جاء حدث القبض على محمود عزت، نائب مرشد جماعة الإخوان المسلمين، في إحدى شقق حي التجمع بالقاهرة، في 28 أغسطس 2020، ليُعيد الجدل مجدداً حول مستقبل الجماعة وهيكلها القيادي. وعلى إثر ذلك، أعلنت الجماعة عن تَرتيبات تَنظيمية تفرّد فيها "إبراهيم منير" باعتباره مسؤولاً أوّل فيها، ما يُثير تَساؤلاً حَول أَبعاد هذه الخُطوة ومدى قُدرتها على تجاوز أزمات التنظيم، وانعكاساتها المحتملة على مستقبله.

ماذا يحدث داخل التنظيم؟

عقب اعتقال عزت، ظلت الجماعة لمدة ثلاثة أسابيع تقريباً دون قيادة بديلة مُحددة، في ظل تأكيدات مُتحدثها الرسمي أن "أعمال الجماعة تسير بصورة طبيعية ومؤسسية ولا تتأثر بغياب قائد من قادتها"[1]. ومع أن اللائحة الداخلية للجماعة تُنظم مثل هذه الحالة، بإشارتها إلى أنه "في حالة غياب المرشد العام خارج الجمهورية أو تعذُّر قيامه بمهامه لمرض أو لعذر طارئ، يقوم نائبه الأول مقامه في جميع اختصاصاته" (مادة 4)، و"في حالة حدوث موانع قهرية تحول دون مباشرة المرشد لمهامه يحل محله نائبه الأول ثم الأقدم فالأقدم من النواب ثم الأكبر فالأكبر من أعضاء مكتب الإرشاد" (مادة 5)، وهو في هذه الحالة "إبراهيم منير"، إلا أن واقع التفاعل مع الحدث يشير إلى حصول "أزمة مكتوبة" وعدم رضا تجاه هذا الانتقال القيادي من قِبل الأمين العام للجماعة د. محمود حسين وداعميه، وهو ما عبَّرت عنه عدة شواهد أبرزها بيان الجماعة الرسمي الأول الصادر في 14 سبتمبر2020، والذي أعلن تصدُّر "منير " القيادة وقيامه بأعمال المرشد دون الحديث عن تفاصيل.

وقد فتح ذلك باب التكهنات حول إمكانية استمرار محمود حسين في المشهد الجديد من عدمه، وهو أمرٌ حسمه البيان الثاني الصادر في 17 سبتمبر الجاري، والذي أشار إلى إلغاء مسمى الأمانة العامة وتشكيل لجنة معاونة لمنير تضم في عضويتها محمود حسين، عضو مكتب الإرشاد "وآخرين" دون تحديد أسمائهم لدواعٍ أمنية، بحسب تصريحات طلعت فهمي المتحدث الرسمي للجماعة[2]، والذي حرص أيضاً على "التأكيد على غياب صراع بين جبهتي حسين ومنير  رغم الاختلاف في الرأي، وأن هذا التأخير يأتي لحتمية تمرير القرار على القواعد قبل الإعلان الرسمي عنه". مُضيفاً "أن القيادة الجديدة إرتأت لتوحيد الجهود وتقصيراً لآليات العمل، أنه لاداعي لوجود الأمانة العامة لوجود معظم أعضاء مكتب الإرشاد بالسجن؛ فكان القرار وجود لجنة أحد أعضائها حسين"، وإن كان استمراره يعود في الواقع إلى أنه آخر من تبقى حُراً من مكتب الإرشاد.

