برزت في الآونة الأخيرة مؤشرات على تزايُد وتيرة توثيق التعاون في المجال العسكري بين مصر والسودان، وشمل ذلك إجراء تدريبات عسكرية مشتركة، وتكثيف الاجتماعات والزيارات المتبادلة لقيادات ومسؤولي البلدين. وتُسلِّط هذه الورقة الضوء على دوافع كلٍّ من القاهرة والخرطوم لتعزيز تعاونهما العسكري في ظل المتغيرات المحلية والإقليمية الأخيرة.

مؤشرات التقارُب

رغم تَمتُّع البلدين بحدود برية يصل طولها إلى أكثر من 1000كم، لم يُنفِذ جيشا مصر والسودان تدريبات جوية مشتركة قبيل نوفمبر 2020، موعد انعقاد تدريبات "نسور النيل-1"[i]. وسَبَق هذه التدريبات بأسبوعين تقريباً قيام عبد الفتاح البُرهان رئيس مجلس السيادة والقائد العام للقوات المُسلحة السودانية بزيارة القاهرة ولقاء الرئيس المصري عبد الفتاح السيسي.

وعقب زيارة البرهان للقاهرة، قام رئيس الأركان المصري محمد فريد بزيارة السودان في مطلع نوفمبر ولقاء عدد من القيادات العسكرية السودانية، وأعرب خلال الزيارة عن توقعاته بحدوث "طفرة نوعية" في العلاقات العسكرية بين البلدين، وذَكر بالتحديد مجالي التدريب وتأمين الحدود، وجاء هذا في مؤتمر صحفي مشترك مع نظيره السوداني عثمان الحسين، وَصَف فيه الأخير نتائج المباحثات مع مصر بـ "المُذهلة"[ii]. كما شهدت تدريبات "سيف العرب" بمصر مُشاركة وحدات عسكرية سودانية إلى جانب قوات إماراتية وبحرينية وأردنية.  

الدوافع

يُمكن إرجاع زيادة وتيرة التقارب العسكري بين مصر والسودان خلال الآونة الأخيرة، إلى مجموعة الدوافع الآتية:

أولاً: دوافع الجانب المصري

1. التقارب السوداني-الإسرائيلي: جاءت الرغبة المصرية في تعزيز العلاقات العسكرية مع السودان عقب إعلان الأخير موافقته على إنهاء حالة العداء مع دولة إسرائيل في أكتوبر 2020، ويتحسب الجانب المصري من تضرر المصالح المصرية في المستقبل نتيجة لهذه الخطوة، سيما بعد إشارة رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي بنيامين نتنياهو ضمنياً إلى تأييد بلاده للسودان في نزاع الأخير مع مصر حول تبعية منطقة حلايب وشلاتين[iii]، ما تَبِعَه إعلان وزير الخارجية السوداني عُمر قمر الدين اتجاه حكومته بمطالبة مصر بـ "استرداد" منطقة حلايب دون قطع العلاقات الدبلوماسية معها[iv]. كما يخشى الجانب المصري من أن يُمهد التقارب السوداني الإسرائيلي إلى تمدد النفوذ العسكري الإسرائيلي في الجنوب من مصر، خاصةً مع احتلال المجال العسكري مرتبة متقدمة في العلاقات السودانية-الإسرائيلية، وشهد نوفمبر 2020 استقبال منظومة الصناعات الدفاعية السودانية بالخرطوم لوفد إسرائيلي ذي طابع أمني[v]، في خطوة تشير إلى استعداد القيادات العسكرية السودانية تعميق تعاونها مع نظيرتها الإسرائيلية.

2. التنافس الدولي على إنشاء قواعد عسكرية بحرية بالسودان: تسعى دول مُختلفة إلى امتلاك نفوذ بحري بمياه السودان في البحر الأحمر، وعلى رأسها دولة روسيا، حيث قام الرئيس الروسي فلاديمير بوتين في نوفمبر 2020 بالتوقيع على اتفاق كان قد توصَّل له مع الرئيس السوداني المخلوع عُمر البشير يقضي بإقامة مركز لوجستي عسكري روسي في مياه السودان على البحر الأحمر. وأعقب توقيع بوتين إعلان رئيس الأركان السوداني أن الاتفاق لا يزال "قيد الدراسة"[vi]. وكان البشير قد وقَّع أيضاً اتفاقاً في عام 2017 مع نظيره التركي رجب طيب أردوغان يقضي بتطوير تركيا لجزيرة سواكن السودانية بالبحر الأحمر، بما يشمل "بناء مرسى لاستخدام السفن المدنية والعسكرية"[vii]. فيما أعربت دول مثل ألمانيا وأثيوبيا عن رغبتها في استغلال ميناء بورتسودان تجارياً. وتتخوف القاهرة من تزايد احتمالات وجود قوى أجنبية بالقرب من مياهها الإقليمية بما قد يُشكَّل تهديداً مُحتملاً لها في المستقبل، وربما يكون هذا الاحتمال-إلى جانب عوامل أخرى-هو ما دَفع الجانب المصري إلى الإعلان في يناير 2020 عن تدشين "أكبر قاعدة عسكرية" بالبحر الأحمر وأفريقيا في منطقة برنيس القريبة من حدوده مع السودان[viii].

