جاءت مبادرة رئيس الوزراء العراقي مصطفى الكاظمي للحوار الوطني، والتي أطلقها في الثامن من شهر مارس 2021، كمحاولة لاستثمار الأجواء الإيجابية التي تركتها زيارة بابا الفاتيكان في البلاد، ولتمهيد الأرضية المناسبة للانتخابات العامة المقررة في أكتوبر المقبل، لكن المبادرة أثارت تبايناً واضحاً في ردود فعل الأطراف العراقية المختلفة.

تُسلِّط هذه الورقة الضوء على مضمون المبادرة، وفرص نجاحها، وأثرها في الأوضاع العامة في البلاد، والانتخابات المبكرة على وجه الخصوص.

مضمون المبادرة

في خطاب متلفز للكاظمي، بمناسبة ختام زيارة بابا الفاتيكان إلى العراق، ذكر أن مبادرة "الحوار الوطني" تخصّ "المختلفين من قوى سياسية وفعاليات شعبية وشبابية احتجاجية ومعارضي الحكومة"، ودعاهم إلى الجلوس إلى "طاولة الحوار المسؤول أمام الشعب والتاريخ". والهدف من الحوار وفق المبادرة هو "تغليب مصلحة الوطن والابتعاد عن لغة الخطاب المتشنج والتسقيط السياسي، والتهيئة لإنجاح الانتخابات المبكرة، ومنح الشعب فرصة الأمل والثقة بالدولة وبالنظام الديمقراطي"، وأشار الكاظمي أيضاً إلى أن "فكرة الحوار الوطني يمكن أن تسهم أيضاً في حل كل الأزمات ما بين الحكومة الاتحادية وحكومة إقليم كردستان".

وأهم الملفات التي ستُطرح على طاولة الحوار، بحسب مصادر مقربة من الكاظمي، هي:

  • مناقشة آليات وسبل حصر السلاح بيد الدولة، ووقْف الهجمات الصاروخية على القوات الأجنبية، وفسْح المجال أمام الحكومة للقيام بواجباتها الأمنية دون تدخلات من قبل الميليشيات المسلحة، لاسيما في المناطق المحررة من "داعش".
  • الوجود العسكري الأجنبي في البلاد، ومناقشة الحوار مع الجانب الأمريكي لتثبيت جدولة الانسحاب وفقًا لحاجة القوات العراقية وتطورها، ومحاولة حسم مشكلة "حزب العمال الكردستاني" (PKK) لمنع التدخلات التركية في شمال العراق.
  • محاولة الاتفاق على خطوط عريضة لسياسة البلاد الخارجية، وتطويرها مع دول العالم والمنطقة.
  • ملف الانتخابات، وما تحتاجه من توافقات سياسية تتعلق بموعد حلّ البرلمان، والاتفاق على تقسيم الدوائر الانتخابية، والإشراف الأممي على عملية الاقتراع.
  • بحث تداعيات الأزمة الاقتصادية، وخطوات الإصلاحين المالي والتنظيمي اللذين طرحتهما الحكومة.
  • المشاكل العالقة بين بغداد وإقليم كردستان، وإمكانية إيجاد حلول نهائية لها.

ولم تحدد الحكومة حتى الآن مواعيد جلسات الحوار وعددها، وطريقة المشاركة فيها، وعلى ما يبدو فإنها طَرَحَت الفكرة للنقاش العام في الإعلام ومواقع التواصل الاجتماعي لمراقبة ردود الفعل الشعبية والرسمية، ليتم لاحقاً تحديد الملفات المطروحة للنقاش بصورة رسمية، وقد تَستثني الأطراف التي هاجمت المبادرة وشككت في نواياها.

