يأتي اتفاق حفتر - معيتيق بشأن استئناف العمل بالمنشآت النفطية، والذي جرى بوساطة روسية وتم الكشف عنه في 18 سبتمبر 2020، ليعكس مستوى التعقيد الذي يتسم به الصراع في ليبيا، وهامش المناورة الواسع الذي يتمتع به مختلف اللاعبين الداخليين والخارجيين، بالشكل الذي يجعل أي تقدم يمكن إحرازه على طريق التسوية مسألة محفوفة بالكثير من المناورات والحسابات المتداخلة.

وعلى الرغم من أن مضمون الاتفاق قد يبدو خطوة متقدمة على طريق حلحلة الوضع المتأزم لإدارة الثروة النفطية، التي تعد موضوع الصراع الرئيس في ليبيا، إلا أن ما أبداهُ أغلبُ الأطراف المعنية من رفض أو صمت متحفِّظ، يشير إلى محدودية فرص إنفاذ الاتفاق، على الأقل وفق الشروط التي تضمنها. وفي هذا السياق فإن التوقف عند هذه الخطوة، وردود الأفعال الصادرة رداً عليها، يأتي على خلفية ما تكشفه من حسابات أطراف الصراع خلال المرحلة الحالية، وليس على خلفية ما قد تمثله فعلاً من حلحلة للصراع حول ورقة النفط في ليبيا وإدارة عائداته.

مضامين الاتفاق

تعكس بنود الاتفاق، وفق النسخة المصورة والمنشورة على الحساب الرسمي لأحمد معيتيق، النائب الأول لرئيس المجلس الرئاسي، على موقع تويتر، التركيز على مسألة إنتاج النفط وتوزيع عائداته، وكذلك المعاملات المصرفية الخاصة بالنقد الأجنبي وآليات عمل البنوك، والاعتمادات والمخصصات المالية الموجهة لعملية التنمية، وغير ذلك من قضايا ذات صلة بالأبعاد الاقتصادية والمالية للصراع، والتي تتماس بشدة مع جدول أعمال المسار الاقتصادي للمفاوضات.

تُقدِّم البنود المنصوص عليها في الاتفاق حلولاً مباشرة وصريحة لكثير من القضايا محل النزاع حالياً؛ حيث تم النص على استئناف عمليات إنتاج النفط وتصديره فوراً، وتقديم الدعم اللازم للمؤسسة الوطنية للنفط، بما يضمن إعادة الانتاج إلى وضعه الطبيعي.

كما تم النص على رفع الحظر الذي يفرضه البنك المركزي في طرابلس على المعاملات المالية (المقاصة ونظام المدفوعات) الخاصة بالبنوك الرئيسة العاملة في المنطقة الشرقية، والذي هدف في السابق إلى تشديد الخناق المالي على كلٍّ من الحكومة المؤقتة وعلى عمليات التمويل المقدمة لقوات حفتر، مما جعله أحد المحفزات الرئيسة لإطلاق عملية "طوفان الكرامة" بغرض السيطرة على العاصمة طرابلس.

كذلك، فقد نصَّ الاتفاق على الاستفادة من الرسوم المفروضة على سعر الصرف، وتوجيهها لخدمة المشاريع التنموية التي تخدم المواطن بشكل مباشر، مع إعطاء الأولوية لإعادة إعمار المناطق المتضررة.

وفي شكل عام، تتضمن بنود الاتفاق حلولاً يصعب رفضها، لاسيما أنها تركز على مبادئ عامة وخطوط عريضة لا يوجد خلاف عام بشأنها، غير أن ما تضمنه الاتفاق من إنشاء لجنة فنية مشتركة تتولى الإشراف على توزيع إيرادات النفط، وتنفيذ جميع بنوده؛ والمهام التي أوردها الاتفاق بشأن عمل اللجنة، فإن كل ذلك يحدّ من فرص إنفاذ الاتفاق من زاوية ما يحمله من صدام محتمل مع كلٍّ من المؤسسة الوطنية للنفط والمصرف المركزي، نظراً لما يتضمنه عمل اللجنة من تحجيم لصلاحيات المؤسستين، وإخضاع التعاملات الخاصة بهما لإشراف اللجنة.