3. النزاع المصري-الأثيوبي حول مياه النيل: جاء تقارب الجيش المصري مع نظيره السوداني في إطار استهداف الأول تطوير علاقته بدول حوض النيل على خلفية التعثُّر المتكرر لمفاوضات ملء وتشغيل سد النهضة الأثيوبي، ونَشر الجيش المصري في ديسمبر 2020 خبراً يفيد بمناقشة قياداته -بحضور وزير الدفاع-لاستراتيجية جديدة للتعاون مع دول الحوض، بما يساهم في توفير الاحتياجات المائية لمصر[ix].

4. اتفاق السلام بين الجيش السوداني والحركات المُسلحة: يقضي اتفاق سلام جوبا بدمج الآلاف من قوات حركات الجبهة الثورية في صفوف الجيش السوداني، ضمن خطة أكبر تستهدف إعادة بناء الأخير عقائدياً وتنظيمياً؛ وتحاول القاهرة أن تبقى على مسافة قريبة من هذا الملف بما يحول دون أن يقود هذا التحول إلى توتير علاقتها بالجيش السوداني "الجديد". وبالفعل نجحت في أن تكون أحد الأطراف الضامنة لاتفاق السلام.

ثانياً: دوافع الجانب السوداني

1. الاستفادة من الخبرات الاقتصادية والصناعية للجيش المصري: يَطمح الجيش السوداني إلى الاستفادة من خبرات نظيره المصري في المجال الاقتصادي، سيما مع تزايد مطالب القوى السياسية السودانية بتقويض نفوذ الجيش اقتصادياً، في وقت يمر السودان بأزمة اقتصادية تصل حِدتها إلى صعوبة توفير سلع استراتيجية مثل الخُبز والدواء. وحصل السودان بالفعل على منحة من الجيش المصري تمثَّلت في عدة مخابز نصف آلية تنتج أعداداً كبيرة من الخبز[x]، كما وَقَّع وزير الدولة المصرية للإنتاج الحربي محمد مرسي على مذكرة تفاهُم لتطوير التعاون بين الهيئة القومية المصرية للإنتاج الحربي ومنظومة الصناعات الدفاعية السودانية في مختلف مجالات التصنيع وذلك خلال زيارة المعتصم عبد الله نائب مدير المنظومة السودانية للقاهرة في نوفمبر 2020[xi].

2. التعاون في قضايا الحدود: فضلاً عن الاعتبارات الأمنية والعسكرية، يرغب الجيش السوداني في فرض السيطرة على حركة تهريب السلع عبر حدوده الشمالية مع مصر، سيما مع ارتفاع في معدلات تهريب سِلع سودانية مثل الذهب والإبل، في وقت يعاني الاقتصاد السوداني من نقصٍ كبيرٍ في مخزون العملات الأجنبية، وهو ما دفع الجيش السوداني للاتفاق مع الجانب المصري في نوفمبر 2020 إلى إعادة تسيير دوريات عسكرية وأمنية مشتركة في المناطق الحدودية[xii]. ويُمكن أيضاً تفسير تركيز "نسور النيل-1" على النواحي الجوية في هذا الإطار؛ إذ شارك بالتدريبات طائرات بحث وإنقاذ ووحدات من القوات الخاصة. ويتمتع الجيشان بدرجة من التناغم العسكري في هذا السياق بسبب امتلاكهما طائرات روسية الصنع شاركت بالتدريبات[xiii]. ويُذكَر أن قائد قوات الدفاع الجوية السوداني عبد الخير عبد الله قام بزيارة مصر في نوفمبر الفائت، والتقى خلال الزيارة بنظيره المصري علي فهمي بهدف بحث سُبل تطوير التعاون بين الجانبين[xiv].

