It was clear that a difficult coexistence continued to occur within the successive governments while acting to favour one side or the other, although the Iranian influence had always gained the lion’s share within the governments that followed the US withdrawal from Iraq (2011) during the term of former President Barack Obama.

The rejection expressed by pro-Iran Iraqi powers of the designation of al-Kadhimi for this office had implied that he is not favoured by Teheran, especially that some of the campaigns of those powers accused al-Kadhimi, in his capacity as director of the Iraqi National Intelligence Service, of being complicit with the Americans in the assassination of Qassem Soleimani (commander of the Revolutionary Guard Corps’ Quds Force) and Abu Mahdi al-Muhandis, deputy commander of the Popular Mobilization Forces) on 3 January 2020. However, the attendance by leaders of the Shiite political powers of the ceremony to designate al-Kadhimi by President Barham Salih to form the government (9 April 2020) indicated that the Iranian veto of al-Kadhimi has been lifted and that the Al-Kadhimi government is benefitting from ongoing shifts within the decision-making circles in Teheran.

It would be simplistic to say that Mustafa al-Kadhimi represents a preference for the US influence in Iraq, although Washington does prefer him to other names that are clearly pro-Iranian or with vague identities and positions. While Teheran traditionally needs a name that is fully loyal to the Islamic Republic, Washington, while favouring names that are hostile to Iran, has begun tending to support centrist names who seek to maximize the sovereign position of the Iraqi state.

Apparently, the warm welcome given to al-Kadhimi, in terms of the formalities of the designation, the concessions of formation, and the speed of the confidence given to him and his government, is attributable to a US-Iranian point of intersection whose features it is still too early to identify accurately. Most probably al-Kadhimi’s character and career were reassuring enough to Iraqi political blocs. Most probably also, US-led western pressures have contributed to facilitating al-Kadhimi’s task and calming down the Iraqi landscape as a conflict arena and a medium for the exchange of dramatic messages between Washington and Teheran. A case in point is the interesting sign by Washington through its decision to allow Iraq to import electricity from Iran for an additional 120 days. Equally interesting perhaps is the alleged relinquishment by the Kurds of their candidate for the Ministry of Finance in what was understood as a response to Washington’s pressures to facilitate the formation of the al-Kadhimi government.

Al-Kadhimi government and its chances of reconciling the Iraqi street and refraining from getting involved in regional conflicts

Al-Kadhimi clearly wants to benefit from the current domestic, regional and international settings to take speedy and bold steps to reconcile the Iraqi street that has been experiencing an uprising since October 2019. Based on this external driving force, the new Iraqi Prime Minister has a relatively wider margin of manoeuvre, be it on the issue of prosecuting those who killed the protesters (together with what this amounts to in terms of penetrating party circles close to Iran), the issue of the promise to hold early parliamentary elections (persistently rejected by those circles at earlier times) that the names previously designated to form the government could not promise so clearly, or in terms of bringing about fairness for Lieutenant General Abdul-Wahab al-Saadi by returning him to his job, promoting him, and appointing him as head of the Counter-Terrorism Service.

In his capacity as head of the intelligence service, Mustafa al-Kadhimi has at his disposal accurate sensory data that no other political names may have. Besides, his capability of running the service from within political and militia-led minefields known to the country manifests an important side of his character and capability of engage with all Iraq’s internal contradictions and to coexis with the discrepancies of external agendas on this country.

Al-Kadhimi is aware that wisdom requires that he press for strengthening the Iraqi state without clashing with the regional reality represented by the Iranian influence within the political class, particularly within the Shiite parties. Most probably, the new Prime Minister has given serious assurances to Teheran that he will not practise a hostile policy towards Iran’s interests in Iraq, especially that he, based on his experience and former position, is aware that he cannot otherwise form a government and practise governance.

Based on the robustness of those assurances, al-Kadhimi promises openness to the Arab world, particularly the Gulf countries. He also seeks to develop and redefine relations between Iraq and the US and reach an understanding on their future in a manner that would go beyond what the Iraqi Parliament (in the aftermath of the killing of Soleimani) had called on the Baghdad government to do in terms of seeking to evacuate US troops from the country.

Al-Kadhimi benefits from several factors that might help him carry out his tasks without major internal or external obstacles. The first of those factors is the exposure of the political class since the outbreak of the popular movement and its clear failure to counter that movement and form a government that stands up to this challenge.

The second factor is the need by both the US and Iran to calm down the Iraqi arena and stop dealing with it as a field for clash and settling accounts for what took place since the assassination of Soleimani and al-Muhandis.

The third factor is the escalation of the Iraqi economic crisis and the prevailing climate of economic recession in the region and the world as a result of the corona virus pandemic crisis which urgently requires putting the Iraqi house in order.

It is worth noting perhaps that many issues in the region will await the identity of the next US President based on the decision of US voters next November, and that al-Kadhimi has a grace period of several months, perhaps until next year, when the fog over the regional landscape would clear, especially with regard to the future of the conflict with Iran and the future of settlement in Syria.

Conclusions

  • It is clear from dropping the objections to al-Kadhimi and the internal support provided to his tasks that influential external powers have interfered strongly to reverse the positions of internal powers in favour of facilitating the birth of his government and its speedy win of the vote of confidence.
  • Mustafa al-Kadhimi boasts a good professional and political stock which makes him in a better position to lead Iraq at this stage, which does not necessarily mean that he will lead a revolutionary strategic shift within the regional landscape.
  • Al-Kadhimi benefits from a rare US-Iranian moment of intersection that aims to calm down the bilateral clash between both countries in Iraq pending the emergence of a clear picture after the termination of the coronavirus pandemic and holding the US presidential elections.
  • The victory of Washington’s choice cannot be taken for granted based on the ultimate formation of the Iraqi government as the acceptance of al-Kadhimi’s designation to form the government and the facilitation of its endorsement in parliament would have been impossible without Teheran’s approval of al-Kadhimi and his agendas and plans.
  • The moment of balance enjoyed by al-Kadhimi is likely to allow him to proceed with materializing achievements that would satisfy the Iraqi street, take measures to rehabilitate Iraq’s Arab relations, and take new steps along the path of regulating the future of the strategic relations between Iraq and the US.

Latest Briefs