يطرح "الاتفاق الإطاري" الذي توصل إليه لبنان مع إسرائيل بوساطة أمريكية، بشأن التفاوض حول ترسيم الحدود البحرية، والذي أُعلِن عنه في مطلع أكتوبر الجاري، سؤالاً عما إذا كان هذا الاتفاق مقدمة لظهور ديناميات جديدة من شأنها إعادة ترتيب المشهد الإقليمي ومعادلاته، وخاصة أن التفاوض بين الطرفين لن يكون أمراً تقنياً مجرداً، بل يحمل أبعاداً جيوسياسية قد تُغيِّر طبيعة الصراع في المنطقة، وتنحو بالعلاقات اللبنانية-الإسرائيلية إلى شكلٍ من أشكال الاتفاق السياسي، ستكون له مُترتبات تتناقض مع الواقع الذي ساد لأكثر من عشرين عاماً على حدود الطرفين.

التفاوض على ماذا؟

تُشكِّل مسألة ترسيم الحدود البحرية بين لبنان وإسرائيل محور المفاوضات المزمع عقدها في 14 الشهر الجاري حسب تأكيدات مساعد وزير الخارجية الأمريكي لشؤون الشرق الأدنى، ديفيد شينكر، الذي سيمثل الولايات المتحدة في المفاوضات بوصفه وسيطاً. وتعود أزمة الحدود البحرية بين الجانبين إلى الفترة التي أعقبت اكتشاف مخزونات ضخمة من احتياطي النفط والغاز الطبيعي في المنطقة القريبة من حدودهما عام 2009، وهو ما أدى إلى تفجُّر أزمة ترسيم الحدود في المياه الاقتصادية بينهما.

وتبلغ نسبة المساحة المتنازع عليها بحدود 850 كيلو متراً مربعاً، وكان الدبلوماسي الأمريكي، فريديريك هوف، قد اقترح في عام 2011 حلاً، جرى تسميته بـ "خط هوف"، يقوم على منح 58 بالمائة للبنان مقابل 42 بالمائة لإسرائيل، كما بدأ الطرفان، بناء على طلب الأمم المتحدة منذ عام 2010 مفاوضات لترسيم الحدود الاقتصادية، ولكنهما لم يتوصلا إلى صيغة توافقية بسبب اعتراضات "حزب الله".

وكان للولايات المتحدة الأمريكية دورٌ حاسمٌ في التوصل إلى اتفاق الإطار عبر إجراء محادثات دبلوماسية بين الطرفين استمرت أكثر من عامين وشملت ثمان جولات، وتأمُل الإدارة الأمريكية، حسب تصريحات وزير الخارجية مايك بومبيو، أن يتوصل الطرفان إلى اتفاق في غضون ستة أشهر ستقوم خلالها شركات من الجانبين بإجراء مسح زلزالي في المنطقة المتنازع عليها.

ويطمح لبنان، في حال نجاح المفاوضات، إلى البدء في الاستثمار في البلوكين 8 و9، حيث توقَّع نبيه بري، رئيس مجلس النواب اللبناني، أن يُسهِم الغاز المستخرج في تسديد ديون لبنان المتراكمة. أما بالنسبة لإسرائيل، فالهدف الاستراتيجي لها من الاتفاق يتمثل في الحد من مخاطر النشاطات العسكرية ضد منصات الغاز الإسرائيلية القريبة من الحدود اللبنانية.

دوافع "حزب الله" لقبول التفاوض

رغم أن الموافقة على التفاوض صدرت باسم لبنان الدولة، إلا أنه ليس سراً أن لبنان محكومٌ من قِبَل "حزب الله"، وأن الحزب هو مَنْ عطَّل المفاوضات لسنوات طويلة، وكان يَتهم كل من ينتقد موقفه بهذا الخصوص بالتفريط بالحقوق اللبنانية، رغم أن شروط التفاوض هي ذاتها التي تمت الموافقة عليها، ولكن بعد أن أضاع لبنان أموالاً كثيرة، حسب قول ديفيد شينكر، كان يمكن أن ترفد خزينته من عوائد تصدير الغاز. فما الذي دفع "حزب الله" إلى الموافقة أخيراً؟

