في إطار استجابتها ومواجهتها لتحديات انتشار وباء «كوفيد-19»، تبذل دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة جهوداً في توظيف تطبيقات الذكاء الاصطناعي والحلول الذكية. شركة أبوظبي للخدمات الصحية (صحة)، استخدمت الذكاء الاصطناعي بالتعاون مع شركة بريطانية للتنبؤ بمدى تسارع انتشار الوباء، وفهم وتقدير احتياجات السعة الطبية والسريرية، وتخطيط كيفية استجابتها للوباء. وقد أظهرت النتائج، بحسب تقارير منشورة، أن معدل الإصابة الحالي في إمارة أبوظبي ليس من المتوقع أن يتسارع في الأسابيع الستة المقبلة.[1]

لقد تمّت الاستعانة بتطبيقات الذكاء الاصطناعي من شركة Draper & Dash Predictive Healthcare Analytics، والتي تستخدمها أيضًا خدمة الصحة الوطنية في المملكة المتحدة؛ إذْ تؤخذ البيانات من المستشفيات لفهم المستويات المعتادة للطلب على الأسرّة أو رعاية الطوارئ، ثم تُجمع هذه البيانات، وتُقارن مع ما شوهد بالفعل من انتشار الفيروس في جميع أنحاء العالم، وتُحلل لمعرفة الاتجاهات والسيناريوهات المحتملة.
الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة "درابر آند داش"، أورلاندو أغريبا، يؤكد أن نظام الرعاية الصحية في إمارة أبو ظبي لديه القدرة الكافية على التعامل مع أعداد أكبر من عدد الإصابات الحالية المسجلة في الإمارات جرّاء تفشي وباء كورونا، ويقول إن التوقعات تشير إلى أن حجم الإصابات في الإمارة لن يشهد تسارعاً أكبر بكثير مما هو قائم.[2]

مزايا النموذج

هذا النموذج من الذكاء الاصطناعي الذي تبنته «صحة» يساعد على ما يلي:

  1. يقدّم رؤى مفيدة ضرورية حول فيروس «كوفيد-19»، تساعد على توقع اتجاهات الفيروس، بما يمكّن من إعداد استراتيجية أكثر تماسكاً في الاستجابة والمواجهة.
  2. يُمكّن هذا النموذج من الذكاء الاصطناعي القطاع الصحي في الإمارات من تنظيم كيفيات الاستجابة الفعالة لمسائل الطلب على الأسرّة، وخصوصاً أسرّة غرف ووحدات العناية المركّزة للمرضى الأشدّ حاجة والأكثر تأثراً بالفيروس. ولأن تحدي نقص المعدات الطبية والأسرّة والضغط على المستشفيات والكوادر الطبية والتمريضية كان من أبرز التحديات التي واجهت دول العالم في استجابتها لانتشار الوباء، فإن أدوات وتقنيات الذكاء الاصطناعي يمكن أن تساعد، بدرجة مفيدة، المستشفيات والمرافق الصحية الإماراتية على إدارة مواردها في شكل أفضل، والتنبؤ بذلك، وتقليل عنصر المفاجأة أو التخمين، ما أمكن.

واستخدمت حكومة إمارة دبي الذكاء الاصطناعي[3] لتنظيم حركة سكان الإمارة في أثناء ساعات الحظر وتقييد الخروج إلا للعاملين في قطاعات حيوية، ومن لديهم تصاريح صالحة. وتمت الاستفادة من برنامج «عيون على الطريق» - من خلال شبكة من الكاميرات المبثوثة في أنحاء الإمارة وشوارعها - للتعرف على الوجه والصوت ولوحة ترخيص المركبات. في هذه التقنيات يتم تغذية المعلومات من خلال قاعدة بيانات مركزية كبيرة، ويجري من ثمّ تحليلها؛ لمراقبة فعالية الحظر في التقليل من الإصابات بفيروس كورونا ونحو ذلك.

وتستخدم شركة نبتة هيلث Nabta Health - وهي شركة إماراتية ناشئة تعمل في مجال الرعاية الصحية - الذكاء الاصطناعي لتقديم تقييمات المخاطر والأعراض لـ «كوفيد-19». الشركة تستعين بالذكاء الاصطناعي لتشخيص الحالات الصحية الكامنة. وتؤكد الشركة أن التقنيات المتقدمة التي يوفرها الذكاء الاصطناعي، والتعلم الآلي التطبيقي، وتقنية الـ blockchain يمكن أن تساعد في التخفيف من آثار الأوبئة في المستقبل.
ومنذ الاستجابات الإماراتية المبكرة لمواجهة انتشار الوباء كانت الطائرات من دون طيار «الدرونز» تقوم بعمليات التعقيم بسرعة وفعالية، وتراقب مدى التزام الناس منازلهم في أثناء فترة التعقيم، فضلاً عن مراقبة التزامهم سياسة "التباعد الاجتماعي" وعدم التجمع والاكتظاظ.

