تشهد كينيا تنامياً ملحوظاً في نشاط حركة "شباب المجاهدين" الصومالية. ففي أبريل الماضي، قتلت الحركة ستة من الجنود في شمال شرق البلاد. وقَبْلها، وتحديداً في شهر يناير، شنَّت هجوماً على قاعدة جوية أمريكية. وبرغم الضربات الأمريكية المتواصلة لمعاقلها، ما تزال الحركة تُصعِّد من عملياتها، خاصةً في الجزء الشمالي الشرقي.

تُلقي هذه الورقة الضوء على الاتجاهات الحالية لنشاط حركة الشباب في كينيا ومخاطر تمدُّدها، وتحديات مكافحتها، لاسيما في ظل تفشي وباء كورونا المُستَجَد في البلاد، والسيناريوهات المحتملة لنشاط الحركة وجهود الحكومة الكينية في مكافحة الإرهاب.

نشاط حركة الشباب في كينيا: الاتجاهات العامة ومخاطر التمدُّد

  • اتجهت الحركة إلى تكثيف هجماتها خلال الفترة من يناير إلى مايو، والتي بلغت أكثر من 15 هجوماً منذ بداية عام 2020[1]، وتركز معظمها في المناطق الساحلية: مانديرا، واجير، جاريسا، لامو. واستهدفت بشكل رئيسي قوات الجيش والأمن[2]. وهدفت بذلك إلى الضغط على كينيا التي تساهم بقوات في بعثة الاتحاد الأفريقي في الصومال[3]، حيث تأتي هذه الهجمات متزامنة مع تصعيد الحركة هجماتها لاستعادة معقلها السابق في جنال بمنطقة شبيلي السفلى في جنوب الصومال، التي سيطرت عليه القوات الصومالية المدعومة من قبل قوات الأفريكوم وقوات حفظ السلام التابعة للاتحاد الأفريقي في منتصف مارس.
  • في مقابل استمرار الضربات والغارات الأمريكية التي تستهدفها، واصلت الحركة استهداف القوات الأمريكية في كينيا. ففي 5 يناير، شنَّت هجوماً على "معسكر سيمبا" في خليج ماندا، بالقرب من حدود كينيا مع الصومال. وقتلت ثلاثة أمريكيين ودمرت ست طائرات مدنية وثلاث مركبات عسكرية[4]، وهو ما يشير إلى تطور القدرات الهجومية لـفصيل "جيش الإيمان" التابع للحركة بعد تلقيه دعماً لعملياته من قيادة الحركة عبر الحدود الهشَّة مع الصومال. كما تشير كثافة الهجمات وانتشارها إلى توسُّع خلايا الحركة داخل كينيا، حيث يتخذ "جيش الإيمان" من غابة بوني في مقاطعة لامو قاعدة لعملياته، وهو المسؤول عن الهجوم على "معسكر سيمبا"[5].
  • تزداد مخاطر التمدد الإقليمي لحركة الشباب، لاسيما في شمال شرق كينيا، حيث تستفيد من الانقسامات الدينية والصرعات الطائفية، وقد وجهت تهديدات إلى المسيحيين في المنطقة وأعدمت العديد منهم. وبرَّرت الحركة هجومها على القاعدة الأمريكية في يناير برغبتها في استعادة المنطقة التي تدعي أنها سُرِقَت من السكان المسلمين من قبل الحكومة الكينية والجماعات المسيحية[6].
  • وثمَّة إمكانية لتعميق الحركة تواصلها مع خلاياها في كينيا وتنزانيا عبر المدن والمناطق الساحلية الكينية بما يُسهِم في زيادة عملياتها، لاسيما تجنيد المقاتلين المحتملين، بشكل يجعل من الشمال الشرقي نقطة عبور لعمليات الحركة داخل تنزانيا وأوغندا، حيث يشكل مئات المقاتلين الكينيين والتنزانيين النسبة الأكبر في صفوف الحركة.

| تُشير كثافة هجمات حركة الشباب وانتشارها إلى توسُّع خلاياها داخل كينيا، حيث يتخذ "جيش الإيمان"، ذراع الحركة هناك، من غابة بوني في مقاطعة لامو قاعدةً لعملياته

تحديات مكافحة الإرهاب في كينيا

في الوقت الراهن، تواجه جهود مكافحة الإرهاب في كينيا عددٌ من التحديات، أبرزها ما يأتي:

1. انخراط الأجهزة الأمنية في مكافحة وباء كورونا المُستجَد الذي أخذ في التفشي مؤخراً وتنفيذ إجراءات التباعد الاجتماعي في مختلف مناطق البلاد[7]، وهو ما يفرض تحديات على جهود مكافحة الإرهاب في ظل أعمال العنف التي اندلعت في بعض المناطق احتجاجاً على تطبيق هذه الإجراءات.