ورغم التَقليديّة التي وسمت عَملية الانتقال القيادي في الجماعة، والمُتَّسِقة مع لائحتها التنظيمية، إلاّ أن هذا الانتقال يحمل في ظل المشهد الحالي أهمية تتصل بالتوقيت والرمز المتصدر لقيادة الجماعة. فتولي شخصية مثل إبراهيم منير قيادة الجماعة في هذه المرحلة ينطوي على الآتي:

  • يُعد هذا التصدُّر لشخصية مثل إبراهيم منير سابقة تنظيمية داخل الجماعة؛ بمعنى أن يجمع شخص بين قيادة تنظيم الداخل والخارج ويتولى هذه المهمة من خارج مصر؛ فهو نائب المرشد وأمين السّر العام للجماعة الذي يُمثل مَكتب اﻹرﺷﺎد اﻟﻌﺎم ﺗﻤﺜيلاً كاملاً في كافة اﻟﻤﻌﺎﻣﻼت، ولكنه مُقيم بلندن بوصفه مسؤولاً عن مكتب الجماعة في العاصمة البريطانية، والتي تمثل مقراً لقيادة مجلس الشورى العام للجماعة. كما أن ذلك المكتب يتحكم في الكثير من أنشطة الجماعة المُختلفة. ومع حَجم مَشروعاته الضّخمة يظل أداة التمويل الحاضرة دائماً في حال وجود أزمات، ومن هنا تكون له سيطرة على تَوجيه عُموم الجماعة، إضافة إلى "التّنسيق بين الإخوان في الأقطار المُختلفة"[3].
  • يُمثِّل هذا الانتقال القيادي فُرصة لإعادة خَلخلة هَرم القِيادة المزدوج وتوحيدها بعد طول صراع لم يُحسَم عبر سنوات نظريّاً لصالح طرف، وإن كانت موازين القوى بدأت تميل عملياً لصالح جبهة عزت-منير.

التداعيات

يمثل تغيير قيادة التنظيم في الوقت الراهن حدثاً ينطوي في مضمونه على مفتاحين لإعادة ترسيم بعض ملامح المرحلة المقبلة من حياة التنظيم على المدى المنظور، والتي يتداخل فيها التنظيمي بالسياسي.

  • فمن الناحية التنظيمية، تُعيد التّغييرات الداخلية وغياب أطراف الصراع المباشرة ترسيم واقع جديد في ظل هذه الاستثنائية التي تعيشها الجماعة عبر تصدير قيادة جديدة لديها هامش حرية في ظل عملها من خارج البلاد، ما ستدفع بالتّبعية نحو مَسار مُكمِّل للتّغييرات الفوقيّة ينطوي على تغييرات مرتقبة في الهيكل التّنظيمي الدّاخلي، ومَسار مَركزي ضيق يهدف إلى تسهيل تمرير وتنفيذ القرارات التي تفرضها المرحلة المقبلة، خاصة مع انتهاء الوجود العملي لمكتب الإرشاد بالداخل المصري بعد اعتقال "عزت"، وما يترتب عليه من اختلاف الإجراءات التّنظيمية التّقليدية وتجاوز ذلك الخلل الهيكلي. وهو ما يُتوقع أن لا يُواجَه بمُقاومة عَنيفة، لاسيما في ظل حسم "منير" الكثير من جوانب صراع القيادة في السنوات الماضية بدعمه جبهة عزت وتحكمه عملياً في إدارة التنظيم. فعلى الرغم من "وجود عزت قائماً بالأعمال بالداخل، فإن إدارة الجماعة عملياً كانت تتم من الخارج؛ فالبيانات يكتبها محمود الإبياري المدير الفعلي للتنظيم ويراجعها أو ينظر فيها منير وحسين، ومن حولهما"[4].