3. تَجنُّب توتير العلاقات مع مصر: جاءت تدريبات "نسور النيل-1" بناء على طلب رئيس أركان الجيش المصري بحسب نائب رئيس هيئة الأركان المشتركة للجيش السوداني عبد الله البشير[xv]، ويُمكن تفسير الاستجابة السودانية السريعة لهذا الطلب برغبة الجيش السوداني عدم توتير علاقته بدول الجوار خلال المرحلة الانتقالية. وتملك مصر على وجه التحديد عدة أوراق يُمكن لها التأثير على الأوضاع الداخلية السودانية، إذ تملك علاقات جيدة ببعض الحركات المُسلحة بدارفور، وسبق أن اتهمت حكومة السودان في عام 2017 نظيرتها المصرية بدعم حركات في دارفور بالسلاح، وهو ما نَفَته القاهرة حينها[xvi]، بينما توجد قوات مصرية حالياً ضمن بعثة حفظ السلام "يوناميد". كما تجدر الإشارة إلى إقامة بعض القيادات العسكرية والأمنية السودانية السابقة بالقاهرة في الوقت الحالي.

4. موازنة العلاقات مع أثيوبيا: يرغب الجيش السوداني في كسب دعم أطراف إقليمية مثل مصر في تحركاته على الجبهة الأثيوبية بالتزامُن مع تصاعد النزاع العسكري بين القوات الحكومية الأثيوبية وقوات تحرير شعب تيغراي، حيث يحاول الجيش السوداني انتهاز فرصة النزاع لإعادة فرض سيطرته على أراضي منطقة الفشقة المتنازع عليها مع الجانب الأثيوبي.

وعلاوة على ما سبق، يَجمَع الجانبين المصري والسوداني اهتمامٌ مُشتركٌ بتطورات النزاع الليبي والتعاون في مجال مكافحة الحركات الإسلامية المتطرفة، وتنشط حالياً بالفعل قوات حكومية سودانية في مكافحة التسلل عبر حدود البلاد مع ليبيا، بينما أشارت تقارير أممية إلى مُشاركة حركات مُسلحة سودانية بقوات عسكرية في النزاع الليبي، في الوقت الذي تدعم القاهرة قوات "الجيش الوطني الليبي" بقيادة خليفة حفتر.

خلاصة

عقب تزايد حِدة التنافس الدولي والإقليمي على تعميق الوجود العسكري بالسودان؛ وَظَّف الجانب المصري اهتمام نظيره السوداني بقضايا ضبط الحدود ومعالجة الأزمة الاقتصادية في تعميق التعاون العسكري بينهما، واستجاب السودان للرغبة المصرية بتعميق التعاون بهدف تجنُّب توتير علاقته مع القاهرة، فضلاً عن استثمار التعاون في ممارسة أدوار إقليمية أكبر من الأدوار الحالية، خاصة مع رغبة الجيش السوداني في استعادة سيطرته على المناطق الحدودية المُتنازع عليها مع دولة أثيوبيا.

الهوامش

[i] "نسور النيل-1: أول تدريب جوي مشترك بين جيشي مصر والسودان"، 14/11/2020، مُتاح على الرابط: https://bit.ly/2LkBfA0

[ii] "رئيس أركان الجيش السوداني: توصلنا لنتائج مذهلة خلال زيارة الوفد المصري"، 1/11/2020، مُتاح على الرابط: https://bit.ly/2LfW13D

[iii] ظهر رئيس الحكومة الإسرائيلية بنيامين نتنياهو في أكتوبر 2020 وخلفه خريطة للسودان تضمنت منطقة حلايب وشلاتين، انظر الرابط: https://www.alsudaninews.com/ar/?p=96854

[iv] "وزير الخارجية يُدلي بتصريحات هامة حول حلايب"، 30/10/2020، مُتاح على الرابط: https://www.sudanakhbar.com/852514

[v] "مجلس السيادة في السودان: وفد إسرائيلي زار منظومة الصناعات الدفاعية في الخرطوم"، 29/11/2020، مُتاح على الرابط: https://bit.ly/3lYnNOL

[vi] "الجيش السوداني يوضح حقيقة الاتفاق مع روسيا بشأن إقامة قاعدة عسكرية"، 19/11/2020، مُتاح على الرابط: https://www.sudanakhbar.com/864855