مواقف الأطراف العراقية

  • كان زعيم تيار "الحكمة" عمّار الحكيم أول الداعمين لدعوة الكاظمي، وقال في تغريدة على موقع "تويتر": "نؤكد أن الفرصة سانحة والأجواء مهيَّأة للمضي بهذا الحوار، ونجدد المطالبة بانخراط جميع القوى السياسية والفعاليات الاجتماعية والأكاديمية بحوار يستوعب جميع الرؤى والأفكار البنّاءة لمعالجة الإخفاقات وتقويم السلبيات".
  • أيَّد مقتدى الصدر فكرة الحوار بين الفرقاء السياسيين في البلاد، لكنه اشترط أن يكون تحت الإشراف الأممي، وقال في بيان إن "الجميع مُطالَب بتفعيل الحوار الإصلاحي بين كل الفرقاء، بمن فيهم الجيل الشبابي الاحتجاجي".
  • رحَّب رئيس إقليم كردستان نيجرفان بارزاني أيضاً بمبادرة الحوار، وأكد أن الأكراد على استعداد تام للوصول إلى اتفاقات نهائية للخلافات السياسية بين أربيل وبغداد.
  • دعا الأمين العام لحركة "المشروع العربي" خميس الخنجر إلى أن يكون الحوار الذي دعا إليه الكاظمي "شجاعاً وبعيداً عن منطق الثأر والانتقام"، وقال في تغريدة "ندعم الحوار الوطني الذي دعا إليه الكاظمي، ونتضامن مع جميع المساعي التي تحاول إنقاذ العراق من الوضع الصعب".
  • في المقابل، أبدت الكتل السياسية الشيعية القريبة من إيران تحفّظها على دعوة الكاظمي للحوار الوطني، ووضعت الشروط المسبقة، ومن بينها إخراج القوات الأجنبية من البلاد أولاً، مثلما جاء في بيان لتحالف "الفتح" الذي يتزعمه هادي العامري، كما استبعد بعض نواب التحالف، ومن بينهم النائب مختار الموسوي، أن يتمكن الكاظمي من تنظيم ذلك الحوار بسبب "صعوبة تقديم التنازلات الكبيرة التي ينبغي أن تقدمها الكتل السياسية"، بحسب تعبيره.
  • شكَّك ائتلاف "دولة القانون" بزعامة رئيس الوزراء الأسبق نوري المالكي بجدوى مبادرة الكاظمي، وقال النائب عن الائتلاف حسين المالكي إن "دعوات رؤساء الحكومات السابقة للمصالحة جميعها لاقت ترحيب الكتل السياسية، لكن التساؤل هل ستنجح خطوة الكاظمي هذه؟ لذلك نعتقد أن شرط النجاح هو تكاتف القوى السياسية لإنجاح المبادرة، والوقوف خلف رئيس الوزراء".
  • وبطبيعة الحال تباينت مواقف القوى "التشرينية"، التي تمثل الاحتجاجات الشعبية، من المبادرة، بين مَن رفضها بشكل قاطع وبين مَن وضع شروطاً للانخراط فيها، ومن بينها أن تُخصص لمناقشة الانتخابات المبكرة، وتوفير الأجواء الامنية المناسبة لإجرائها وضمان نزاهتها.

الأهداف المرجوة من المبادرة

يسعى رئيس الوزراء مصطفى الكاظمي، بحسب خطاباته الأخيرة، إلى وضع أسس عامة لبناء الدولة لاعتقاده بوجود خلل بنيوي في النظام السياسي منذ عام 2003، أدى إلى ضعف أجهزة ومؤسسات الدولة وفشلها في تحقيق التطور الاقتصادي والسياسي والأمني. وبما أن الكاظمي يعتقد بأن حكومته تحمل تطلعات حراك "تشرين" فإنه يسعى إلى تحقيق ذلك التغيير بالطرق الممكنة، ومنها الحوار الشامل حتى مع الأطراف التي كانت السبب وراء خروج التظاهرات والاحتجاج، ذلك أنها قوى سياسية كبيرة ومؤثِّرة ولن تختفي بسهولة من المشهد السياسي حتى بعد الانتخابات المقبلة، وعليه يريد للحوار أن يكون فرصةً قد تكون الأخيرة لمراجعة أخطاء الماضي والاتفاق على صيغ جديدة للعمل السياسي في ظل المتغيرات الكبيرة التي تشهدها المنطقة.

ولا يضع الكاظمي، أو غيره من الشخصيات التي قررت المشاركة في الحوار، سقفاً عالياً للنتائج المتوقعة من المبادرة، لكن المشاركة في الحوار الوطني تَعني الاعتراف الضمني بحاجة البلاد إلى عقد سياسي جديد، ربما تعجز القوى السياسية عن تحقيقه بواسطة آليات تعديل الدستور الجامدة، لكنها قادرة على الاتفاق على أسس عامة تكون قاعدةً لحوار آخر بعد الانتخابات، ومنها الاتفاق على اتخاذ قرارات صعبة لتحسين الاقتصاد العراقي والتي جاءت بعضها في "الورقة البيضاء" التي طرحها الكاظمي في أكتوبر 2020 لإصلاح الاقتصاد، والاتفاق على حصر السلاح بيد الدولة بعيداً عن تسميات "المقاومة" و"الجهاد"، وضبْط سلاح "الحشد الشعبي"، ووقف حملات التحريض والابتعاد عن خطاب العنف والكراهية، وإعلان الحياد الحقيقي في الصراع الدائر بين واشنطن وطهران، ورفض أي ممارسات لهذا الصراع داخل الأراضي العراقية. وأخيراً الاعتراف الرسمي بقوى "تشرين" بوصفها فاعلاً سياسياً واجتماعياً مؤثراً، والتحاور معها وإشراكها في الحوارات.

