أُعلن في جمهورية كوت ديفوار (ساحل العاج) يوم 8 يوليو 2020 عن وفاة رئيس الحكومة أمادو غون كوليبالي، الذي كان المرشح الأبرز لخلافة رئيس الجمهورية الحالي الحسن واتارا في الانتخابات المقرر عقدها في أكتوبر 2020. وقد شكل رحيل كوليبالي المفاجئ لحظةَ تحول كبرى في المشهد السياسي في هذا البلد الذي يشكل محور منطقة غرب أفريقيا اقتصادياً واستراتيجياً، بما يقتضي استشراف آفاق الوضع السياسي في ساحل العاج في أفق الانتخابات الرئاسية المقررة بعد ثلاثة شهور.

المسار السياسي في كوت ديفوار

عَرفت كوت ديفوار مرحلةً طويلة من الاستقرار السياسي والرفاهية الاقتصادية في عهد رئيسها الأول فيليكس هوفيت بوانيي الذي حكم البلاد منذ استقلالها عام 1960 وحتى رحيله نهاية عام 1991. ويمكن تفسير خصوصية النموذج الإيفواري في عاملين أساسيين هما:

  1. ثراء البلد وتنوع موارده الطبيعية المتمحورة حول زراعة البن والكاكاو، واستمراره في أداء دور قاطرة الحركة الاقتصادية والمالية في غرب أفريقيا، وهو الدور الذي رسمه لها الاستعمار الفرنسي وحافظ عليه الرئيس بوانيي الذي كان رجل فرنسا الأول في أفريقيا وعميد الرؤساء الأفارقة المعروف بحكمته وبُعد نظره.
  2. استقطاب الرأسمال الغربي الخاص والعمالة الأفريقية من كل دول المنطقة، إلى حد أن ربع السكان في الثمانينيات كان من مواطني الدول الأفريقية المجاورة، في الوقت الذي تحولت العاصمة الاقتصادية لكوت ديفوار (أبيدجان) إلى العاصمة الاقتصادية الفعلية لكل منطقة غرب أفريقيا.

وقد هيَّأ بوانيي لخلافته اثنين من أبرز معاونيه هما: هنري كونان بدييه، وزير ماليته الأسبق ورئيس البرلمان المنحدر من نفس وسطه الإثني (قبائل الباوليه التي تشكل ربع سكان البلاد)؛ والحسن واتارا، الاقتصادي البارز الذي عمل نائباً لرئيس صندوق النقد الدولي قبل أن يصبح رئيساً للحكومة.
ورغم التباين في تفسير مواد الدستور، استطاع رئيس البرلمان بدييه فرض نفسه لخلافة الرئيس بوانيي رغم اعتراض رئيس الحكومة واتارا، كما نجح في الانتخابات المنظمة عام 1995 التي منع واتارا من المشاركة فيها بذريعة عدم انتمائه الأصلي للهوية الإيفوارية، كما منع من خوضها المعارض اليساري لوران غباغبو الذي واجه الرئيس الراحل بوانيي في أول انتخابات تعددية عرفتها البلاد عام 1990. إلا أن نجاح بدييه تسبب في أزمة سياسية حادة عرفتها ساحل العاج أفضت في 24 ديسمبر 1999 إلى انقلاب عسكري قاده الجنرال "روبرت غي".

وفي أكتوبر 2000 نُظمت انتخابات رئاسية شارك فيها الجنرال غي ولوران غباغبو، ومُنع فيها من الترشح الزعيمان بدييه وواتارا، أفْضت بعد فتنة دموية إلى إعلان نجاح غباغبو. إلا أن الحرب الأهلية اندلعت في ساحل العاج ما بين 2002 و2007 إثر قيام حركة تمرد عسكري في شمال ووسط البلاد سيطرت على 60 بالمائة من المساحة الإجمالية للدولة بقيادة الزعيم النقابي الطلابي "غيوم سورو" المدعوم من بوركينا فاسو المجاورة. وبعد تدخل عسكري فرنسي، ومحاولات متواصلة للتسوية السلمية وقَّعت الأطراف المتحاربة في عام 2007 اتفاقية سلام في واغادوغو، عاصمة بوركينا فاسو، نتج عنها تعيين قائد حركة التمرد غيوم سورو رئيساً للحكومة إلى حين تنظيم انتخابات رئاسية شاملة.