في الواقع هناك جُملة من الأسباب، أهمها الآتي:

  • الوضع الاقتصادي اللبناني المتأزِّم، والنقد الذي يتعرض له "حزب الله" من كافة المكونات اللبنانية، وتحميله المسؤولية الكبرى عن تردي الأوضاع الاقتصادية.
  • ضغط حلفاء "حزب الله"، وخاصة "حركة أمل" و"التيار الوطني الحر"، على الحزب، بعد أن باتوا في مرمى العقوبات الأمريكية؛ فالذهاب إلى التفاوض مع إسرائيل ربما يدفع الإدارة الأمريكية إلى الغاء قوائم العقوبات التي باتت جاهزة بحق الكثير من الشخصيات التي تتعامل مع "حزب الله".
  • يمثل الاتفاق رسالة من "حزب الله" إلى اللبنانيين، بأنه يُضحِّي من أجل مصالحهم الاقتصادية، وأنه في الأصل انتظر كل هذه المدّة من أجل الحفاظ على مصلحة لبنان واللبنانيين عبر إصراره على تحسين شروط التفاوض.
  • تعويض اللبنانيين عن إفشال المبادرة الفرنسية التي كانت تمثل حلاً لأزمات لبنان السياسية والاقتصادية، ورداً على انتقادات الرئيس الفرنسي إيمانويل ماكرون، الذي اتهم الحزب بتخريب المبادرة، والقول له إن الحزب يملك خيارات أقوى.
  • الانحياز للمبادرة الأمريكية على حساب الفرنسية، لأنه من الأفضل لإيران و"حزب الله" إذا أرادا تقديم تنازلات، أن يقوما بذلك عن طريق البوابة الأمريكية ذات التأثير الأكبر في المنطقة. بالإضافة إلى حسابات إيران والحزب من أن الموافقة على التفاوض مع إسرائيل ستخفِّف من حجم هجوم واشنطن العقابي عليهما.

هل يُشكِّل الاتفاق بداية طريق السلام؟

أثار إعلان نبيه بري عن الاتفاق الإطاري مع إسرائيل، في اليوم الأول من أكتوبر الجاري، موجةً من الاستهجان في الأوساط اللبنانية، باعتبار أن موقعه لا يؤهله لمثل هذا الإعلان الذي من المفترض أنْ يصدُر عن رئيس الجمهورية، أو عن رئيس مجلس الوزراء. والمعلوم أن بري لا يتصرَّف دون تغطية من "حزب الله" صاحب التأثير الأكبر في السياسة اللبنانية؛ فهل كان الإعلانُ رسالةً للقوى الدولية الكبرى، وتحديداً الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، بأن لا شيء يمكن أن يسير في لبنان من دون موافقة "حزب الله"، أو أن ما يُوافق عليه "حزب الله" يُعتبر سارياً على لبنان كله؟ أم يمثل رسالة إيرانية للإدارة الأمريكية تؤكد جديتها في حلحلة الملفات الساخنة في المنطقة، وأنها عامل مساعد على الاستقرار؟ أم أن الاتفاق بمثابة عربون حُسْن نية تُقدِّمه إيران، التي تنتظر نتائج الانتخابات الأمريكية التي ستُجرى في مطلع نوفمبر المقبل، للإدارة المقبلة في واشنطن؟ أم أنه، وكما ذهب بعض القراءات، محاولة من قبل إيران و"حزب الله" لشراء الوقت إلى حين انتهاء جولة الانتخابات، وبعدها لكل حادث حديث؟

وإلى جانب تلك الأسئلة، فقد كان لافتاً أن رئيس مجلس النواب اللبناني استخدم مؤخراً لغةً جديدةً تقطع مع النبرة الأيديولوجية التي يتبناها المحور الذي يتبع له، فقد تحدَّث في بيانه عن إسرائيل، وليس "الكيان الصهيوني" أو "الاحتلال"، كما جرت العادة، وهذا تغيير استراتيجي وأيديولوجي كبير، إذ إنه يُضمِر بداخله اعترافاً بإسرائيل. فالاعتراف بالحدود هو اعتراف بوجود إسرائيل، التي طالما زايَدَ حلف الممانعة باختلافه عن بقية القوى الإقليمية بعدم اعترافه بإسرائيل. ولم يقتصر حديث بري على هذا التطور، بل انطوى على لغة جديدة تحدثت عن "المصالح المشتركة" و"تنمية الموارد" و"شعوب المنطقة"، وهي مصطلحات طالما اتهم الحلف الممانع مَنْ يتحدث بها على أنها مجرد شعارات لتغطية عملية التطبيع مع إسرائيل!

