كشف الصراع بين الرئيس السوري بشار الأسد وابن خاله الملياردير رامي مخلوف جُملةً من الحقائق. وبالرغم من تأثير العوامل الذاتية في إبراز الصراع بين الرجلين وتأجيجه، إلا أن هذا الصراع شكَّل اختباراً للكثير من القضايا والمفاهيم المتداولة في عمق الأزمة السورية وعلى سطحها، مثل قدرة روسيا على اختيار بدائل للأسد، أو قدرة أي طرف علوي على الحلول مكان الأسد لدى الطائفة العلوية.

اختزال الشعب بالفئة المؤيدة

اختزل النظام السوري الدولة في أجهزته ومؤسساته، وكانت تلك حيلة لجأ إليها النظام ليمرّر تحتها جميع سلوكياته الخارجة عن منطق السياسة والحكم، فلا يتصرف النظام بهدف تحقيق مصالح معينة لأركانه أو للفئات المرتبطة به، كما لا يدخل في نزاعات مع أطراف داخلية بقصد الحصول على مكاسب سياسية، فهو - وفق هذا المنظور - كيان مُتعالٍ غير منحاز إلا للدستور والقوانين الناظمة، وبالتالي فإن خصومه ليسوا فقط أدنى درجة منه، ولكن أيضاً مُخطئون وخارجون عن القانون.

في صراع مخلوف والقصر (الأسد وزوجته أسماء)، جرى، وبشكل علني، اختزال الشعب بفئة المؤيدين، وبكلام مباشر، بالطائفة العلوية؛ فالطرفان تصارعا بشكل مباشر ودون مواربة على استقطاب الطائفة؛ مخلوف من خلال تركيز مساعداته وعطاياه على مناطق جغرافية محدّدة، شكلت خريطة انتشار الطائفة، في الساحل وأحزمة الفقر في دمشق وحمص، حيث تنشط جمعية " البستان" وشركة" راماك الخيرية"، والقصر الذي سارع إلى إستدراك الأمر عبر محاولة سد الثغرات التي نفذ منها مخلوف إلى الطائفة عبر مصادرة آلياته (جمعية البستان)، وإصدار مراسيم وقرارات تنظّم علاقة القصر بالطائفة وتضعها في نطاق سيطرته، من خلال إدراج جرحى الميليشيات وعوائل القتلى إلى هيكلية الرواتب والتقاعدية.

وخارج الطائفة العلوية، ظهر الشعب، إما على شكل زبون لخدمات "سيرياتل"، الذي لم يكن مطلوباً مراعاته بناء على هذه الصفة، بل الحفاظ على الشركة لأنها الآلية التي تستجر الموارد من هذا الشعب لضخّها في خزينة الدولة وتحويل جزء منها إلى صناديق الجمعيات التي تدعم الشعب الحقيقي (الطائفة)، أو كفائض ملحق بالطائفة، باعتبار أن الجرحى والقتلى من باقي المكونات، لم ينخرطوا بشكل صريح في الدفاع عن النظام وإنما ضمن تشكيلات كان الهدف منها تأمين الحماية الذاتية لمكوناتهم، وبالتالي هم خارج التصنيف الجديد.

تغيُّر توازنات القوى

استطاع النظام السوري إدخال الثورة ضده في سياقات الحروب الأهلية، عبر تطييفه للحراك وشدِّه عصب الطائفة، وفي هذا النمط من الصراعات فإن النتائج النهائية لن تكون على شكل تغييرات في الآليات الدستورية وهياكل السلطة، وإنما في توازنات القوى بين المكونات، إذ يجب أن يكون هناك طرف رابح، بغض النظر عن آليات وأساليب وصوله لهذه النتيجة.

وكان من مخرجات الحرب حدوث تغير كبير في موازين القوى بين المكونات السورية، حيث فقدت الأكثرية السورية وزنها وتأثيرها، إما بسبب خسارتها للحرب "الأهلية"، أو لارتباطها بالحركات المتطرفة، وإن كان هذا الإرتباط قسرياً أو جاء نتيجة استثمار اللاعبين الآخرين لهذا الأمر لتحقيق عوائد سياسية في الحرب عبر تصويرهم لها على أنها جزء من سياق الحرب العالمية ضد الإرهاب.

ويعكس هذا التراجع في حجم تأثير الأكثرية السورية، تراجع فعالية وتأثير الطرف العربي، الذي يُشكّل عمق هذه الأكثرية الاستراتيجي، وتراجع أدواره، بعد أن كان لاعباً مقرراً في سنوات الحرب، ما قبل التدخل الروسي في سوريا.