2. تفشي الفساد في أجهزة الأمن، الأمر الذي يسمح للحركة باختراقها وتسهيل نقل الأسلحة عبر الحدود أو حتى شرائها من هذه القوات.

3. استمرار التوترات بين كينيا والصومال حول الحدود البحرية، بسبب الاكتشافات النفطية في المنطقة، إذ لا توجد اتفاقية لترسيم الحدود بين البلدين[8]. وتواصل مقديشو اتهاماتها لكينيا بدعم جوبالاند، حيث تعمل نيروبي على إقامة منطقة عازلة لحركة الشباب. وفي أوائل فبراير، اتهمت الحكومة الصومالية كينيا بإخفاء عبد الرشيد جنان في مانديرا المتاخمة لجوبالاند[9].

| تزداد مخاطر التمدد الإقليمي لحركة الشباب، لاسيما في شمال شرق كينيا، حيث تستفيد من الانقسامات الدينية والصرعات الطائفية، وقد وجهت تهديدات إلى المسيحيين في المنطقة وأعدمت العديد منهم

السيناريوهات المحتملة لنشاط حركة الشباب وجهود مكافحة الإرهاب

السيناريو الأول، تكثيف الحركة لهجماتها على القواعد والأهداف العسكرية في كينيا لتخفيف الضغط العسكري عليها في الصومال، حيث تستفيد من خلاياها بما في ذلك "جيش الإيمان"، في تنفيذ هذه الهجمات. وتبدو الأجهزة الأمنية مُنشغلة بمكافحة وباء كورونا، ناهيك عن تفشي الفساد بين صفوفها وسهولة اختراقها من قبل الحركة، التي لا تزال قادرة على تهديد أمن كينيا بفضل مرونتها وإمداداتها المستمرة بالمقاتلين[10]. ومع ذلك تعاني الحركة من صراعاتها الداخلية والصراع مع تنظيم داعش[11]، واستمرار الضربات العسكرية الأمريكية التي تستهدف قياداتها وعناصرها، وهو ما قد يحد من قدرتها على توسيع عملياتها داخل الأراضي الكينية.

السيناريو الثاني، انسحاب القوات الكينية من الصومال، خاصةً بعد تصاعد مطالب المعارضة الكينية بسحبها، إذ لم تحقق عملياتها العسكرية أهدافها المتمثلة في إخضاع حركة الشباب وإنهاء الإرهاب في كينيا. ناهيك عن التوترات المتزايدة في العلاقات الكينية-الصومالية بسبب النزاع حول حدودهما البحرية، والتي تحد من التعاون بين الدولتين في مكافحة الإرهاب. ومع ذلك، تبدو كينيا مترددة في الانسحاب لأن ذلك يعني التخلي عن حلفائها داخل الصومال وتمدد النفوذ الأثيوبي، الذي سيمنح أثيوبيا موقعاً مهيمناً في بعثة الاتحاد الأفريقي في الصومال، وهي المعضلة التي يواجهها صُنَّاع القرار في كينيا اليوم[12].

السيناريو الثالث، استمرار التعاون العسكري والتنسيق الأمني بين كينيا والولايات المتحدة للحد من تمدد حركة الشباب، وخاصة في ظل الوجود العسكري الأمريكي المتزايد في كينيا، وإرسال واشنطن تعزيزات عسكرية إلى كينيا بعد استهداف القاعدة الأمريكية هناك. وقد أعلنت واشنطن بالفعل في فبراير عن إنشاء أول فرقة عمل أمريكية مشتركة لمكافحة الإرهاب (JTTF-K)، ومقرها في كينيا. وبرغم التحديات المرتبطة بارتفاع أعداد المصابين بفيروس كورونا في الولايات المتحدة، واستهداف حركة الشباب للوجود الأمريكي في كينيا، لكن الضربات العسكرية الأمريكية لمعاقل الحركة لم تتوقف في المنطقة حتى الآن.