واللافت أيضاً أن هذا التطور قد تزامن مع تطورات أخرى تمثلت في انتشار قوّة عسكريّة من قوّات الطوارئ الدوليّة (يونيفيل) في بيروت ومنطقة المرفأ، وتوقعت مصادر لبنانية أن هذا الانتشار تمهيد لتمدّد قوّات الطوارئ نحو الحدودين الشرقيّة والبحريّة وإيكالها مهمّات مراقبة جديدة لمنع عمليّات التهريب، تحقيقاً للرغبة الأميركيّة التي تم الإعراب عنها إبّان مناقشة مجلس الأمن قرار التجديد لهذه القوّات في أغسطس الماضي وعدم استمرارها مقيّدة، وهو ما كان "حزب الله" يُعارِضه ويُحرِّض عليه.

ولعل أولى النتائج المحتملة للاتفاق، إلغاء "حزب الله" تهديده بالانتقام من مقتل أحد عناصره قُرْب دمشق، بل إن الأمر قد يتطور إلى تجميد "المقاومة" ضد إسرائيل، ذلك أن الاتفاق الذي سيتم التوصل إليه سيُكبِّل على الأرجح حركة الحزب، ليس في لبنان وحسب، وإنما في إطار المشروع الإيراني الهادف إلى محاصرة إسرائيل بجبهات عديدة من القنيطرة "السورية" إلى الناقورة" اللبنانية"، كما أنه سيُقوِّي أصوات المعارضة الداخلية لـ "حزب الله" التي تطالبه بتسليم سلاحه للدولة ضمن الاستراتيجية الدفاعية المتوافق عليها لبنانياً، طالما أن وظيفة "المقاومة" قد انتهت.

وعلاوة على ذلك، تأتي موافقة "حزب الله" على التفاوض مع إسرائيل في ظل ظروف صعبة يمر بها حلف الممانعة، حيث يشهد العراق تحولات مهمة باتجاه تجريد سلاح الميليشيات ودمجها ضمن أطر ومؤسسات الدولة العراقية، وكُشف عن مساع يقوم بها النظام السوري للتفاوض مع إسرائيل، في وقت تمر فيه إيران بأسوأ أزماتها الاقتصادية والسياسية والأمنية.

خُلاصة وتوقعات

على الأرجح، فإن كلاً من "حزب الله" وإيران قرَّرا الذهاب مباشرة إلى أولوياتهما الجيوسياسية، المتمثلة في إعادة ترتيب أوراقهما في المنطقة؛ فالصراع مع إسرائيل، لم يكن سوى طريق للسيطرة على منطقة المشرق العربي، ولممارسة الضغط على دول الخليج. واليوم، وتحت الضغط الذي يتعرَّض له هذا المحور والأزمات التي يَمُرّ بها، فإنه قد يبدو لقياداته أن من الأفضل حشد موارده باتجاه هدفه الكبير وحلمه الأثير المتمثلين بالسيطرة على الفضاءات الإقليمية التي أصبحت تحت نفوذيه الأمني والسياسي، وخاصة أن وظيفة الصراع مع إسرائيل في حشد واستقطاب الجمهور قد آتت أُكلها، وبات البعد الطائفي، في نظر الحزب، كافياً لشحن جماهيرهِ لسنوات طويلة.

ولا يعني ذلك أن زعيم "حزب الله"، حسن نصر الله، لن يخرج قريباً على الشاشات ليقول إن الاتفاق ليس سوى اتفاقاً موضعياً حول نقطة محدّدة ولا علاقة له بمشروع المقاومة، لكن من سيُصدِّق أن إسرائيل ولبنان اللذين سيرتبطان بمشاريع اقتصادية ومصالح مشتركة سيكون بينهما خلاف، على الأقل في السنوات العشر المقبلة، وهو وقت قد يكون كافياً ليعلو الصدأ سلاح "حزب الله".