تشابك الجيوسياسي بالطائفي

أسهمت متغيرات الحرب في تحوّل المكون العلوي في سوريا إلى أهم المكونات، ليس فقط بالنظر لقدرته على حشد طاقاته لتحقيق أهدافه وتوحُّده، بل لارتباطه بالمشاريع الجيوسياسية للاعبين المؤثرين المنخرطين في الصراع، ويدرك أطراف لعبة "مخلوف-الأسد" هذه المعادلة، ويحاول كل طرف توظيفها لمصلحته، وهذا ما يُفسِّر توجههما الكثيف للطائفة واعتبار المكونات الأخرى فائض على هامش هذا المكون.

وقد شكّل عنصر الأرض دوراً مهماً في هذه المعادلة، فالمكوّن العلوي يسيطر على الفضاء الاستراتيجي الذي يشكل مربط المشاريع الجيوسياسية لإيران التي تهدف استراتيجيتها الحديثة" إلى الوصول إلى البحر الأبيض المتوسط، والذي تعتبره مُنقذاً لأزمتها الجيوبولوتيكية الناتجة عن حصار الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية لها بالعقوبات الاقتصادية والمراقبة الحثيثة في الخليج العربي، في ظل انعدام واضح لتوازن القوى بين الطرفين.

"أسهمت متغيرات الحرب في تحوّل المكون العلوي في سوريا إلى أهم المكونات، ليس فقط بالنظر لقدرته على حشد طاقاته لتحقيق أهدافه وتوحُّده، بل لارتباطه بالمشاريع الجيوسياسية للاعبين المؤثرين المنخرطين في الصراع"

على الجانب الاخر، يُشكّل الساحل السوري جزءاً عضوياً في هيكلية الخريطة الأوراسية، المشروع الجيوسياسي الروسي في نسخته البوتينية، لذا ليس مصادفة أن روسيا بنت قواعدها العسكرية وركزت أصولها الإستراتيجية في سوريا، إما على خطوط التماس الطائفي، في حميميم ومطار حماة، أو في عمق الساحل، ميناء طرطوس، كما ركزت غالبية مصالحها الاقتصادية واستثماراتها في هذه المناطق حصراً. ويؤشر حجم المعسكرات والقواعد التي بنتها روسيا في هذه المنطقة إلى اتخاذها حصناً وملجأً في حال واجهتها مقاومة في بقية المناطق السورية، وهذا بدوره غذَّى الشعور بالتفوق والأهمية لدى العلويون الذين باتوا محميين ولديهم خيارات أخرى.

انعكست هذه المعطيات على المواقف السياسية لروسيا وإيران، اللتين تهتمان باستقرار البنى السياسية والأمنية في سوريا، وتدركان أن أي عبث في هذه البنى من شأنه إحداث انهيارات في منظومة الحكم السورية؛ فقد عملت روسيا وإيران، طوال سنوات الحرب، على تطويع الجسم السوري، بقوة النار والحديد، ليتلائم مع هذا الوضع، لا تكييف السلطة لتتناسب مع الواقع السوري بعد الثورة.

وترغب روسيا تحديداً، ومن خلفها الأسد، بإعادة تشكيل التحالفات الاقتصادية في سوريا، كمناورة تكتيكية، الهدف منها إعطاء صورة جديدة للأوضاع يمكن تسويقها للعالم الخارجي؛ فمخلوف كان فاعلاً مهماً في لحظة تاريخية انتهت؛ أدى خلالها الدور المطلوب في دعم النظام الذي يطمح إلى تسويق صورة جديدة تؤشر على مرونته وتكيُّفه مع مطالب البيئة الدولية، ويريد التخلص من كل الحمولات التي تعيق تقدمه باتجاه هذا الهدف. ومخلوف نفسه يدرك هذا الأمر، وقال للأسد في أحد تسجيلاته "لن أكون عبئاً عليك، ولن أحرجك".

تقديرات خاطئة

بَنى مخلوف تقديراته، في مواجهة الأسد، على خوف الأخير من حدوث تصدعات في البيئة المؤيدة (الطائفة)، وكذلك على إمكانية التحريض على أسماء الأسد، على اعتبار أنها طرف سُنِّي في معادلة السلطة، وأنها تسحب البساط من تحت الطائفة إلى الطرف السُّني. وتوقّع مخلوف، وهذا واضح من خطابه التهديدي، أن الأسد سيرضخ ويتراجع عن قراراته قبل تحويلها إلى إجراءات ملموسة، لكن يبدو أن هذه التقديرات كانت خاطئة للأسباب الآتية:

  • فقد ثبت أن العلويين غير مستعدين للانخراط في صراع داخلي؛ فهم خارجون للتو من استنزاف دام سنوات طويلة، كما أن بقاء مخلوف أو إزاحته ليست مسألة مصيرية وجودية كالحرب التي اختبروها في السنوات السابقة.
  • يُدرك العلويون أهمية المكانة التي حققوها في الواقع السوري، وهم واعون أن ذلك تحقّق بفضل توحُّدهم بدرجة كبيرة، عكس المكونات الأخرى التي مزقتها الصراعات الداخلية وأضعفت مواقفها.
  • يخشى العلويون أن يكون رامي مخلوف منخرطاً ضمن لعبة البحث عن بديل للأسد، وهذا يعني أنه نفسه سيكون له بديل إذا ما تم تمرير هذا المشروع.
  • بالنسبة للعلويين، يعتبر الأسد ضمانة دولية لهم، ورغم أهمية العامل الاقتصادي بالنسبة لهم، إلا أن إزاحة الأسد ستعني إزاحة الغطاء السياسي والأمني عنهم، وهذه مغامرة في ظل الظروف المحلية والإقليمية الراهنة.

الخلاصة

لا يمكن تفسير أي صراع في سوريا خارج السياقات السياسية والجيوسياسية في هذا البلد، ولهذا الأمر معنيان؛ إزاحة كل ما يتعارض مع هذه السياقات أو يؤثر على حركيتها، وأن درجة أهمية وفاعلية اللاعبين المحلية تتحدّد بارتباطها وتشابكها مع تلك السياقات.

وأياً تكن تسمية الحركة التي قام بها رامي مخلوف؛ احتجاجٌ، أو ثورةٌ، أو تمردٌ، فقد كان محكوماً عليها بالموت، وهو لن يستطيع أن يُغيّر بحسابه الشخصي على موقع الفيسبوك ما تم تكريسه في سوريا عبر دماء وأموال كثيرة، كما لن يستطيع وقف التحوّلات الجارية في سوريا وفق مخطط الفاعل الروسي.

أحدث الإيجازات

The conflict between Syrian President Bashar al-Assad and his billionaire cousin Rami Makhlouf has revealed a number of facts. Despite the effect of subjective factors in manifesting and fuelling the conflict between the two men, this conflict constitutes a test of numerous issues and concepts in circulation both at the core of the Syrian crisis and on its surface, such as Russia’s capability to choose alternatives to Assad or the capability of any other Alawite side to replace Assad as far as the Alawite sect is concerned.

Reduction of the people to the supportive group

The Syrian regime has reduced the state to its agencies and establishments. This was a trick resorted to by the regime to legitimize its behaviours that are contrary to the logic of politics and governance. Thus, the regime would not act with the aim of satisfying certain interests of its staff or the groups associated with it. Neither would it get involved in disputes with internal parties with the aim of obtaining political gains. According to this perspective, it is an aloof entity that is not biased except in favour of the Constitution and regulatory laws. Therefore, its opponents are not just inferior to it, but also wrong and outlaw.

In the conflict between Makhlouf and the Palace (Assad and his wife Asmaa), the people was openly reduced to the loyalist category and, more straighforwardly, to the Alawite sect. Both sides have contested directly and explicitly to win over the sect. On the one hand, Makhlouf concentrated his assistance and bounties on specific geographical areas that mapped the distribution of the sect on the Coast and in the poor pockets in Damascus and Homs where the al-Bustan Association and the Ramak charity company are active. On the other hand, the Palace rushed to rectify the situation by attempting to close the loopholes through which Makhlouf reached out to the sect by confiscating his mechanisms (al-Bustan Association) and issuing decrees and resolutions that govern the relationship between the Palace and the sect, bringing the latter under his control by expanding the salary and pension structure to include injured militiamen and the families of those who got killed.

Apart from the Alawite sect, the people seemed to be classified into one of two categories: first, as a customer of Syriatel’s services who, in this capacity, is not required to be cared for. Rather, the company had to be preserved as the mechanism that absorbs the resources from that people to inject them into the state treasury and partly transfer them to the association funds that support the real people (the sect); second, as a redundant supplement to the sect, considering that the injured and killed belonging to the other components did not explicitly get involved in defending the regime, but were rather part of formations that aimed at providing self-protection for their components and are thus outside the new classification.

The shift in power balances

The Syrian regime managed to drive the revolution against it into the contexts of civil wars by sectarianizing the mobility and provoking sectarian fanaticism. In this pattern of conflict, the end results would not be in the form of changes in the constitutional mechanisms and authority structures, but rather in the power balances between components. There has to be a winner, regardless of the mechanisms and methods by which it arrives at this result.

One of the results of the war has been the occurrence of a major change in the power balances between the Syrian components. The Syrian majority has lost its weight and influence, either because it lost in the “civil” war or because of its association with the extremist movements, although that association had been forced or came about as a result of the utilization of this situation by other players to achieve political gains in the war by portraying it as part of the global war against terrorism.