وثمة اعتقاد بأن وضع "منير" الحالي، بوصفه مسؤولاً أوحد عن الجَماعة في الداخل والخارج، يَجعله يَملك بعض القُدرة على رأب التصدُّع التنظيمي و"إيقاف إزدواجية القرار وتأخره الحادثة أحيانًا، فضلاً عن الانفصال بين القيادة والقواعد"[5] عبر رمزيته التنظيمية لجماعة الإخوان وقدرتها المالية، خاصة أنه لم يكن طرفاً مُباشراً في أزمة القيادة التي برزت في السّنوات الماضية على الرغم من دعمه لجبهة عزت لاحقاً، وهو ما يُعزز موقفه كرابط بين الجميع في ظل قدرة مكتب لندن المالية واتصالاته السياسية. كما أن عدم وجود نواب له وتفرده عملياً بالإدارة عبر لجنته "السّرية" المُستحدثة سيُعطيه قدرة تنفيذية مركزية تُسهِّل له إمكانية إحداث قفزات تنظيمية في حال أراد تمرير أو اتخاذ قرار؛ خاصةً أنه مَنْ ينفرد بتحديد مُدة اللجنة، وهو أيضاً من يختار أعضائها، وقد ترك الباب مفتوحاً لتقييم الأداء واستبدال الأعضاء لو احتاج الأمر لذلك، وإن أقرّ بأن مجلس شورى الجماعة هو المراقب العام لمختلف الإجراءات القائمة[6].

  • ومن الناحية السياسية، تزيد تلك التّغييرات من فُرص الإدارة السياسية لحراك التنظيم في ظل تواري الثّقل التّنظيمي لداعمي "العمل النوعي" مع الانقسامات الداخلية بين مُخططي هذا المسار، وتبدُّل الولاءات، إضافة إلى الأزمة المالية والضغوط الدولية المستمرة، إلى جانب نجاح السياسات الأمنية المصرية عبر السنوات الماضية في تحجيم مسار العنف الذي تنتهجه الجماعة إلى حد كبير، ليحُول كل ذلك إجمالاً دون تَطوير مَسار العُنف بوصفه خياراً استراتيجياً لعَجزه عن تحقيق نتيجة ملموسة. خاصةً مع تأكيد "منير " على أن "الاجراءات المتخذة مُرتبطة بما آلت إليه أوضاع مصر الدّاخلية؛ فلم يعد الأمر يَحتاج لانتظار"[7].

وعليه، فالمتوقع أن يتم العمل على تَعظيم المَسارات السّياسية عبر تَكثيف التّركيز على أي حِراك سِلمي مُضاد للنّظام السياسي في مصر ودَعمه، في ظل تأكيد الجماعة أنها "لن تعقد صفقة مهما كان الأمر مع النظام، وأن انتظارها وقوع أحداث ما تساعد في إسقاطه هو أمر طبيعي"[8] .

خلاصة

تظل حدود فاعلية التغييرات القيادية الأخيرة في جماعة الإخوان المسلمين، وما تنطوي عليه من فُرص ومخاطر، مُرتبطة بطبيعة التفاعل المُقابل لها من قبل قواعد الجماعة والسلطة المصرية والمجتمع الدولي:

  • فموقف قواعد الجماعة لا يزال غير مُحدد المعالم تجاه هذه التغييرات، حيث يتوزع على عدة اتجاهات منها المُرحب باختفاء محمود حسين من تصدُّر المشهد القيادي في ظل الأزمات المختلفة التي لحقت بالجماعة تحت إدارته. ومنهم من يُظهر لا مبالاته وعدم اهتمامه بما حصل، في ظل رُؤيته بأن ما يحدث يعكس صراعات بين الكبار لا دور للقواعد فيها، خاصة مع إستمرار تأزم أوضاع عموم الأعضاء في الداخل أو في الخارج وبقائها دون حلول. ومنهم من سيدعم هذا التوجه، حيث أن تمدُّد نفوذ مكتب لندن عملياً في السنوات الماضية على مقاليد سلطة الجماعة تم عبر خَلق دوائر ولاء من مُختلف الأجيال، بتسهيل تَحقيقها مَكاسب مَادية ومَعنويّة مُتعددة من مَناصبها الداخلية بالجماعة.
  • وتفاعل السلطة المصرية مع قيادة الجماعة الجديدة، يظل أمراً غير متوقع في ظل صفرية الصِّراع بين الطرفين، والموقف الحكومي الرسمي المناهض تماماً لأي حضور سياسي أو اجتماعي للجماعة في ظل تورطها في ممارسات عنف عبر السنوات الماضية وانعدام أوراق الضغط السياسية بيدها، والتي قد تدفع السلطة المصرية للتفاوض.
  • ويمثل الموقف الدولي عاملاً حاسماً في تقريرِ مدى فعالية القيادة الجديدة وحدود قدرتها على تحقيق مكاسب سياسية للتنظيم من عدمه، خاصة في ظل التوجه الدولي نحو اعتبار "الإخوان المسلمين" تنظيماً إرهابياً، وهو الأمر الذي تحرص قيادة التنظيم الحالية على منع توسعه عبر نَفي اعتمادها خِيار العُنف والتأكيد على انتهاج مسار العمل السياسي. وهكذا، فإن تصدير منير وترميزه كقيادة مركزية للجماعة سيكون عاملاً مُحفِّزاً على تكرار محاولاتها عدم حظر الاخوان بوصفها جماعة إرهابية في دول أخرى، قياساً بما حصل في بريطانيا.