أحدث الإيجازات

The US-mediated "framework agreement" that was reached between Lebanon and Israel regarding negotiation over the delimitation of the maritime boundaries, which was announced at the beginning of October 2020, raises a question about whether this agreement is a prelude to the emergence of new dynamics that would rearrange the regional scene and its equations, especially that the negotiation between the two parties would not be an abstract technical matter, but rather has geopolitical dimensions that may change the nature of the conflict in the region and turn the Lebanese-Israeli relations into a form of political agreement, which would have implications that contradict the reality that has prevailed for more than two decades on the boundaries of the two sides.

Negotiate what?

The issue of delineating the maritime boundaries between Lebanon and Israel constitutes the focus of the negotiations to be held on 14 October 2020, according to the assurances of the US Assistant Secretary of State for Near Eastern Affairs David Schenker, who will represent the US in the negotiations as a mediator. The maritime boundary crisis between the two sides dates back to the period that followed the discovery of huge stocks of oil and natural gas reserves in the area near their boundaries in 2009, which led to the outbreak of the boundary delineation crisis in the economic waters between them.

The disputed area is nearly 850 square kilometres. In 2011, the US diplomat Frederick Hoff had proposed a solution which came to be called the "Hoff Line", based on giving 58 percent to Lebanon and 42 percent to Israel. At the request of the UN, since 2010, the two sides have also initiated negotiations to demarcate the economic boundaries, but have not reached a consensual formula due to Hezbollah’s objections.

The US played a decisive role in reaching the framework agreement by conducting diplomatic talks between the two parties that lasted more than two years and included eight rounds. According to the statements of Secretary of State Mike Pompeo, the US administration hopes that the two parties reach an agreement within six months during which companies from both sides would conduct a seismic survey in the disputed area.

In the event of the success of the negotiations, Lebanon looks forward to starting to invest in Blocks 8 and 9. Nabih Berri, the Speaker of the Lebanese Parliament, expected that the extracted gas would contribute to the payment of Lebanon's accumulated debts. As for Israel, its strategic objective of the agreement is to reduce the risks of military activities against Israeli gas platforms close to the Lebanese boundaries.

Hezbollah’s motives for accepting the negotiations

While the agreement to negotiate was issued in the name of the state of Lebanon, it is not a secret that Lebanon is ruled by Hezbollah and that the latter obstructed negotiations for many years, accusing whoever criticises its position in this regard of giving up Lebanese rights, given that the conditions for negotiation are the same as the ones that were approved, only after Lebanon has wasted a lot of money, according to David Schenker, which could have supplied the Lebanese Treasury with gas export revenues. So, what prompted Hezbollah to finally agree?

In fact, there are a number of reasons, the most important of which are the following:

  • The troubled Lebanese economic situation, and the criticism that Hezbollah is exposed to from all Lebanese components whereby it is held responsible for the deteriorating economic conditions.
  • The pressure to which Hezbollah is exposed by its allies, especially the Amal (Hope) Movement and the Free Patriotic Movement, after they became in the crosshairs of US sanctions. Tending to negotiate with Israel might push the US administration to cancel the sanction lists that are now ready to be applied on many of the personalities who deal with Hezbollah.
  • The agreement constitutes a message from Hezbollah to the Lebanese that it sacrifices for their economic interests, and that it originally waited this long in order to preserve the interest of Lebanon and the Lebanese by insisting on improving the terms of negotiation.
  • Compensating the Lebanese for the failure of the French initiative which constituted a solution to Lebanon's political and economic crises, and in response to the criticism by French President Emmanuel Macron who accused Hezbollah of sabotaging the initiative, demonstrating to him that Hezbollah had stronger options.
  • Favouring the US initiative to the French one because it is better for the concessions, if any, made by Iran and Hezbollah to be through the gateway of the US that has the greatest influence in the region. In addition, according to the calculations of Iran and Hezbollah, agreeing to negotiate with Israel would reduce the scale of Washington's punitive attack on them.