[vii] "جزيرة سواكن: ما مصير الاتفاق التركي السوداني حولها بعد الإطاحة بالبشير؟"، 22/4/2019، مُتاح على الرابط: https://www.bbc.com/arabic/middleeast-42522494

[viii] "قاعدة برنيس العسكرية .. ما الهدف الاستراتيجي لمصر؟"، 16/1/2020، مُتاح على الرابط: https://bit.ly/2JNAj6D

[ix] "وزير الدفاع يشهد مناقشة بحث حول "تفعيل الدور المصري مع دول حوض النيل""، 30/11/2020، مُتاح على الرابط: https://www.almasryalyoum.com/news/details/2100474

[x]  "مصر ترسل الرحلة الخامسة من "هدية المخابز" إلى السودان، 6/10/2020، مُتاح على الرابط: https://bit.ly/3gtt67D

[xi] "توقيع مذكرة تفاهم بين الإنتاج الحربي و"الصناعات الدفاعية" السودانية في مختلف مجالات التصنيع"، 20/11/2020، مُتاح على الرابط: https://bit.ly/37M2pr1

[xii] "إعادة تسيير دوريات حدودية مشتركة بين مصر والسودان"، 1/11/2020، مُتاح على الرابط: https://bit.ly/36ZTW4t

[xiii] "الخرطوم والقاهرة تختتمان تدريباً عسكرياً جوياً في السودان"، 20/11/2020، مُتاح على الرابط: https://rakobanews.com/sudan-news/political/43696/

[xiv] "وفد عسكري سوداني رفيع المستوى يختتم زيارته لمصر بعد لقاء قائد الدفاع الجوي"، 14/11/2020، مُتاح على الرابط: https://bit.ly/34kD5HK

[xv] "السودان: مسؤول رفيع يكشف تفاصيل جديدة عن مناورات "نسور النيل""، 18/11/2020، مُتاح على الرابط: https://alintibaha.net/online/57705/

[xvi] "البشير: جيشنا صادر مركبات مصرية مدرعة في دارفور"، 23/11/2017، مُتاح على الرابط: https://cnn.it/3m0FOfr

 

أحدث الإيجازات

Signs of an increase in the pace of closer cooperation in the military field between Egypt and Sudan have recently emerged, including conducting joint military exercises and intensifying meetings and mutual visits of leaders and officials of the two countries. This paper sheds light on the motives of both Cairo and Khartoum to enhance their military cooperation in the light of the recent local and regional developments.

Indicators of rapprochement

While the two countries share land borders of more than 1,000 km, the Egyptian and Sudanese armies did not carry out joint air exercises before November 2020, the date of the Nile Eagles-1 exercises.[1] Nearly two weeks before those exercises, Abdel Fattah al-Burhan, Chairman of the Sovereignty Council and Commander-in-Chief of the Sudanese Armed Forces, visited Cairo and met with Egyptian President Abdel Fattah el-Sisi.

After al-Burhan's visit to Cairo, the Egyptian Chief of Staff Mohammad Farid visited Sudan in early November 2020 and met with a number of Sudanese military leaders. During the visit, he expressed his expectations of a "qualitative leap" in the military relations between the two countries. He specifically mentioned the fields of training and border security. In a joint press conference with his Sudanese counterpart Othman al-Hussein, the latter described the results of the talks with Egypt as "amazing".[2] The Sword of Arabs exercises in Egypt also witnessed the participation of Sudanese military units, along with Emirati, Bahraini and Jordanian forces.

Motives

The recent increase in the pace of military rapprochement between Egypt and Sudan could be attributed to the following set of motives:

First: the motives of the Egyptian side

  1. The Sudanese-Israeli rapprochement: the Egyptian desire to strengthen military relations with Sudan came after the latter announced its agreement to end the state of hostility with the State of Israel in October 2020. The Egyptian side anticipates that Egyptian interests would be harmed in the future as a result of this step, especially after Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu implicitly indicated his country's support for Sudan in the latter's dispute with Egypt over the sovereignty over the Halayeb and Shalateen region,[3] which was followed by the announcement by Sudanese Foreign Minister Omar Qamar al-Din that his government intends to demand from Egypt to "recover" the Halayeb region without severing diplomatic relations with it.[4] The Egyptian side also fears that the Sudanese-Israeli rapprochement would pave the way for the expansion of the Israeli military influence in the south of Egypt, especially with the assumption by the military field of an advanced level in Sudanese-Israeli relations. In November 2020, the Sudanese Defence Industries System in Khartoum received an Israeli delegation of a security nature,[5] in a step that indicates the willingness of the Sudanese military leaders to deepen their cooperation with their Israeli counterparts.
  2. The international competition to establish naval military bases in Sudan: various countries seek to enjoy maritime influence in the waters of Sudan in the Red Sea, especially Russia, given that Russian President Vladimir Putin signed in November 2020 an agreement that he had reached with the ousted Sudanese President Omar al-Bashir stipulating the establishment of a Russian military logistics centre in Sudan's waters in the Red Sea. Putin's signature was followed by the Sudanese Chief of Staff's announcement that the agreement was "still under study".[6] Al-Bashir had also signed an agreement in 2017 with his Turkish counterpart Recep Tayyip Erdogan stipulating the development by Turkey of Suakin (also Sawakin) Island in the Red Sea, including "the construction of a berth for the use of civilian and military ships".[7] On the other hand, countries such as Germany and Ethiopia have expressed their desire to use Port Sudan for commercial purposes. Cairo fears the increasing possibilities of the presence of foreign powers near its territorial waters, which may constitute a potential threat to it in the future. This possibility – along with other factors – may be what prompted the Egyptian side to announce in January 2020 the launch of the "largest military base" in the Red Sea and Africa in the Barnis region near its border with Sudan.[8]
  3. The Egyptian-Ethiopian dispute over the Nile waters: the rapprochement of the Egyptian army with its Sudanese counterpart came within the framework of the former’s aim of developing its relationship with the Nile Basin countries against the backdrop of the repeated stumbling of negotiations on filling and operating the Ethiopian Renaissance Dam. In December 2020, the Egyptian army released a media report that its leaders were discussing – in the presence of the Minister of Defence – a new strategy for cooperation with the countries of the Basin, which would contribute to the provision of Egypt’s water needs.[9]
  4. The peace agreement between the Sudanese army and the armed movements: the Juba Peace Agreement provides for the integration of thousands of the forces of the Sudan Revolutionary Front (SRF) movements into the ranks of the Sudanese army, as part of a larger plan aimed at rebuilding the latter in terms of both doctrine and organisation. Cairo seeks to keep close to this issue to prevent this shift from straining its relationship with the "new" Sudanese army. Indeed, it succeeded in being one of the guarantors of the peace agreement.

Second: the motives of the Sudanese side

  1. Benefiting from the economic and industrial experiences of the Egyptian army: the Sudanese army aspires to benefit from the expertise of its Egyptian counterpart in the economic field, especially with the increasing demands by the Sudanese political forces to undermine the army’s influence economically, at a time when Sudan is going through such an acute economic crisis that it is difficult to provide strategic goods such as bread and medicine. Sudan has already obtained a grant from the Egyptian army in the form of several semi-automatic bakeries that produce large numbers of bread.[10] The Egyptian Minister of State for Military Production Mohamed Morsi has also signed a memorandum of understanding to develop cooperation between the Egyptian National Organisation for Military Production and the Sudanese Defence Industries System in various fields of manufacturing during the visit of Al-Mutasim Abdullah, Deputy Director of the Sudanese System, to Cairo in November 2020.[11]
  2. Cooperation on border issues: in addition to security and military considerations, the Sudanese army seeks to put an end to the smuggling of goods across its northern borders with Egypt, especially with the increase in smuggling rates of Sudanese goods such as gold and camels, even as the Sudanese economy suffers from a major shortage of foreign currency reserves. This prompted the Sudanese army to agree with the Egyptian side in November 2020 to re-conduct joint military and security patrols in the border areas.[12] The focus of the Nile Eagles-1 on the aerial aspects could also be interpreted in this context, given that search and rescue aircraft and special forces units took part in the exercises. The two armies enjoy a degree of military harmony in this context due to their possession of Russian-made aircraft that participated in the exercises.[13] It is noteworthy that the commander of the Sudanese Air Defence Forces Abdel Khair Abdallah visited Egypt in November 2020. During the visit, he met his Egyptian counterpart Ali Fahmy to discuss ways of developing cooperation between the two sides.[14]
  3. Avoiding straining relations with Egypt: according to Abdallah al-Bashir, Deputy Chief of Staff of the Sudanese Army, the Nile Eagles-1 exercises were carried out at the request of the Egyptian Army Chief of Staff.[15] The prompt Sudanese response to this request could be explained by the Sudanese army’s desire to avoid straining its relationship with neighbouring countries during the transitional phase. Egypt in particular holds several cards that could affect the internal situation, given that it maintains good relations with some armed movements in Darfur. In 2017, the government of Sudan had accused its Egyptian counterpart of supporting movements in Darfur with weapons, which was denied by Cairo at the time.[16] On the other hand, Egyptian forces are currently deployed within the African Union-United Nations Hybrid Mission in Darfur (UNAMID) peacekeeping mission. It should also be noted that some former Sudanese military and security leaders presently reside in Cairo.
  4. Balancing relations with Ethiopia: the Sudanese army seeks to gain the support of regional actors such as Egypt in its moves on the Ethiopian front in conjunction with the escalation of the military conflict between the Ethiopian government forces and the forces of the Tigray People’s Liberation Front (TPLF). The Sudanese army seeks to seize the opportunity of the dispute to re-impose its control over the territories of the Al-Fashaqa region that is disputed with the Ethiopian side.