المعوقات المحتملة أمام المبادرة

  • الشروط المسبقة التي تضعها الأطراف المختلفة، خصوصاً تلك الموالية لإيران، وقد تمارس ضغوطاً كبيرة على الكاظمي لتأجيل أو إلغاء مبادرة الحوار الوطني.
  • مُقاطعة بعض القوى السياسية لجلسات الحوار الوطني، مثل القوى الشيعية المتطرفة والقوى "التشرينية"، وتحوُّل الحوار إلى اجتماعات للقوى المساندة للحكومة، مثل التيار الصدري وكتلة عمار الحكيم وائتلاف "النصر" بزعامة حيدر العبادي.
  • ضيق الوقت؛ فالموعد المفترض للانتخابات المبكرة هو شهر أكتوبر المقبل، والملفات المطروحة للنقاش تحتاج إلى وقت طويل قبل أن يتم التوافق بشأنها، كما أن بعض الأطراف العراقية تطالب بطرح مواضيع كثيرة أخرى قد تَفشل الأطراف المتحاورة في مناقشتها.
  • السخط الشعبي من الطبقة الحاكمة؛ فمعظم ردود الفعل الشعبية، خصوصاً على مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي، كانت تستنكر الحوار بين القوى التقليدية، وأغلب التعليقات على مبادرة الحوار كانت يائسة ولا تتوقع أي نتائج إيجابية منها لصالح البلاد.
  • غياب الضمانات؛ فكل المؤتمرات والحوارات التي جرت منذ عام 2006 وخُصصت للمصالحة أو للاتفاقات "الوطنية" فشلت في إلزام الأطراف المشاركة ببنود التعهدات والبيانات التي وقّعت عليها، الأمر الذي أثّر في مصداقية المؤتمرات التي تنظمها الحكومة أو أي طرف سياسي آخر.

الخلاصة والاستنتاجات

ستحاول الأطراف الشيعية المتطرفة عرقلةَ مبادرة الحوار الوطني أو إفراغها من محتواها حتى لا تُحتسب كدعاية انتخابية لصالح الكاظمي، خصوصاً أنها ستكون قبيل الانتخابات المبكرة. وفي المقابل، سيحاول الكاظمي توفيرَ دعم سياسي لحكومته، ذلك أنه لا يمتلك أي كتلة برلمانية، لذا يحتاج إلى دعم سياسي لتطبيق سياساته، خصوصاً في مجالات الأمن والاقتصاد والسياسة الخارجية، وهذا هو جوهر المبادرة أو أهم أسبابها غير المعلنة.

وأغلب الظن أن الأطراف الداعمة للحكومة، وفي مقدمتها تيار الصدر و"الحكمة" و"النصر"، ستُشارك بفاعلية في الحوار، إضافة إلى بعض قوى الاحتجاجات الشعبية، وهي الأطراف ذاتها المرشحة للتحالف فيما بينها بعد الانتخابات لتشكيل الكتلة البرلمانية الأكبر مع تيار "المرحلة" الذي سيمثل الكاظمي بطريقة غير مباشرة.

وقد يخلق الحوار انقساماً جديداً ضمن القوى "التشرينية"، بين تلك المتشددة التي تطالب بمقاطعة كل ما هو رسمي وحكومي وترفض الجلوس مع من تعتقد بأنهم قادة "الفساد والخراب" في البلاد، وبين القوى التي ترى ضرورة المشاركة الفاعلة من أجل تحقيق التغيير المطلوب، والحصول على ضمانات لتنظيم انتخابات تحظى بقدر كبير من النزاهة والشفافية.

ولن تُبارِك الأطراف الكردية مخرجات الحوار الوطني ما لم يُحقق أهدافها في حل المشاكل العالقة مع بغداد، لاسيما عودة سيطرة حكومة الإقليم على بعض أجزاء محافظة كركوك، وضمان حصص مالية ثابتة من الموازنة، وكما جرت العادة ستكون موافقتها على بعض بنود الاتفاقات أو البيانات التي ستخرج من الحوار الوطني محلَّ مساومة وتفاوض من أجل الحصول على مكاسب مادية وآنية للإقليم الكردي.