الهوامش

[1] انظر تصريحات المتحدث الرسمي للجماعة، في: https://cutt.us/ksVz6

[2] حوار طلعت فهمي، المتحدث الإعلامي لجماعة الإخوان المسلمين، حول "ترتيبات العمل داخل الجماعة خلال المرحلة القادمة"، قناة وطن، 19 سبتمبر 2020، على الرابط: https://cutt.us/cGoSM

[3] "إبراهيم منير المتهم الأول في «التنظيم الدولي» (1-2)، شخصيات رسمية تزور مكتب «الإخوان» في لندن"، المصري اليوم، 6 يوليو 2009، على الرابط: https://cutt.us/hzeBB

[4] عصام تليمة، "القائم بأعمال المرشد الجديد مَن يكون؟"، 14 سبتمبر 2020، عربي 21، على الرابط: https://cutt.us/5oCRU

[5] لقاء إبراهيم منير مع قناة الحوار الفضائية، 19‏ سبتمبر 2020، متاح على الرابط: https://cutt.us/n8nlB

[6] المرجع السابق.

[7] المرجع نفسه.

[8] أحمد رمضان، "نائب مرشد الإخوان: لن نعقد صفقة مع السيسي وننتظر سقوطه"، 25 أغسطس 2020، متاح على الرابط: https://cutt.us/8KYfE

 

أحدث الإيجازات

The incident of the arrest of Mahmoud Ezzat, the Deputy Guide of the Muslim Brotherhood group, in an apartment in Cairo’s Fifth Settlement, on 28 August 2020, has revived the debate about the Brotherhood’s future and its leadership structure. Subsequently, the Brotherhood announced organisational arrangements whereby Ibrahim Munir singled out as its chief executive. This raises questions about the dimensions of this step, the extent it would be able to overcome the organisation’s crises, and its potential repercussions for the organisation’s future.

What is going on inside the organisation?

After Ezzat’s arrest, the group remained for nearly three weeks without a specific alternative leadership, even as its spokesman asserted that "the group’s business is running in a normal and institutional way and is not affected by the absence of one of its leaders”.[1] While the group’s internal regulations organise such cases, stipulating that “In the event that the General Guide is absent outside the Republic or is unable to carry out his duties due to illness or an emergency excuse, his first deputy shall take his place in all of his duties” (Article 4), and that “In the event of compulsive impediments that prevent the Guide from carrying out his duties, he would be replaced by his first deputy, then the other deputies in order of seniority, then members of the Guidance Office in order of seniority" (Article 5). In this case, this applies to Ibrahim Munir. However, the actual interaction with the event indicates the occurrence of a" written crisis" and dissatisfaction with this leadership transition on the part of the group’s Secretary-General Dr Mahmoud Hussein and his supporters. This was expressed through several indications, most notably the group’s first official statement, issued on 14 September 2020, which announced the appointment of Munir as the group’s leader and his assumption of the Guide’s duties without giving details.