In addition to the above, the Egyptian and Sudanese sides share a common interest in the developments of the Libyan conflict and cooperation in the field of combating extremist Islamist movements. Currently, Sudanese government forces are already active in combating infiltration across the country's borders with Libya. On the other hand, UN reports have referred to the participation of Sudanese armed movements with military forces in the Libyan dispute, even as Cairo supports the forces of the Libyan National Army (LNA) led by Khalifa Haftar.

Conclusion

Following the intensification of international and regional competition to deepen the military presence in Sudan, the Egyptian side employed its Sudanese counterpart’s interest in border control issues and addressing the economic crisis for deepening military cooperation between them. Sudan responded to the Egyptian desire to deepen cooperation in order to avoid straining its relationship with Cairo, as well as benefit from the cooperation in the exercise of regional roles greater than the current ones, especially in the light of the Sudanese army’s desire to regain control over the disputed border areas with the state of Ethiopia.

References

[1] “Nile Eagles-1: the first joint air training between the armies of Egypt and Sudan”, 14 November 2020. Available at: https://bit.ly/2LkBfA0

[2] “Sudanese Army Chief of Staff: we reached amazing results during the Egyptian delegation’s visit”, 1 November 2020. Available at: https://bit.ly/2LfW13D

[3] Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu appeared in October 2020 with a map of Sudan behind him that included the Halayeb and Shalateen region. See the link: https://www.alsudaninews.com/ar/?p=96854

[4] “The foreign minister makes important statements about Halayeb”, 30 October 2020. Available at: https://www.sudanakhbar.com/852514  

[5] “Sovereignty Council in Sudan: an Israeli delegation visited the defence industries system in Khartoum”, 29 November 2020. Available at: https://bit.ly/3lYnNOL  

[6] “The Sudanese army clarifies the truth of the agreement with Russia regarding the establishment of a military base”, 19 November 2020. Available at: https://www.sudanakhbar.com/864855   

[7] “Suakin Island: what will happen to the Turkish-Sudanese agreement regarding it after the overthrow of Al-Bashir?”, 22 April 2019. Available at: https://www.bbc.com/arabic/middleeast-42522494

[8] “The Barnis military base: what is Egypt’s strategic goal?”, 16 January 2020. Available at: https://bit.ly/2JNAj6D

[9] “The Minister of Defence attends the discussion of a research on ‘activating the Egyptian role with the Nile Basin countries’”, 30 November 2020. Available at: https://www.almasryalyoum.com/news/details/2100474

[10] “Egypt sends the fifth flight of the ‘bakery gift’ to Sudan”, 6 October 2020. Available at: https://bit.ly/3gtt67D

[11] “A memorandum of understanding signed between the Military Production and the Sudanese ‘Defence Industries’ in various fields of manufacturing”, 20 November 2020. Available at: https://bit.ly/37M2pr1

[12] “Joint border patrols re-conducted between Egypt and Sudan”, 1 November 2020. Available at: https://bit.ly/36ZTW4t

[13] “Khartoum and Cairo conclude military air training in Sudan”, 20 November 2020. Available at: https://rakobanews.com/sudan-news/political/43696/

[14] “A high-ranking Sudanese military delegation concludes its visit to Egypt after meeting the air defence commander”, 14 November 2020. Available at: https://bit.ly/34kD5HK

[15] “Sudan: a senior official reveals new details about the ‘Nile Eagles’ manoeuvres”, 18 November 2020. Available at: https://alintibaha.net/online/57705/

[16] “Al-Bashir: our army confiscated Egyptian armoured vehicles in Darfur”, 23 November 2017. Available at: https://cnn.it/3m0FOfr  

 

Latest Briefs