وفي 31 أكتوبر 2010 نُظمت الانتخابات الرئاسية التي شارك فيها الزعماء السياسيون الثلاثة، فانتهت بوصول الرئيس غباغبو والحسن واتارا إلى الجولة الثانية، في حين دعم بدييه وسورو الرئيس الحالي واتارا. ومع أن غباغبو أعلن فوزه في الانتخابات في ديسمبر 2010، متسبباً في أزمة سياسية ودستورية حادة إلا أنه اعتُقل في 11 أبريل 2011، وتم تنصيب واتارا رئيساً البلاد قبل أن يُسلم غباغبو للمحكمة الجنائية الدولية بتهم ارتكاب جرائم ضد الإنسانية. وقد أعيد انتخاب واتارا عام 2015 بنسبة مرتفعة في الجولة الأولى، بيد أن الحلف الذي ربطه ببدييه وسورو اِنهار، في الوقت الذي برّأت فيه المحكمة الجنائية الدولية خصمه غباغبو، وإن كان لا يزال مقيماً في بروكسل لأن المدعية العامة للمحكمة تعترض على إطلاق سراحه، في حين أنه صدر بحقه في بلاده حكمٌ قضائي بالسجن عشرين عاماً.

السياق السياسي للانتخابات الرئاسية

تُنظم الانتخابات الرئاسية المقبلة في سياق يتسم بالعودة إلى مربع الأزمة الأصلية التي اندلعت منذ 1995، بعد رحيل الزعيم المؤسِّس هوفيت بوانيي. وهكذا ستتواجه نفس الوجوه التي احتكرت المشهد السياسي خلال العشرين سنة الأخيرة، وهي:

  1. الرئيس الحسن واتارا (78 سنة): الذي استطاع إصلاح الأوضاع الاقتصادية في البلاد، وحقق لها عقداً كاملاً من الاستقرار السياسي. ومع أنه أعلن مرات عديدة أنه قد يضطر للترشح عندما يتقدم مرشحون بارزون من جيله (يعني هنا أساساً الرئيس الأسبق بدييه)، إلا أنه يبدو أن رأيه استقر على ترشيح رئيس حكومته كوليبالي المنحدر من الشمال المسلم، والذي يحظى بشعبية واسعة في الأوساط السياسية والمالية. إلا أن رحيل كوليبالي المفاجئ قد يضطره للترشح، وهو ما ألمح إليه في عدة تصريحات في الأسابيع الأخيرة. وقد بدأت فعلاً أصوات كثيرة من داخل حزبه "تجمع الهوفوتيين من أجل الديمقراطية والسلم" تدعو إلى ترشحه للسباق الرئاسي.
  2. هنري كونان بدييه (86 سنة): مرشح "الحزب الديمقراطي الإيفواري"، ورئيس الجمهورية الأسبق الذي دعم الرئيس واتارا في عهدتيه السابقتين قبل أن ينشق عنه. ويحظى بدييه بشعبية قوية في وسطه الإثني (الباوليه) وفي الجنوب والشرق، كما أنه قد يستفيد من دعم قاعدة الرئيس السابق غباغبو في حال عدم قبول ترشيحه.
  3. لوران غباغبو (75 سنة): زعيم "الجبهة الشعبية الإيفوارية"، ويطمح إلى العودة لبلاده والمشاركة في الانتخابات الرئاسية القادمة. وهو يبذل جهوداً واسعة، داخلية ودولية، من أجل تطبيع وضعه السياسي، ودخول السباق الانتخابي وإن كان احتمال مشاركته ضعيفاً للغاية.
  4. غيوم سورو (48 سنة): زعيم الحركة الطلابية وحركة التمرد العسكري، ورئيس الحكومة والبرلمان سابقاً. أعلن ترشحه للرئاسيات، وقرر العودة إلى بلاده بعد سنوات من اللجوء الاختياري، إلا أن السلطات الإيفوارية أصدرت مذكرة اعتقال دولية ضده، وحكمت عليه بالسجن عشرين سنة في ملف أمني ومالي، ولا يزال في المنفى وإن كان يؤكد استمراره في الترشح وعزمه العودة إلى بلاده. ولسورو علاقات واسعة داخل كوت ديفوار وخارجها، وله صلة قوية بالرئيس البوركينابي السابق بليز كومباوري.