Does the agreement constitute the beginning of the road to peace?

Nabih Berri's announcement of the framework agreement with Israel on 1 October 2020 sparked a wave of condemnation in Lebanese circles, considering that his position does not qualify him for such an announcement that is supposed to be issued by the President of the Republic or the Prime Minister. It is known that Berri does not act without the backing of Hezbollah, which has the greatest influence in Lebanese politics. Was the announcement a message to the major international powers, namely the US, that nothing can proceed in Lebanon without Hezbollah’s approval, or that what Hezbollah agrees to is considered valid for all of Lebanon? Or does it constitute an Iranian message to the US administration confirming Hezbollah’s seriousness in resolving the hot issues in the region, and that it is a catalyst for stability? Or is the agreement a sign of goodwill presented by Iran, which is awaiting the results of the US elections that will be held in early November 2020, to the next administration in Washington? Or is it, based on some readings, an attempt by Iran and Hezbollah to buy time until the end of the election round, after which they would re-consider a course of action accordingly?

In addition to those questions, it was noticeable that the Lebanese Parliament Speaker recently used a new language that breaks away with the ideological tone adopted by the axis to which he belongs. In his statement, he spoke about Israel, and not the "Zionist entity" or "the occupation", as is usual. This constitutes a major strategic and ideological change as it harbours recognition of Israel. The recognition of the borders is the recognition of the existence of Israel. The Resistance Alliance has always boasted its difference from the rest of the regional powers by not recognising Israel. Berri’s remarks were not limited to this development; it included a new language that spoke about “common interests”, “resource development”, and “the peoples of the region”. These are terms that the Resistance Alliance has often accused their users of raising slogans that only provide a cover-up for the process of normalisation with Israel.

It is also striking that this development coincided with other developments, namely the deployment of a military force from the United Nations Interim Force in Lebanon (UNIFIL) in Beirut and the port area. Lebanese sources expected that this deployment is a prelude to the expansion of the UNIFIL mandate towards the eastern and maritime borders and assigning it new monitoring tasks to prevent smuggling activities, in fulfilment of the US desire that was expressed during the discussion in the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) of the renewal of UNIFIL’s mandate in August 2020 and ending its restriction, which was opposed and incited against by Hezbollah.

Perhaps the first possible outcome of the agreement is Hezbollah’s renouncement of its threat to avenge the killing of one of its members near Damascus. Indeed, the matter may develop into freezing the “resistance” against Israel. The agreement that will be reached would most likely curtail Hezbollah’s movement, not only in Lebanon but also within the framework of the Iranian project that aims to besiege Israel on many fronts, from “Syrian” Quneitra to “Lebanese” Naqoura. It would also strengthen the voices of the internal opposition to Hezbollah that demand it to hand over its weapons to the state within the defence strategy agreed upon by the Lebanese, as long as the resistance function is over.

Moreover, Hezbollah’s approval to negotiate with Israel comes under difficult circumstances for the Resistance Alliance. Iraq is witnessing important shifts towards disarming the militias and integrating them into the frameworks and institutions of the Iraqi state. The Syrian regime is reported to make efforts to negotiate with Israel, even as Iran is going through its worst economic, political and security crises.

Conclusion and expectations

Both Hezbollah and Iran have most likely decided to pursue directly their geopolitical priorities of rearranging their cards in the region. The conflict with Israel was nothing but a way to control the Arab Orient region and put pressure on the Gulf states. Today, in light of the pressure exercised on this axis and the crises it is going through, it may seem to Hezbollah’s leaders that it is better to mobilise its resources towards its great goal and favourite dream of controlling the regional spaces that have come under its security and political influence, especially that the function of the conflict with Israel, which is to mobilise and polarise the public, has paid off. In the eyes of Hezbollah, the sectarian dimension has become sufficient to charge its audience for many years.

This does not mean that Hezbollah’s leader Hassan Nasrallah would not appear on TV to say that the agreement is nothing but a local agreement on a specific point and has nothing to do with the resistance project. But who would believe that Israel and Lebanon, both of which would be linked with economic projects and common interests, would have a disagreement between them, at least in the next decade, a time that may be enough for Hezbollah's weapons to rust?

Latest Briefs