وبموازنة السيناريوهات المطروحة، يبدو أن السيناريو الأول هو الأكثر ترجيحاً في ضوء الاعتبارات التالية:

  1. أن الحركة لا تزال تحاول تعويض خسائرها في الصومال، والانتقام من القوات الأمريكية والكينية التي كبَّدتها خسائر كثيرة، وتحاول استغلال أزمة كورونا في توسيع عملياتها في التجنيد والهجوم على المواقع العسكرية.
  2. التمديد لبعثة الاتحاد الأفريقي في الصومال حتى 28 فبراير 2021، وهو ما يتوقع معه استمرار الحركة في تكثيف هجماتها على المصالح الأجنبية والكينية.
  3. استراتيجية التدخل العسكري الأمريكي المحدود من خلال الضربات العسكرية الجوية وتقديم تغطية للعمليات البرية. وبرغم أن هذه الضربات قد نجحت في تصفية العديد من قيادات "الشباب"، لكن الحركة في المقابل تظل قادرة على تعزيز وترسيخ وجودها في المجتمعات المحلية من خلال استغلال المظالم المحلية وتردِّي الأوضاع الاجتماعية والاقتصادية والصحية.

خلاصة

لا تزال حركة الشباب تشكل تهديداً للأمن والاستقرار في منطقة القرن الأفريقي، وهناك حاجة إلى تعزيز الجهود الدولية والإقليمية في مكافحة الإرهاب، ودعم استمرار ولاية بعثة الاتحاد الأفريقي في الصومال، وخاصة في ظل عدم قدة الجيش الصومالي وحده على مواجهة الحركة من دون دعم عسكري دولي وإقليمي.

الهوامش

[1] Karen Allen, "The United States has established its first joint terrorism task force overseas – will its focus stop at training?," 26/3/2020 , available at: https://issafrica.org/iss-today/why-is-the-us-ramping-up-anti-terrorism-efforts-in-kenya

[2] Crisis Group, Crisis Watch: Tracking Conflict Worldwide, April 2020, available at: https://www.crisisgroup.org/crisiswatch/may-alerts-and-april-trends-2020#kenya

[3] U.S. Department of Defense, East Africa and  North and West Africa  Counterterrorism  Operations Lead Inspector General Report to The United States Congress, October 1, 2019‒December 31, 2019, p.17

[4] James Barnett, "The Evolution of East African Salafi-Jihadism," Hudson Institute, 28/3/2020, available at: https://www.hudson.org/research/16075-the-evolution-of-east-african-salafi-jihadism

[5] John foulkes, "Bashir Qorgab—al-Shabaab Veteran Commander Killed in U.S. Airstrike," Militant Leadership Monitor, Volume: 11, Issue: 3, 2/3/2020, available at: https://jamestown.org/brief/bashir-qorgab-al-shabaab-veteran-commander-killed-in-u-s-airstrike

[6] Ideam.

[7]  برغم أن تفشي وباء مرض "كوفيد-19" في كينيا لا يزال في المرحلة الأولية منذ الإعلان عن أول حالة إصابة في مارس الماضي، لكن البلاد، وفق بعض التقديرات، مُعرَّضة لفقدان حوالي 30 ألف شخص خلال مرحلة الذروة ما لم يتم الالتزام بتدابير التباعد الاجتماعي. وتواجه كينيا عَجْزاً في أسرة العناية المركزة (518 سريراً)، وأجهزة التنفس (297 جهازاً) على المستوى الوطني. فضلاً عن ضعف البنية التحتية لنقل المصابين إلى مرافق الرعاية الصحية. انظر: The Senate, AD HOC Committee on The Covid-19 Situation in Kenya, 3rd Progress Report  ,Thematic Area I: Health Issues, 28/4/2020, available at: https://www.theelephant.info/documents/3rd-progress-report-of-the-senate-ad-hoc-committee-on-the-covid-19-situation-in-kenya

[8]  عبد الرحمن عيسى، "الأزمة الدبلوماسية بين الصومال وكينيا: قراءة في الخلفيات واستشراف المآلات"، 2019/3/25، متاح على الرابط التالي: https://somaliacenter.com/2019/03/25

[9] Tom Collins, "Al-Shabaab renews focus on north-eastern Kenya," 23/03/2020, available at: https://newafricanmagazine.com/22592

[10] Ideam.

[11] U.S. Department of Defense, op.cit, p.18

[12] Stig Jarle Hansen, "What Kenya stands to lose and gain by withdrawing from Somalia," 30/4/2020, available at: https://theconversation.com/what-kenya-stands-to-lose-and-gain-by-withdrawing-from-somalia-133640

 

أحدث الإيجازات

The Somali-based Harakat al-Shabaab al-Mujahideen (Al-Shabaab) organization has been dramatically expanding its activities in Kenya since the start of the year. In January the group attacked a US airbase, and in April it killed six soldiers in the northeast of the country. Despite continued US strikes against the group’s strongholds, Al-Shabaab has continued to step up its operations, especially in northeastern Kenya.