أحدث الإيجازات

The Iraqi Prime Minister Mustafa Al-Kadhimi's initiative for national dialogue, which he launched on 8 March 2021, came as an attempt to benefit from the positive atmosphere left in the country by the visit of the Pope of the Vatican, and to pave the ground for the general elections scheduled for October 2021. However, the initiative raised a clear difference in the reactions of the various Iraqi actors.

This paper sheds light on the content of the initiative, its chances of success, and its impact on the general situation in the country, and the early elections in particular.

The content of the initiative

In a televised address on the occasion of the conclusion of the visit by the Pope of the Vatican to Iraq, Kadhimi stated that the National Dialogue Initiative concerns "the various antagonists, namely the political actors, the popular and youth activists, protesters and opponents of the government", and called on them to sit at the "table of responsible dialogue before the people and history". According to the initiative, the aim of the dialogue is “to give priority to the homeland’s interests, disavow the language of convulsive rhetoric and political defamation, prepare for the success of the early elections, and give the people the opportunity to hope and have confidence in the state and the democratic system”. Kadhimi also indicated that “the idea of ​​a national dialogue could also contribute to solving all crises between the federal government and the Kurdistan Regional Government (KRG)”.

According to sources close to Kadhimi, the most important files that will be discussed at the dialogue table are the following:

  • Discussing the mechanisms and means of restricting the possession of weapons to the state, halting missile attacks on foreign forces, and paving the way for the government to carry out its security duties without interference by the armed militias, especially in the areas liberated from Daesh (ISIS).
  • Discussing the foreign military presence in the country and the dialogue with the US side to fix the withdrawal schedule according to the need and development of the Iraqi forces, and seeking to resolve the problem of the Kurdistan Workers Party’ (PKK) to prevent Turkish interventions in northern Iraq.
  • Attempting to agree on broad lines for the country's foreign policy, and developing it with the countries of the world and the region.
  • The election issue and the necessary political consensus in relation to the date of dissolving Parliament, the agreement to divide the electoral districts, and the United Nations (UN) supervision of the polling process.
  • Examining the repercussions of the economic crisis and the steps of the financial and regulatory reforms put forward by the government.
  • The outstanding problems between Baghdad and the Kurdistan Region, and the possibility of finding final solutions to them.

The government has not yet determined the dates and number of the dialogue sessions and the method of participating therein. Apparently, it has put the idea forward for public discussion in the media and social media to monitor popular and official reactions so that the issues put forward for discussion would later be formally identified, given that it may disqualify the actors that attacked the initiative and questioned the government’s intentions.

The positions of the Iraqi actors

  • The leader of the Hikmah (Wisdom) Movement Ammar al-Hakim was the first to support Kadhimi’s call. He said in a tweet on Twitter: "We affirm that the opportunity is ripe and the atmosphere is favourable to proceed with this dialogue. We renew the call on all the political, social and academic actors to engage in a dialogue that accommodates all constructive visions and ideas to address the failures and rectify the shortcomings".
  • Muqtada al-Sadr supported the idea of ​​dialogue between the political protagonists in the country, but he stipulated that it be under UN supervision. He said in a statement that "everyone is required to activate reformist dialogue between all the protagonists, including the protesting youth generation".
  • The President of the Kurdistan Region Nechirvan Barzani also welcomed the dialogue initiative, and affirmed that the Kurds are fully prepared to reach final agreements on the political differences between Erbil and Baghdad.
  • The Secretary-General of the Arab Project Movement Khamis al-Khanjar called for the dialogue called for by Kadhimi "to be courageous and far from the logic of vengeance and retaliation". He said in a tweet: "We support the national dialogue called for by Kadhimi, and we stand in solidarity with all efforts that try to save Iraq from the difficult situation".
  • On the other hand, the Shiite political blocs close to Iran expressed their reservations about Kadhimi's call for a national dialogue, and set preconditions, including the removal of foreign forces from the country first, as indicated in a statement by the Fatah (Conquest) Coalition led by Hadi al-Amiri. Some of the Coalition Members of Parliament (MPs), including the MP Mukhtar al-Mousawi, also considered it unlkely that Kadhimi would be able to organise that dialogue because of "the difficulty of making the major concessions that the political blocs should make", as he put it.
  • The State of Law Coalition, led by former Prime Minister Nouri al-Maliki, questioned the feasibility of Kadhimi’s initiative. The MP for the Coalition Hussein al-Maliki said that “all the calls of previous prime ministers for reconciliation were welcomed by the political blocs, but the question is: will this step by Kadhimi succeed? That is why we believe that the condition for success is for the political actors to join forces to make the initiative successful, and to stand behind the Prime Minister.
  • Of course, the positions of the October actors that represent the popular protests varied vis-à-vis the initiative, between those who categorically rejected it and those who set conditions for participation therein, including that it be devoted to discussing the early elections, providing the appropriate security environment for their conduct, and ensuring their integrity.