من ناحية أخرى، فإن الخلافات المتوقعة بشأن تشكيل اللجنة، في حال تنفيذ الاتفاق، لن تصطدم فقط بالمصالح الجهوية والسياسية الضيقة لأطراف الصراع، لكنها ستصطدم أيضاً بمصالح الكيانات المسلحة، لاسيما في العاصمة طرابلس، حيث تخضع كافة المؤسسات المالية والاقتصادية المعترف بها دولياً لسيطرة وحماية هذه الميليشيات، مما خلق شبكات واسعة من الانتفاع والنهب، عبر تغلغل شخصيات محسوبة على الميليشيات المسلحة داخل مجالس إدارات تلك المؤسسات؛ ومن ثمَّ فإن تنفيذ الاتفاق من هذه الزاوية يتوقف بشكل كبير على مستوى التقدم المحرز في ملف تفكيك الميليشيات وإعادة بناء الأجهزة الأمنية، وهو ملف معقّد يصعب إحراز تقدم فارق بشأنه على المدى القصير؛ كما يتوقف على مصير المقترح الخاص باتخاذ سرت مقراً مؤقتاً لعمل الحكومة الموحدة التي سيجري التوافق عليها.

حسابات الأطراف

يمكن القول بأن الذي يجمع بين الأطراف الثلاثة المشاركة في الاتفاق، وهم روسيا بوصفها وسيطاً وحفتر ومعيتيق باعتبارهما طرفيّ تفاوض، هو التهميش النسبي لأدوارهم ضمن المسار التفاوضي الراهن، ومن ثمَّ فإن العمل على الخروج بهذا الاتفاق يهدف بالأساس إلى تحقيق هدف كبير مشترك، وهو تعزيز مكانة كل منهم كطرف فاعل يصعب تهميشه، من دون تبني سلوكيات تعطيلية أو الظهور بمظهر الطرف المعارض للتسوية، بل عبر مواكبة المسار التفاوضي الراهن، وتحقيق الأهداف المرجوة، لكن وفق صيغة تضمن بقاء كل طرف فاعلاً رئيساً لا يمكن تهميشه. ويمكن الإشارة إلى حسابات كل طرف بشكل أوضح على النحو الآتي:

1. روسيا: تجدر الإشارة ابتداءً إلى أن الانخراط الأمريكي النشط في الشأن الليبي خلال الشهور الأخيرة يأتي على خلفية رغبة واشنطن في كبح تنامي نفوذ موسكو في ليبيا؛ كما أن مسار التسوية الراهن هو أحد مسارين متنافسين منذ بزوغ أزمة سرت، حيث يتمثل المسار الآخر في التنسيق الروسي التركي. وقد عملت واشنطن على الترويج لتسوية تهدف إلى تحييد ورقة النفط بشكل عام، وإبعادها عن النفوذ الروسي بشكل خاص، عبر تبني مقترح إخلاء الهلال النفطي من مظاهر العسكرة، وإبعاد عناصر فاغنر عن المنشآت النفطية التي يتمركزون بداخلها، وهو ما شددت عليه الولايات المتحدة في عدة مناسبات، آخرها كان البيان الصادر عن السفارة الأمريكية في طرابلس بتاريخ 12 سبتمبر.

من خلال الاتفاق الحالي، تسعى موسكو إلى فك الارتباط بين عملية استئناف انتاج وتصدير النفط وبين وقوع المنشآت النفطية تحت سيطرة عناصر فاغنر وقوات حفتر، حيث يؤمّن الاتفاق عملية استئناف انتاج وتصدير النفط "فوراً"، من دون أن يتطرق إلى أية مسائل تتصل بالأوضاع الأمنية والعسكرية المحيطة بعمل تلك المنشآت. ولم تكن تلك النقطة بعيدة عن ردود أفعال الأطراف الرافضة للاتفاق، وتحديداً موقف المؤسسة الوطنية للنفط، حيث يشير بيان المؤسسة رداً على الاتفاق إلى رفض أي دور لعناصر فاغنر في قطاع النفط الليبي، كما وصف رئيس المؤسسة مصطفى صنع الله ما تم في موسكو بأنه فوضى ومفاوضات غير نظامية.

2. حفتر: يمثل الاتفاق خطوة إضافية في مسار إعادة الاعتبار لدور حفتر في تحديد بوصلة القرار في إقليم برقة، بعد شهور ثلاثة من تهميش دوره على خلفية انسحاب قواته من كامل المنطقة الغربية، وتَصدُّر رئيس مجلس النواب المستشار عقيلة صالح في تمثيل مصالح الإقليم أمام بقية الأطراف الداخلية والخارجية. ويأتي الاتفاق عقب أقل من أسبوع على بيان السفارة الأمريكية في طرابلس، والذي كشف عن تعهُّد شخصي من حفتر بإعادة فتح المنشآت النفطية للعمل مرة أخرى، وهو ما يعكس عدم ثقة حفتر في واشنطن، ورغبته في توسيع هامش المناورة السياسية في مواجهة خصومه، لاسيما في ضوء أن السيطرة على مرافق النفط تعد الورقة الاستراتيجية الأهم المتبقية لديه، ومن ثمّ التقاء مصالح القيادة العامة [للجيش الوطني الليبي] مع موسكو في عدم التخلي عن تلك الورقة.