This opened the door to speculation about the possibility of Mahmoud Hussein’s continued presence on the new scene. This was settled by the second statement, issued on 17 September 2020, which referred to the abolition of the General Secretariat and the formation of an administrative committee to assist Munir that would include member of the Guidance Office Mahmoud Hussein and others without specifying their names for security reasons, according to the remarks made by Talaat Fahmi, the group’s spokesman,[2] who was also keen on “emphasising that no struggle existed between the Hussein and Munir fronts despite the difference in opinion, and that this delay is attributable to the inevitability of passing the decision through the grassroots before its official announcement”. He added that "the new leadership decided, with a view to unifying efforts and shortening the mechanisms of work, that there is no need for the General Secretariat, considering that most members of the Guidance Office are in prison. Thus, it decided to form a committee with Hussein as one of its members", although his continuation is actually attributable to the fact that he is the only remaining free member of the Guidance Office.

Despite the traditionality that characterised the group’s leadership transition process, in consistence with its organisational regulations, in light of the current scene, that transition is particularly important in terms of its timing and the symbol chosen to lead the group. The assumption of the group’s leadership by a figure such as Ibrahim Munir at this stage indicates the following:

  • The appointment of a figure such as Ibrahim Munir sets an organisational precedent within the group in the sense that a person would combine the leadership of both home and abroad organisations, undertaking this task from outside Egypt. Munir is the deputy Guide and the group’s Secretary-General who fully represents the General Guidance Office in all transactions. However, he is based in London as the person responsible for the group’s office in the British capital which constitutes the headquarters of the leadership of the group’s General Shura (Consultative) Council. That office also controls many of the group's various activities. Considering the size of its huge projects, the office continues to be an important financing tool that is always present in the event of crises. Therefore, the office would have control over directing the whole group, in addition to "coordination between the Brotherhood groups in different countries".[3]
  • This leadership transition represents an opportunity to re-shake the dual hierarchy of the leadership and unify it after a protracted struggle that has not been theoretically resolved over the years in favour of one side, although in practice, it seems that balances of power have started to tilt in favour of the Ezzat-Munir front.

Implications

The change in the organisation’s leadership at the present time constitutes an event that indicates two keys to redrawing some features of the next stage of the organisation’s life in the foreseeable future, in which the organisational and the political aspects overlap.

  • At the organisational level, the internal changes and the absence of the direct actors to the struggle redefine a new reality in light of these exceptional circumstances experienced by the group in terms of the appointment of a new leadership that has a margin of freedom in light of its operation from outside the country. This would necessarily drive towards a complementary path to the top changes that includes prospective changes in the internal organisational structure, and a narrow central path that aims at facilitating the approval and implementation of the decisions necessitated by the stage ahead, especially in light of the termination of the practical existence of the Guidance Bureau inside Egypt after the arrest of Ezzat and the consequent difference in the traditional organisational procedures and overcoming that structural imbalance. This is not expected to be met with violent resistance, especially that Munir has resolved many aspects of the leadership struggle in recent years through his support of Ezzat’s front and his actual control of the organisation's management. In spite of “Ezzat's presence in charge of business at home, the group’s management was practically carried out from abroad. The statements were written by Mahmoud al-Ebiary, the organisation’s actual director, and reviewed or considered by Munir and Hussein, and those around them".[4]

There is a belief that Munir’s current position, as the sole figure in charge of the group at home and abroad, makes him somewhat capable of healing the organisational rift and “stopping the duplication of the decision and its occasional delay, let alone the chasm between the leadership and the grassroots”,[5] through his organisational symbolism of the Brotherhood group and its financial capability, especially that he was not a direct party to the leadership crisis that emerged in recent years although he subsequently supported Ezzat’s front. This strengthens his position as a link between all sides in light of the financial capacity and political contacts of the London office. In addition, the fact that he has no deputies and his practically exclusive management through his newly created "covert" committee would grant him a central executive capacity that would facilitate the possibility of bringing about organisational leaps in case he wants to pass or take a decision, especially that he is the only person who determines the term of the committee, and he is also the one who chooses its members. He left the door open for evaluating performance and replacing members if necessary, although he acknowledged that the group’s Shura Council is the general observer of the various existing procedures.[6]