This decline in the influence of the Syrian majority reflects the reduction of the effectiveness and influence of the Arab side which constitutes the strategic depth of this majority, and also the reduction of its roles after it had been a decision-making player in the war years, prior to the Russian intervention in Syria.

The entanglement between the geopolitical and the sectarian

Thanks to the developments of the war, the Alawite component has become the most important in Syria, not just in view of its capability to mobilize its potential to achieve its aims and of its unity, but also in view of its association with the geopolitical projects of the influential players involved in the conflict. The players of the Makhlouf-Assad game are aware of this equation, and each side tries to employ it to its benefit. This explains their heavy turn towards the sect while considering the other components as merely a redundancy on the margins of this component.

The land element has played an important role in this equation. The Alawite component controls the strategic space that constitutes the anchor of geopolitical projects of Iran whose modern-day strategy aims to access the Mediterranean which it considers a rescuer from its geopolitical crisis resulting from the US embargo on it with economic sanctions and close monitoring in the Arabian Gulf in light of a clear imbalance of powers between the two sides.

 

“Thanks to the developments of the war, the Alawite component has become the most important in Syria, not just in view of its capability to mobilize its potential to achieve its aims and of its unity, but also in view of its association with the geopolitical projects of the influential players involved in the conflict”

 

On the other hand, the Syrian Coast constitutes an integral part of the Eurasian map structure, that is the Putinesque version of the Russian geopolitical project. Therefore, Russia has not coincidentally built its military bases and concentrated its strategic assets in Syria either along the line of sectarian contact, in Hmeymim and Hama airport, or in the deep Coast, in the Tartus port. It has also concentrated most of its economic interests and investments in those areas exclusively. The size of the camps and bases built by Russia in this area indicates that the area is considered a stronghold and a shelter in case Russia is faced with resistance in the other Syrian areas. This in turn has fueled the feeling of superiority and importance among the Alawites who have become protected and who now have other options.

Those facts have reflected on the political positions of Russia and Iran that both care about the stability of the political and security structures in Syria. The two countries are also aware that any tampering with those structures would lead to collapses in the Syrian governing system. Throughout the war years, Russia and Iran have ruthlessly sought to adapt the Syrian body to this situation rather than adapt the authority to the post-Revolution Syrian reality.

Specifically, Russia, backed by Assad, wishes to re-formulate economic alliances in Syria as a tactical manoeuvre whose aim is to come up with a new picture of the situation that can be marketed to the external world. Makhlouf was an important actor in a historic moment that is over where he fulfilled the required role in supporting the regime that aspires to market a new picture that indicates its flexibility and adaptation to the requirements of the international environment. It also wants to get rid of all the burdens that hamper its progress towards this goal. Makhlouf himself is aware of this. In one of his recordings, he told Assad: “I shall not be a burden for you; I shall not embarrass you”.

Erroneous estimations

Makhlouf built his estimations in the confrontation with Assad on the latter’s fear of splits in the supportive environment (the sect), and also on the possibility of provoking against Asmaa al-Assad, being a Sunni side in the power equation who seeks to tilt the balance in the Sunnis’ favour. As evident from his threatening discourse, Makhlouf expected that Assad would subdue and give up his decisions before transforming them into concrete measures. But it seems that those estimations were wrong for the following reasons:

  • It has become evident that the Alawites are not ready to get involved in an internal conflict. They have just come out of an attrition that lasted long years. Besides, Makhlouf’s survival or displacement is not a crucial and existential issue compared to the war which they experienced in the past years.
  • Alawites are aware of the important status they achieved in the Syrian reality. They are also aware that this was largely possible thanks to their unity, as opposed to the other components which were torn and whose positions were weakened by internal strife.
  • Alawites fear that Rami Makhlouf could be involved in the game of the search for an alternative to Assad. This means that he himself would have an alternative if this project is materialized.
  • For Alawites, Assad is an international safeguard for them. Despite the importance of the economic factor for them, the displacement of Assad would amount to the removal of their political and security cover, which would be an adventure in light of the current local and regional circumstances.

Conclusion

Any conflict in Syria cannot be explained outside the country’s political and geopolitical contexts. This means both that whatever contradicts those contexts and affects their dynamism should be removed, and that the extent of the importance and effectiveness of local players is determined by the extent of their association and interaction with those contexts.

Whatever Rami Makhlouf’s move is called ‒ a protest, a revolution or an insurgency ‒ it was doomed. He would not be able to change through his personal account on Facebook what has been established in Syria by plenty of blood and money. Neither would he be able to stop the ongoing shifts in Syria according to the scheme of the Russian actor.

Latest Briefs