وتستخدم قوات الشرطة في الإمارات العربية المتحدة خوذات ذكية تمكّنها من قياس درجة حرارة مئات الأشخاص كل دقيقة؛ في إطار الجهود المبذولة لمكافحة فيروس كورونا المستجد. ويمكن لهذه الخوذات، التي تحتاج لوقت أقل ومسافة أقصر من أجهزة قياس الحرارة التقليدية، قياس درجة الحرارة من على بعد خمسة أمتار، وتستطيع فحص ما يصل إلى 200 شخص في الدقيقة. وتصدر الخوذة إنذاراً في حالة رصد شخص مصاب بالحمى. وتكون هذه الخوذات فعّالة لفحص الناس في المناطق ذات الكثافة السكنية المرتفعة؛ بما في ذلك الأحياء المغلقة.[4]

وفي نهاية مارس 2020 أعلنت مجموعة «جي 42»، وهي تعمل في مجال الذكاء الاصطناعي والحوسبة السحابية، وتتخذ من مدينة "مصدر" في أبوظبي مقراً لها، ومجموعة «بي.جي.آي» الرائدة عالمياً في مجال حلول الجينوم، عن إطلاق مختبر حديث بقدرات معالجة فائقة لإجراء عشرات آلاف الاختبارات بتقنية RT-PCR ‏‏(تقنية تفاعل البوليمرز المتسلسل اللحظي)‏‏‏ يومياً، لتلبية احتياجات فحص وتشخيص الإصابة بفيروس كورونا المستجد «كوفيد-19» في الإمارات. ويُعدُّ المختبر أول مختبر بهذا الحجم في العالم يتم تشغيله خارج الصين. وقامت الإمارات بأعلى معدلات الفحص عن انتشار الوباء داخل أراضيها (تجاوزت حتى كتابة هذه السطور المليون فحص) قياساً بعدد السكان على مستوى العالم، وفقاً للبيانات الصادرة عن منظمة الصحة العالمية. ولفت بينج شياو، الرئيس التنفيذي لمجموعة «جي 42» إلى أنه «بفضل قدراته التشخيصية الفائقة، يوفر المختبر النطاق والقوة اللازمين لتمكين سكان دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة من الحصول على أكثر الاختبارات موثوقية لتفاعل سلسلة البولميرز».[5]
وخلال شهر أبريل الجاري، أعلنت ولاية نيفادا الأمريكية حصولها على مواد تقنية متقدمة من مجموعة «جي 42» الإماراتية، بهدف توسيع نطاق الفحوص المخبرية لمكافحة فيروس كورونا المستجد في الولاية. وفي الثالث عشر من الشهر الجاري أعلن حاكم نيفادا، ستيفن ف. سيسولاك، عن شراكة مع حكومة دولة الإمارات وشركة التكنولوجيا الإماراتية «جي 42»[6]، وذلك في إطار السعي إلى تسهيل إجراء دراسة مبتكرة حول التسلسل الجيني لفيروس كورونا المستجد.

وكشف الدكتور علوي الشيخ علي، عضو مجلس علماء الإمارات والمتحدث الرسمي عن قطاع العلوم المتقدمة في الدولة، عن أنّ الإمارات تعمل على مجموعة من الدراسات المتعلقة بالتصدي لفيروس كورونا المستجد، ومنها دراسات تطوير الأدوات الرقمية لتقليل الضغط على المنشآت الصحية، ودراسات محاكاة الانتشار وحركة المصابين. وأشار إلى أن فريقاً مشتركاً من جامعات الإمارات والشارقة وخليفة، سيعمل بالتعاون مع شركة صحة في أبوظبي وهيئة الصحة في دبي وجامعة غرب أستراليا ومركز العين للإخصاب، على دراسة وفهم العوامل الجينية التي تؤدي إلى شدة الإصابات في الدولة، وذلك من خلال التسلسل الجيني ودراسته لحاملي المرض، حيث تساعد الدراسة على فهم أعمق لاختلاف شدة الأعراض من شخص إلى آخر، ووضع حلول وخطط استراتيجية لحماية السكان، ومن هم أكثر عرضة للمرض. وأفاد المتحدث الرسمي عن قطاع العلوم المتقدمة في الدولة بأن ثمة جهوداً تبذلها جامعة خليفة في أبوظبي من أجل تطوير نموذج أولي لجهاز تنفس اصطناعي لحالات الطوارئ، مصمم بمواد قليلة التكلفة، ويمكن الوصول إليها بسهولة وباستخدام تقنية الطباعة ثلاثية الأبعاد.[7]