  • At the political level, these changes increase the opportunities of the political management of the organisation’s dynamism in light of the removal of the organisational weight of supporters of "qualitative work" together with the internal divisions among planners of this path, the shifting loyalties, the financial crisis and persistent international pressures, in addition to the success of Egyptian security policies over the past years in greatly curtailing the path of violence pursued by the group. All this would generally prevent developing the path of violence as a strategic choice due to its failure to achieve a tangible result, especially with Munir's assertion that "the measures taken are related to what has become of Egypt's internal situation, leaving no room for waiting".[7]

Accordingly, efforts are expected to be made to maximise the political paths by intensifying focus on and support for any peaceful movement against the political regime in Egypt, in light of the group’s assertion that “it would not strike any deal whatsoever with the regime, and that its waiting for the occurrence of events that would help bring the regime down is only too normal.[8]


Conclusion

The limits of the effectiveness of the recent leadership changes in the Muslim Brotherhood, and the opportunities and risks they entail, remain tied to the nature of the corresponding interaction by the group's grassroots, the Egyptian authority, and the international community:

  • The position of the group’s grassroots remains uncertain yet towards those changes. It is distributed over several directions, including those who welcome the disappearance of Mahmoud Hussein from the forefront of the leadership scene in light of the various crises that afflicted the group under his administration; those who show their indifference and lack of interest in what happened in light of their vision that what is happening reflects struggles between the seniors in which the grassroots have no role, especially with the continuing worsening conditions for the general membership both at home or abroad and lack of solutions thereto; and those who would support this trend, considering that the practical expansion of the influence of the London office in recent years over aspects of the group’s authority has been achieved through the creation of loyalty circles from different generations, by facilitating their realisation of multiple material and moral gains from their internal positions in the group.
  • The interaction of the Egyptian authority with the group’s new leadership remains to be unexpected in light of the zero-sum conflict between the two parties and the official government position completely opposed to any political or social presence of the group in light of its involvement in violent practices over the past years and the fact that it lacks political pressure cards that might push the Egyptian authority to negotiate.
  • The international position constitutes a decisive factor in determining the extent of effectiveness of the new leadership and the limits of its capability or otherwise to achieve political gains for the organisation, especially in light of the international trend towards considering the Muslim Brotherhood to be a terrorist organisation. The organisation’s current leadership is particularly keen to prevent the expansion of this phenomenon by denying the group’s adoption of the violence option and emphasising the adoption of the political action course. Thus, Munir’s appointment and posing him as a symbol of the group’s central leadership would be a catalyst for the group’s repeated attempts to prevent banning the Brotherhood as a terrorist group in other countries, similar to what happened in Britain.

References

[1] See the remarks of the group’s spokesman at: https://cutt.us/ksVz6

[2] Interview with Talat Fahmi, media spokesman of the Muslim Brotherhood group, on “Work arrangements within the group during the next phase”, Watan TV, 19 September 2020. Available at: https://cutt.us/cGoSM

[3] “Ibrahim Munir, the first accused in the "international organisation" (1-2), Official figures visit the Brotherhood's office in London”, almasryalyoum, 6 July 2009. Available at: https://cutt.us/hzeBB

[4] Essam Tallima, “Who is the acting new Guide?”, 14 September 2020, arabi21. Available at: https://cutt.us/5oCRU

[5] Ibrahim Munir’s interview with Al Hiwar TV, 19 September 2020. Available at: https://cutt.us/n8nlB

[6] Ibid.

[7] Ibid.

[8] Ahmed Ramadan, “Brotherhood’s Deputy Guide: we shall not strike a deal with Sisi; we await his fall”, Aljazeera.net, 25 August 2020. Available at: https://cutt.us/8KYfE

 

Latest Briefs