This paper examines current trends in Al-Shabaab’s activities in Kenya, the dangers posed by the group’s expansion, and the challenges of combating the group, especially during the emerging coronavirus epidemic in the country. It also sets out possible scenarios for the group’s future activities, and examines efforts made by the Kenyan government to combat terrorism.

Al-Shabaab activities in Kenya: general trends and the risks posed by the group’s expansion

  • Al-Shabaab has been ramping up its activities in Kenya since the start of the year. Between January and May, it carried out more than 15 attacks[1], primarily in the coastal regions of Mandera, Wajir, Garissa, and Lamu. It has mainly targeted the army and security forces[2]. The group is trying to put pressure on the Kenyan government, as Kenya has contributed troops to the African Union Mission to Somalia[3]. The attacks coincide with the escalation in the group’s efforts to retake its former stronghold of Janale in the Lower Shebelle region of southern Somalia, after Somali government forces seized the town with the support of AFRICOM and African Union peacekeeping forces in mid-March.
  • In response to continued US strikes and raids against the group, Al-Shabaab has continued to target US forces in Kenya. On January 5, it attacked Camp Simba in Manda Bay, near the border with Somalia. Three Americans were killed, and six civilian aircraft and three military vehicles were destroyed[4]. The group’s success in its attack shows that the offensive capabilities of its “Faith Army” wing are developing, having received support for its operations from the movement’s leadership from across the country’s fragile border with Somalia. The increasing intensity and range of the group’s attacks is another indication that it is gaining traction in Kenya, such as in the form of the Faith Army, which has established its base in the Boni forest area of Lamu and which has claimed responsibility for the attack on Camp Simba[5].
  • It seems increasingly likely that the group will expand throughout the region, especially in northeastern Kenya, where it is able to exploit existing religious divisions and sectarian conflicts. The group has already directed threats towards Christians in the region, and has killed several individuals. Al-Shabaab justified its attack on the US base in January as an attempt to retake an area that it claims was stolen from the Muslim population by the Kenyan government and Christian groups[6].
  • The group may be able to enhance its communications with cells in Kenya and Tanzania via the coastal cities and regions of Kenya, which would allow it to increase its operations, particularly by recruiting fighters. Northeastern Kenya has become a transit point for Al‑Shabaab operations in Tanzania and Uganda, where Kenyan and Tanzanian fighters numbering in the hundreds constitute the largest ethnic group among the movement’s ranks.

Kenya’s counter-terrorism challenges

Counter-terrorism efforts in Kenya currently face a number of challenges, primarily:

1. The country’s security services are currently involved in combating the recent coronavirus outbreak and enforcing social distancing measures in various regions[7]. This poses a challenge to counter-terrorism efforts, given the violent protests against such measures that have erupted in some areas.

2. Corruption among the security services is widespread, which has allowed Al-Shabaab to infiltrate the security services, transport weapons across the border, and even purchase weapons from security service personnel.

3. Following the discovery of oil in the region, there is continued tension between Kenya and Somalia over the maritime border, as there is no existing agreement that sets out where the border lies[8]. Mogadishu has continued to accuse Kenya of supporting Jubaland, as Nairobi is attempting to create buffer zone against Al-Shabaab. In late February, the Somali government also accused Kenya of harboring Abdirashid Janan in the Mandera region, which borders Jubaland[9].

Possible scenarios for the future of Al-Shabaab activities and counter-terrorism efforts

Scenario 1: Al-Shabaab intensifies its attacks on military bases and targets in Kenya with the aim of reducing the military pressure on the group in Somalia. The group is using its cells in Kenya, such as the Faith Army, to carry out such attacks. Kenya’s security apparatus appears preoccupied with combating the coronavirus epidemic, while widespread corruption among the security services has allowed Al-Shabaab to easily penetrate its ranks. Al-Shabaab has continued to pose a threat to Kenyan security, thanks to its flexibility and its continuous supply of fighters[10]. The group is, however, suffering from internal conflicts and from competition from ISIS[11], and has been repeatedly hit by US military strikes against its leaders and followers, which may limit its ability to expand its operations within Kenya.

Scenario 2: Kenyan forces withdraw from Somalia, particularly following increased demands from the domestic opposition to withdraw, and the military fails to defeat Al-Shabaab and end terrorism in Kenya. Tensions in Kenyan–Somali relations have continued to grow over the maritime border conflict, thereby limiting their willingness to cooperate on counter-terrorism. Kenya nonetheless appears reluctant to withdraw, as to do so would mean abandoning its allies in Somalia and allowing Ethiopia to increase its influence, thereby enabling Ethiopia to assume a dominant position within the African Union Mission to Somalia. This is the dilemma currently facing decision-makers in Kenya[12].