تحديات تخلق فُرصها

على الرغم من الوطأة الشديدة والتداعيات السلبية الشاملة التي يخلّفها وباء «كوفيد-19»، فإنه ينطوي كذلك على فرص يمكن استغلالها. وتبدو ما تتوافر عليه دولة الإمارات من بنية تحتية متطورة وخدمات لوجستية متقدمة، يؤهلها لأن تضع مزيداً من الاستثمارات في دعم البحث العلمي، وإحداث نقلة نوعية نحو اقتصاد المعرفة، وتطوير تطبيقات الذكاء الاصطناعي والطباعة ثلاثية الأبعاد والواقع الافتراضي والواقع المعزز و«البلوك تشين»، ليس فقط من أجل توسيع مجالات تنويع اقتصادها، وزيادة نسبة إسهام الاقتصاد الرقمي في تنويع الاقتصاد الوطني، بل كذلك أيضاً، وفي المسار ذاته في الحقيقة، من أجل تسريع الخطوات الإماراتية باتجاه تحوّل القطاع الصحي إلى مزيد من توظيف تقنيات الصحة الرقمية، وتعزيز آليات دمج الذكاء الاصطناعي في الخدمات الطبية، وابتكار مسارات وحلول استباقية، من شأنها تعزيز الرعاية الصحية، كحلقة أساسية من حلقات التنمية المستدامة.

_____

[1] Coronavirus: Covid-19 spread in Abu Dhabi unlikely to accelerate, AI modelling shows, the national newspaper, April 23, 2020: https://bit.ly/2WbTr0D

[2] Ibid.

[3] Some countries in the Middle East are using artificial intelligence to fight the coronavirus pandemic, CNBC, April 16, 2020: https://cnb.cx/2yFpT3k

[4]  "شرطة الإمارات تستخدم التكنولوجيا الذكية في مكافحة فيروس كورونا"، رويترز، 24 أبريل 2020: https://bit.ly/353jwTw

[5]  "أبوظبي تحتضن أكبر مختبر بالعالم خارج الصين لمكافحة كورونا"، صحيفة الاتحاد، 1 أبريل 2020: https://bit.ly/3cRQDft

[6] Theodore Karasik, "Lessons the US can learn from the UAE about the decontamination of COVID-19," Atlantic Council, April 21, 2020: https://bit.ly/2yN5WaU

[7]  "مليون فحص لـ «كورونا».. و1887 حـالة شفاء في الدولة"، صحيفة الاتحاد، 26 أبريل 2020: https://bit.ly/2VEaA3

 

أحدث الإيجازات

The United Arab Emirates is using artificial intelligence and smart solutions as part of its strategy to combat the spread of COVID-19. In cooperation with a British organization, the Abu Dhabi Health Services Company (SEHA) is using artificial intelligence to predict how the virus will spread, understand and estimate medical and clinical capacity, and plan its response. According to reports, the infection rate in Abu Dhabi is not expected to rise over the next six weeks.[1]

The UAE is using the same artificial intelligence applications developed by Draper & Dash Healthcare as those used by the British National Health Service (NHS). Data collected from hospitals is used to understand usual levels of demand for beds and emergency care; the data is then collated and compared against how the virus is spreading in other countries around the world in order to identify possible trends and scenarios.
The CEO of Draper & Dash, Orlando Agrippa, has confirmed that the Abu Dhabi healthcare system has the capacity to handle a greater level of demand as a result of coronavirus than is currently being seen, and that the infection rate in the UAE is not expected to accelerate.[2]

Benefits of modeling

The artificial intelligence model being used by SEHA has a number of benefits:

  1. It provides important insights about the virus that help in predicting its spread and preparing a more coherent response strategy.
  2. It enables the Emirati health sector to prepare an effective response to increased demand on hospital beds, especially private rooms and intensive care units for those most affected by the virus. As one of the greatest challenges faced by many countries in mounting a response to the epidemic has been the shortage of medical equipment, beds, and healthcare professionals, artificial intelligence can play an important role in helping hospitals and healthcare facilities in the UAE to better manage their resources, forecast demand, and minimize uncertainty.

The Dubai government has been using artificial intelligence[3] to regulate the movement of residents during the hours of curfew and to prevent all except key workers and those with valid authorization from going outside. It has been using the network of cameras set up throughout the emirate as part of the Eyes on the Road program to identify residents’ faces, voices, and vehicle registration plates. The data is fed into a large central database where it is monitored to assess the effectiveness of the ban in reducing coronavirus infections.