وبالإضافة إلى هؤلاء الزعماء الأربعة المعروفين يتردد اسمُ وزير الخارجية السابق "مارسيل أمون تانو"، الذي كان يطمح لأن يرشحه الرئيس واتارا لخلافته، ووزير الدفاع الحالي حامد باكايوكو الذي يتولى بالإنابة مسؤوليات رئيس الحكومة الراحل.

التوقعات بالنسبة لانتخابات الرئاسة المقبلة

يُتوقع فوز الرئيس الحالي الحسن واتارا في حال ترشحه للانتخابات الرئاسية المقررة في أكتوبر المقبل، وإنْ كان نجاحه سيسبب أزمةً سياسية حادة قد تُفضي إلى قلاقل واضطرابات داخلية تعيد كوت ديفوار إلى مشهد الاحتقان، نظراً لما يؤدي إليه الانقسام السياسي من صراع إثني ديني متشعب.

ومع ترجيح إقصاء غباغبو وسورو من السباق الرئاسي، تبقى لبدييه بعض الحظوظ في حال توطيد التحالف مع الزعيمَين المبعدين. وقد تتعزز هذه الحظوظ في حال تنظيم جولة ثانية من الانتخابات، بيد أن غياب مرشحين آخرين أقوياء يُضعف من نسبة هذا الاحتمال.

أحدث الإيجازات

On July 8, 2020, the Republic of Côte d’Ivoire (also known as the Ivory Coast) announced the death of Prime Minister Amadou Gon Coulibaly, who was the favorite to succeed President Alassane Ouattara in the elections scheduled for October 2020. Coulibaly’s sudden death marks a major turning point in the political landscape of West Africa’s economic and strategic hub, and calls for an assessment of the political horizon in Côte d’Ivoire in the run-up to the presidential elections.

The political process in Côte d’Ivoire

Côte d’Ivoire enjoyed a long period of political stability and economic prosperity under its first president, Felix Houphouet-Boigny, who led the country from independence in 1960 until his death at the end of 1991. The distinctiveness of the Ivorian model lies in two main factors:

  1. The country’s wealth and diverse natural resources: Côte d’Ivoire is a major coffee and cocoa producer and remains West Africa’s economic and financial driving force, a role carved out for it under French colonization and preserved by Boigny, who was France’s top man in Africa and leader among African heads of State, known for his wisdom and foresight.
  2. Attraction of private Western capital and of labor from across Africa: The country proved such a magnet for African labor that in the 1980s, as Abidjan was becoming the economic capital not only of Côte d’Ivoire but of the whole of West Africa, a quarter of the population were citizens of neighboring African countries.

Boigny prepared to two of his most prominent supporters, Henri Konan Bedie and Alassane Ouattara, to succeed him. Bedie is a former Minister of Finance and ex‑President of the National Assembly, and is from the same ethnic group as Boigny (the Baoule, who make up a quarter of the country’s population), and Alassane Ouattara is a leading economist who worked as Deputy Managing Director of the International Monetary Fund before becoming Prime Minister.

Although interpretations of the Constitution differed, National Assembly leader Bedie managed to impose himself as Boigny’s successor, despite Ouattara’s objections. He went on to win the 1995 elections, from which he barred both Ouattara – on the pretext that he was not of Ivorian origin – and his left-wing opponent Laurent Gbagbo, who had run against the late President Boigny in 1990 in the country’s first ever multi-party elections. Bedie’s success, however, created an acute political crisis that culminated in a military coup led by General Robert Guei on December 24, 1999.