عسكرياً، تطابقت ردود الفعل الصادرة عن الأصوات الممثلة لمناطق الثقل العسكرية داخل معسكر الوفاق، مثل وزير دفاع الوفاق صلاح النمروش (الزاوية)، وقائد المنطقة العسكرية الغربية أسامة الجويلي (الزنتان)، والناطق باسم غرفة عمليات سرت - الجفرة عبد الهادي دراه (مصراتة)، حيث عبَّروا جميعاً عن رفضهم للاتفاق.

3. معيتيق: يمكن قراءة خطوة معيتيق في إطار مساعيه المستمرة لطرح نفسه شخصيةً توافقيةً قادرة على الحلول محل فايز السراج، سواء على رأس المجلس الرئاسي أو على رأس حكومة الوفاق، لاسيما أن الاتفاق يأتي في أعقاب إعلان السراج عن نيته الاستقالة من رئاسة حكومة الوفاق نهاية شهر أكتوبر المقبل. كما أنها ليست المرة الأولى التي يسعى خلالها معيتيق إلى التقرب من موسكو، التي زارها على رأس وفد من حكومة الوفاق في يونيو الماضي على خلفية احتدام أزمة سرت، وأثار وقتها موقفه الرافض للحرب غضب ميليشيات مصراتة.

ويأتي الاتفاق ليزيد من حالة الانقسام داخل مدينة مصراتة، والذي تفاقم في الأسابيع الأخيرة على وقع أزمة احتجاجات طرابلس، واحتدام التنافس بين كل من وزير الداخلية فتحي باشاغا، الأقرب لمصالح ميليشيات مصراتة، وأحمد معيتيق، الأقرب لتمثيل مصالح الطبقة الرأسمالية داخل المدينة. ولم تختلف ردود الأفعال على الاتفاق عن حالة العداء التقليدية من قبل الميليشيات تجاه معيتيق، فقد تم منعه بالقوة من السفر إلى مدينة سرت في 18 سبتمبر، حيث كان من المزمع التوقيع على الاتفاق.

وعلى الرغم من التضارُب المشار إليه بين مصالح وحسابات الأطراف المعنية بالصراع إزاء الاتفاق، إلا أنه من المرجح إبداء مرونة نسبية من قبل أغلب الأطراف، بما يسمح ضمناً بالعمل تدريجياً على استئناف عمل المنشآت النفطية، لتجنُّب مزيد من التأزيم حول هذا الملف، مع ترك القضايا الخلافية ذات الطبيعة المالية والاقتصادية لما ستسفر عنه المباحثات الخاصة بالمسار الاقتصادي، والتي تجري برعاية أممية. وقد أعلنت المؤسسة الوطنية للنفط فعلياً عن رفع القوة القاهرة عن مينائي البريقة والحريقة وتوافد الناقلات النفطية بدءاً من 23 سبتمبر.

خلاصة واستنتاجات

  • يحمل اتفاق حفتر - معيتيق حلولاً متوازنة للأزمات المرتبطة بإدارة الثروة النفطية في ليبيا؛ غير أن سياق التوصل إلى الاتفاق، وما يبدو من تضارُب مع المسار الاقتصادي للمباحثات الذي ترعاه الأمم المتحدة، يدفعان أغلب الأطراف المعنية بالصراع نحو تبنّي مواقف رافضة أو متحفظة.
  • يسعى الأطراف الثلاثة للاتفاق، موسكو وحفتر ومعيتيق، من وراء الاتفاق، إلى توظيف الورقة النفطية في تعزيز موقعهم داخل العملية التفاوضية، وتجنُّب حالة التهميش التي يسعى إليها خصومهم، من دون تبني إجراءات تعطيلية صريحة.
  • من المرجح استئناف عمل المنشآت النفطية بشكل تدريجي، من دون اعتراف أي طرف من أطراف الصراع بالخطوات التي يتخذها الطرف الآخر، مع إرجاء التباحث حول القضايا الخلافية لمجريات المسار الاقتصادي الذي ترعاه الأمم المتحدة.