Nabta Health, an emerging Emirati healthcare company, is using artificial intelligence to provide COVID-19 risk assessments, identify symptoms, and diagnose underlying health conditions. According to the company, advanced artificial intelligence, applied machine learning, and blockchain technology can be used to mitigate the impact of future epidemics.
Drones were introduced early in the UAE’s response to the epidemic in order to conduct rapid, effective sterilization and monitor the extent to which residents remain at home during sterilization operations, adhere to social distancing measures, and avoid public gatherings and crowds.

In addition, police forces in the UAE are using smart helmets that allow them to measure the temperature of hundreds of individuals every minute in order to control the spread of the virus. Such helmets, which are faster to use and require less proximity than conventional thermometers, can measure a person’s temperature from up to five meters away and can test up to 200 people per minute. If a person is identified as having a fever, the helmet sounds an alarm. The helmets are useful for testing people in dense residential areas, including closed neighborhoods.[4]

In late March 2020, Group 42, an artificial intelligence and cloud computing company based in Masdar, Abu Dhabi, together with the BGI Group, the world’s largest genome sequencing company, announced the launch of a modern laboratory capable of processing tens of thousands of tests per day using the reverse transcription polymerase chain reaction (RT-PCR) technique in order to meet COVID-19 screening and diagnosis needs in the UAE. This is the largest working laboratory of its kind outside China. According to the World Health Organization (WHO), the UAE has the highest rate of testing for COVID-19 relative to population size worldwide, having performed more than one million tests thus far. “Thanks to its superior diagnostic capabilities, the laboratory provides the scale and capability needed to allow UAE residents to obtain the most reliable PCR tests,” said Ping Xiao, CEO of Group 42.[5]
In April, the government of the state of Nevada announced that it had procured advanced technical materials from Group 42 to expand its laboratory testing with a view to combating the novel coronavirus in the state. On April 13, Steve Sisolak, governor of Nevada, announced that the state was partnering with the UAE government and Group 42[6] to conduct an innovative project to sequence the novel coronavirus genome.

Dr. Alawi Alsheikh-Ali, member of the Emirates Scientists Council and official spokesperson for the advanced science sector in the country, revealed that the UAE is carrying out a number of studies on ways to combat the novel coronavirus, including by developing digital tools to reduce the pressure on healthcare facilities and by simulating the spread of the virus and the movement of infected people. He announced that a team comprising members from the United Arab Emirates University, the University of Sharjah, and Khalifa University will work with SEHA, the Abu Dhabi health authorities, the University of Western Australia, and Al Ain Fertility Center to study the genetic factors behind infection rates in the country by mapping the virus’s genome and studying carriers of the disease. The study will help improve understanding of why symptoms vary in severity between individuals and will aid the development of strategic solutions to protect the population, particularly the most vulnerable. Dr. Alsheikh-Ali also said that various efforts were being made at Khalifa University in Abu Dhabi to develop a prototype emergency respirator using cheap, easily accessible materials and 3D-printing technology.[7]

Challenges lead to opportunities

Despite the severe impact and general negative repercussions of the COVID-19 pandemic, it has presented a number of opportunities. Thanks to its advanced infrastructure and logistical services, the UAE seems better placed than most to invest more in scientific research, make a qualitative shift towards a knowledge economy, and develop various applications in the areas of artificial intelligence, 3D-printing, virtual and augmented reality, and blockchain technology. This would serve not only to further diversify the economy and increase the economic contribution of the digital sector, but it would also help accelerate efforts to expand the use of digital healthcare technologies, strengthen mechanisms to integrate artificial intelligence into health services, and create proactive solutions to enhance health care as an essential part of sustainable development.

_____

[1] Coronavirus: Covid-19 spread in Abu Dhabi unlikely to accelerate, AI modelling shows, The National, April 23, 2020: https://bit.ly/2WbTr0D

[2] Ibid

[3] Some countries in the Middle East are using artificial intelligence to fight the coronavirus pandemic, CNBC, April 16, 2020: https://cnb.cx/2yFpT3k

[4]Emirati police use smart technology to combat coronavirus, Reuters, April 24, 2020: https://bit.ly/353jwTw

[5] Abu Dhabi opens largest laboratory outside China to combat coronavirus, Al-Ittihad, April 1, 2020: https://bit.ly/3cRQDft

[6] Theodore Karasik, Lessons the US can learn from the UAE about the decontamination of COVID-19, Atlantic Council, April 21, 2020: https://bit.ly/2yN5WaU

[7] One million coronavirus tests, and 1887 cases in the country, Al-Ittihad, April 26, 2020: https://bit.ly/2VEaA3H

 

Latest Briefs