Scenario 3: Kenya continues to cooperate with the United States on military and security issues to prevent the expansion of Al-Shabaab, especially as the US military presence in Kenya has increased and as Washington has sent military reinforcements to Kenya in response to the targeting of US military leaders in the country. In February, Washington announced the creation of its first overseas Joint Terrorism Task Force, based in Kenya (JTTF-K). US military strikes against Al-Shabaab strongholds in the region have continued, despite the challenges associated with the high coronavirus infection rate in the United States and the targeting of US assets in Kenya by Al-Shabaab.

The first of these scenarios appears the most likely, based on the following considerations:

  1. Al-Shabaab is still attempting to compensate for its extensive losses in Somalia and to take revenge against the US and Kenyan forces responsible for those losses. The group is using the coronavirus crisis to expand its recruitment operations and increase its attacks against military locations.
  2. The African Union Mission to Somalia has been extended until February 28, 2021. Al‑Shabaab is therefore expected to continue to intensify its attacks against foreign and domestic interests.
  3. The US military intervention strategy is limited to airstrikes and coverage of ground operations. Although the United States has managed to liquidate many Al-Shabaab leaders during such strikes, the group has continued to strengthen and consolidate its presence in local communities by exploiting local grievances and the worsening social, economic, and health conditions.

Conclusion

Al-Shabaab continues to pose a threat to security and stability in the Horn of Africa. Regional and international efforts to combat terrorism need to be stepped up, and the mandate of the African Union Mission to Somalia requires continued support, especially as the Somali army is unable to combat Al-Shabaab without regional and international military support.

References

[1] Karen Allen, Why is the US ramping up anti-terrorism efforts in Kenya?, March 26, 2020, available at: https://issafrica.org/iss-today/why-is-the-us-ramping-up-anti-terrorism-efforts-in-kenya

[2] Crisis Group, Crisis Watch: Tracking Conflict Worldwide, April 2020, available at: https://www.crisisgroup.org/crisiswatch/may-alerts-and-april-trends-2020#kenya

[3] U.S. Department of Defense, East Africa and North and West Africa Counterterrorism Operations: Lead Inspector General Report to the United States Congress October 1, 2019 to December 31, 2019, p.17

[4] James Barnett, The Evolution of East African Salafi-jihadism, Hudson Institute, May 28, 2020, available at: https://www.hudson.org/research/16075-the-evolution-of-east-african-salafi-jihadism

[5] John Foulkes, Bashir Qorgab—al-Shabaab Veteran Commander Killed in U.S. Airstrike, Militant Leadership Monitor, Volume: 11, Issue: 3, April 2, 2020, available at: https://jamestown.org/brief/bashir-qorgab-al-shabaab-veteran-commander-killed-in-u-s-airstrike

[6] Idem.

[7] According to some estimates, although the COVID-19 outbreak in Kenya is in the initial stages, with the first case having been identified in March, Kenya could witness around 30,000 deaths at the peak of the epidemic unless social distancing measures are enforced. Kenya has a national shortage of intensive care beds and respirators, with only 518 and 297 units respectively. The infrastructure for transporting patients to healthcare facilities is also poor. See:

The Senate, Ad Hoc Committee on the COVID-19 Situation in Kenya, 3rd Progress Report, Thematic Area I: Health Issues, April 28, 2020, available at: https://www.theelephant.info/documents/3rd-progress-report-of-the-senate-ad-hoc-committee-on-the-covid-19-situation-in-kenya/

[8] Abdelrahman Aisi, “الأزمة الدبلوماسية بين الصومال وكينيا: قراءة في الخلفيات واستشراف المآلات” (Diplomatic crisis between Somalia and Kenya: Examining the background and anticipating the outcome), March 25, 2019, available at: https://somaliacenter.com/2019/03/25

[9] Tom Collins, Al-Shabaab renews focus on north-eastern Kenya, March 23, 2020, available at: https://newafricanmagazine.com/22592/

[10] Idem.

[11] U.S. Department of Defense, op. cit., p.18

[12] Stig Jarle Hansen, What Kenya stands to lose and gain by withdrawing from Somalia, April 30, 2020, available at: https://theconversation.com/what-kenya-stands-to-lose-and-gain-by-withdrawing-from-somalia-133640

 

Latest Briefs