أحدث الإيجازات

The Haftar-Maiteeq agreement regarding the resumption of work in oil facilities, which was mediated by Russia and revealed on 18 September 2020, reflects the level of complexity that characterises the conflict in Libya and the wide margin of manoeuvre enjoyed by the various internal and external players, in a way that makes any progress that could be made on the way to settlement a matter fraught with many manoeuvres and overlapping calculations.

While the content of the agreement may appear to be an advanced step on the road to resolving the critical situation in managing the oil wealth, which is the main topic of the conflict in Libya, the rejection or reserved silence expressed by most of the parties concerned indicates the limited opportunities for implementing the agreement, at least according to the conditions contained therein. In this context, understanding this step and the reactions expressed in response to it, comes against the background of what it reveals in terms of the calculations of the parties to the conflict during the current stage, and not against the background of what it may actually represent in terms of resolving the conflict over the oil card in Libya and managing its revenues.

The contents of the agreement

According to the agreement’s copy posted on the official Twitter account of Ahmed Maiteeq, the First Vice Chairman of the Presidential Council, the terms of the agreement reflect the focus on the issue of oil production and the distribution of oil revenues, as well as banking transactions for foreign exchange, banking mechanisms, and financial appropriations and allocations channelled to the development process, and other issues related to the conflict’s economic and financial dimensions, which are closely related to the agenda of the economic track of the negotiations.

The agreement’s provisions offer direct and explicit solutions to many of the issues currently in dispute. The agreement stipulates the immediate resumption of oil production and export operations, and providing the necessary support to the National Oil Company (NOC) to ensure the return of production to normal.

The agreement also stipulates lifting the ban imposed by the Central Bank of Libya (CBL) in Tripoli on the financial transactions (clearing and payments system) of the main banks operating in the eastern region, which previously aimed to tighten the financial bottleneck on both the interim government and the financing operations provided to Haftar’s forces. This was one of the main triggers for launching Operation Flood of Dignity with the aim of controlling the capital Tripoli.

Likewise, the agreement stipulates benefiting from the fees imposed on the exchange rate, so that they would be directed to serve development projects that directly serve the citizen, with priority given to the reconstruction of the affected areas.

In general, the terms of the agreement include solutions that are difficult to reject, especially that they focus on general principles and broad outlines regarding which there is no general disagreement. However, the steps mentioned in the agreement regarding the formation of a joint technical committee to oversee the distribution of oil revenues and the implementation of all its provisions, together with the tasks mentioned in the agreement regarding the committee’s work, all limit the chances of implementing the agreement in terms of the potential clash that this entails with both the NOC and the CBL, given that the committee’s work amounts to limiting the powers of the two institutions and subjecting their dealings to the committee’s supervision.

On the other hand, the expected differences regarding the formation of the committee, if the agreement is implemented, would not only clash with the narrow regional and political interests of the parties to the conflict, but also with the interests of the armed entities, especially in the capital Tripoli where all internationally recognized financial and economic institutions are subject to the control and protection of those militias. This has created extensive networks of exploitation and looting, through the penetration of personalities affiliated with the armed militias into the boards of directors of those institutions. Therefore, the implementation of the agreement from this angle depends greatly on the level of progress made on the issue of dismantling the militias and rebuilding the security services, which is a complex file on which it would be hard to make significant progress in the short term. It also depends on the fate of the proposal to make Sirte a temporary seat for the work of the unified government which will be agreed upon.

Calculations of the parties

It can be said that what unites the three parties involved in the agreement, namely Russia as a mediator, Haftar and Maiteeq, as both parties to the negotiations, is the relative marginalisation of their roles within the current negotiating track. Therefore, the effort to come out with this agreement aims mainly to achieve a common great goal, which is strengthening the position of each of them as an actor that is hard to marginalise, without adopting disruptive behaviours or appearing as the party opposed to the settlement, but rather through keeping pace with the current negotiating path and achieving the desired goals, albeit according to a formula that ensures that each party remains a principal actor that cannot be marginalised. The calculations of each party can be referred to more clearly as follows:

1. Russia: it should initially be noted that the active US involvement in the Libyan affairs in recent months comes against the background of Washington’s desire to curb Moscow’s growing influence in Libya. Besides, the current settlement track is one of two competing tracks since the outbreak of the Sirte crisis, the other track being the Russian-Turkish coordination. Washington has worked to promote a settlement aimed at neutralising the oil card in general, and diverting it from Russian influence in particular, by adopting the proposal to evacuate the Oil Crescent from manifestations of militarisation and keeping the Wagner Group operatives away from the oil facilities in which they are stationed. This was stressed by the US on several occasions, the last of which being the statement issued by the US embassy in Tripoli on 12 September 2020.