General Guei and Gbagbo took part in the October 2000 presidential elections, from which Bedie and Ouattara were excluded, and after a bloody revolt, Gbagbo was declared the winner. In 2002, civil war broke out when a military rebel movement in north and central  Côte d’Ivoire, led by student union leader Guillaume Soro with support from neighboring Burkina Faso, seized control of 60% of the country. After French military intervention and successive attempts at a peaceful settlement, the warring parties signed a peace agreement in 2007 in Ouagadougou, capital of Burkina Faso, which saw rebel leader Soro appointed as Prime Minister until inclusive presidential elections were held.

Bedie, Gbagbo, and Ouattara competed for the presidency in the first round of elections on October 31, 2010. Failing at the first hurdle, Bedie, along with Soro, threw his support behind Ouattara, who made it through to the second round with Gbagbo. On December 2, the Ivorian Electoral Commission declared Ouattara the winner, but the Constitutional Council  overturned the result the next day in favor of Gbagbo, triggering a serious political and constitutional crisis. Gbagbo was arrested on April 11, 2011 and was handed over to the International Criminal Court for crimes against humanity once Ouattara had been inaugurated as President. Ouattara won a landslide victory in the first round of the 2015 presidential elections, avoiding a run-off; however, his alliance with Bedie and Soro broke down. Côte d'Ivoire issued a 20‑year prison sentence against Gbagbo, who was acquitted by the International Criminal Court in January 2019 and has since been living in Brussels under conditional release.

Political context of the presidential elections

The upcoming presidential elections are being held in a repeat of the original crisis that flared up in 1995 after the death of the founding leader Boigny, and will therefore be fought out by the same faces that have dominated the political scene over the last two decades, namely:

  1. Alassane Ouattara (78 years old): The current President, he fixed the country’s economy and achieved a full decade of political stability. Although he had said on several occasions that he might have to run if the front-runners were from his generation (mainly referring to Bedie), he seemed to have decided to nominate Prime Minister Coulibaly, who came from the Muslim north of the country and enjoyed broad popularity in political and financial circles. However, several statements made in recent weeks have hinted that Coulibaly’s death may indeed force him to run, and in fact, many within his umbrella party, Rally of Houphouetists for Democracy and Peace, have started calling for him to contend in the presidential race.
  2. Henri Konan Bedie (86 years old): The candidate for the Democratic Party of Côte d'Ivoire is a former president and had supported Ouattara during his two previous terms before breaking ties with him. Bedie has strong support from his fellow Baoule and in the south and east of the country, and could also benefit from former president Gbagbo’s support base, if he is not nominated.
  3. Laurent Gbagbo (75 years old): The Ivorian Popular Front leader hopes to return to his country and run in the upcoming presidential elections. He is working hard – at home and abroad – to normalize his political position and enter the electoral race, although it is highly unlikely that he will compete.
  4. Guillaume Soro (48 years old): The leader of the student and the military rebel movements, ex-Prime Minister, and former National Assembly President, he has announced his decision to run in the presidential elections and return to Côte d’Ivoire after years of self-imposed exile. However, the Ivorian authorities have issued an international arrest warrant against him, and have sentenced him to 20 years in prison on security- and finance-related charges. He remains in exile but has stressed that he still intends to run and is determined to return home. Soro has close ties in Côte d’Ivoire and abroad and a strong connection with the former President of Burkina Faso, Blaise Compaore.

In addition to these four well-known leaders, former Foreign Minister Marcel Amon‑Tanoh, who had hoped that President Ouattara would nominate him as his successor, and current Defense Minister Hamed Bakayoko, who has been acting Prime Minister since Coulibaly’s death, have also thrown their hats into the ring.

Outlook for the upcoming presidential elections

Ouattara is expected to win if he runs in October 2020. However, given the ethno-religious conflict generated by political division, his success will result in a serious political crisis that could create internal unrest and rekindle tensions in Côte d’Ivoire. 

While Gbagbo and Soro will probably be barred from the presidential race, there is still hope for Bedie if he can consolidate his alliance with the two exiled leaders. His chances may be boosted in the event of a second round of elections, but a run-off is unlikely, given the absence of other strong candidates.

Latest Briefs