Through the current agreement, Moscow seeks to decouple the process of resuming oil production and export from the fact that the oil facilities are under the control of Wagner’s operatives and Haftar’s forces. The agreement provides for the "immediate" resumption of oil production and export without addressing any issues related to the security and military conditions surrounding the operation of those facilities. This point was not far from the reactions of the parties rejecting the agreement, specifically the position of the NOC whose statement in response to the agreement indicates the rejection of any role by the Wagner operatives in the Libyan oil sector. The NOC Chairman Mustafa Sanallah also described what happened in Moscow as chaos and irregular negotiations.

2. Haftar: the agreement constitutes an additional step in the path of rehabilitating Haftar’s role in determining the decision-making compass in the Barqa (Cyrenaica) region, after three months of marginalising his role due to the withdrawal of his forces from the entire western region. The Speaker of Parliament Counselor Aguila Saleh took the lead in representing the interests of the region before the rest of the internal and external parties. The agreement comes less than a week after the statement of the US embassy in Tripoli, which revealed a personal pledge by Haftar to reopen the oil facilities for operation, which reflects Haftar’s lack of confidence in Washington and his desire to expand the margin of political manoeuvre in the face of his opponents, especially considering that control of the oil facilities is the most important remaining strategic card for him, and hence the convergence of the interests of the General Command [of the Libyan National Army, LNA] with Moscow in not abandoning that card.

Militarily, the reactions expressed by the voices representing the military centres of gravity inside the camp of the Government of National Accord (GNA) were identical, such as the GNA Defence Minister Salah al-Nimroush (Zawiya), the Commander of the Western Military Region Osama al-Juwaili (Zintan), and the spokesman for the Sirte-Jufra Operations Room Abdul Hadi Dara (Misrata, Misurata), all expressing their rejection of the agreement.

3. Maiteeq, whose step can be read in the context of his continuous efforts to present himself as a consensual figure capable of replacing Fayez al-Sarraj, both as Chairman of the Presidential Council and as the Prime Minister of the GNA, especially that the agreement comes in the wake of Sarraj’s announcement of his intention to resign from the leadership of the GNA at the end October 2020. Besides, this is not the first time that Maiteeq sought to get close to Moscow, which he visited as the head of a GNA delegation in June 2020 against the backdrop of the escalation of the Sirte crisis. At that time, his stance against the war sparked the anger of the Misrata militias.

The agreement would increase the state of division within the city of Misrata, which has exacerbated in recent weeks due to the crisis of the Tripoli protests and the intensified competition between Interior Minister Fathi Bashagha, who is closest to the interests of the Misrata militias, and Ahmed Maiteeq, who is closest to representing the interests of the capitalist class inside the city. Reactions to the agreement did not differ from the traditional state of hostility by the militias towards Maiteeq. He was forcibly prevented from traveling to Sirte on 18 September 2020 where the agreement was to be signed.

Despite the aforementioned conflict between the interests and calculations of the parties involved in the conflict vis-à-vis the agreement, it is likely that most of the parties would demonstrate relative flexibility, which would implicitly allow the gradual resumption of operation of the oil facilities to avoid further aggravation of this crisis, while leaving controversial issues of a financial and economic nature to the outcome of the discussions on the economic track, which are being held under the auspices of the United Nations (UN). The NOC has announced the actual lifting of the force majeure from the ports of Brega and Harika and the influx of oil tankers starting from 23 September 2020.

Conclusion

  • The Haftar-Maiteeq agreement provides balanced solutions to crises related to managing Libya’s oil wealth. However, the context of reaching the agreement, and the apparent conflict with the economic course of the UN-sponsored talks drive most of the parties involved in the conflict towards adopting opposed or reserved positions.
  • The three parties to the agreement, namely Moscow, Haftar and Maiteeq, seek from the agreement to use the oil card to consolidate their position in the negotiation process and avoid the marginalisation sought by their opponents, without adopting explicit disruptive measures.
  • Operation of the oil facilities is likely to be resumed gradually, without any of the parties to the conflict recognising the steps taken by the other side, while discussion of controversial issues would be left to the UN-sponsored economic path.

Latest Briefs