The desired objectives of the initiative

Based on his recent statements, Prime Minister Mustafa al-Kadhimi seeks to lay general foundations for building the state, because he believes that there is a structural defect in the political system since 2003 which has led to the weakness of the state's apparatus and institutions and their failure to achieve economic, political and security development. Since Kadhimi believes that his government bears the aspirations of the October Movement, he seeks to achieve that change by possible means, including the comprehensive dialogue, even with the actors that were the reason behind the demonstrations and protests, given that they are large and influential political actors that will not easily disappear from the political scene even after the elections. Thus, he wants the dialogue to be an opportunity that may be the last one to review the mistakes of the past and agree on new formulas for political action in the light of the great changes taking place in the region.

Kadhimi, or indeed the other figures who decided to participate in the dialogue, does not set a high ceiling for the expected results of the initiative. However, participating in the national dialogue amounts to the implicit recognition of the country’s need for a new political contract, which the political actors may not be able to achieve through the rigid constitutional amendment mechanisms. Nevertheless, they are capable of agreeing on general foundations that would constitute the basis for another dialogue after the elections, including the agreement to take difficult decisions to improve the Iraqi economy, some of which appeared in the "white paper" that was put forward by Kadhimi in October 2020 to reform the economy, and the agreement to restrict the possession of weapons to the state, give up denominations such as “resistance” and “Jihad”, control the weapons of the Popular Mobilisation Committee (PMC, al-Hashd al-Shaabi), stop incitement campaigns and disavow the rhetoric of violence and hatred, declare true neutrality in the ongoing conflict between Washington and Tehran, reject any practices of this conflict inside Iraqi territories, and finally, officially recognise the October Movement as an influential political and social actor, and hold a dialogue with it and get it involved in the dialogues.

Potential obstacles to the initiative

  • The preconditions set by the various actors, especially those loyal to Iran, which may exert great pressure on Kadhimi to postpone or cancel the national dialogue initiative.
  • The boycott by some political actors of the national dialogue sessions, such as the extremist Shiite actors and the October actors, and the transformation of the dialogue into meetings of pro-government actors, such as the Sadrist Movement, the Ammar al-Hakim bloc, and the Nasr (Victory) Coalition led by Haider al-Abadi.
  • Shortage of time, given that the presumed date for the early elections is October 2021 and that the issues put forward for discussion need a long time before consensus is reached thereon. Besides, some Iraqi actors are demanding that many other issues be raised that the interlocutors may fail to discuss.
  • Popular discontent with the ruling class, given that most of the popular reactions, especially on the social media, had been denouncing the dialogue between the traditional actors, and most of the comments on the dialogue initiative were desperate and did not expect any positive results from it for the benefit of the country.
  • Absence of guarantees, given that all conferences and dialogues that took place since 2006 and were devoted to reconciliation or "national" agreements failed to commit the participating parties to the terms of the pledges and the statements that they signed, which affected the credibility of the conferences organised by the government or any other political actor.

Conclusion

The extremist Shiite actors will try to obstruct the National Dialogue Initiative or empty it of its content so that it is not counted as electoral propaganda in favour of Kadhimi, especially that it will be immediately prior to the early elections. On the other hand, Kadhimi will try to provide political support to his government, given that he does not have any parliamentary bloc. Therefore, he needs political support to implement his policies, especially in the areas of security, economy and foreign policy, which is the essence of the Initiative or the most important unspoken reason for it.

The actors supporting the government, led by the Sadr and Wisdom Movements and the Victory Coalition will most likely actively participate in the dialogue, in addition to some actors of the popular protests. These are the same actors that are likely to form an alliance among themselves after the elections to form the largest parliamentary bloc with the Marhala (Stage) Movement which will indirectly represent Kadhimi.

The dialogue may create a new division within the October Movement, between hard-liners who demand a boycott of everything official and governmental and refuse to sit with those whom they believe are the leaders of the "corruption and devastation" in the country, and those who see the need for active participation in order to achieve the required change and obtain assurances for the organisation of elections that are characterised by a great deal of fairness and transparency.

The Kurdish actors would not bless the outcomes of the national dialogue unless it achieves their objectives in resolving the outstanding problems with Baghdad, especially the restoration of control by the KRG over some parts of the Kirkuk Governorate, and ensuring stable financial shares of the budget. As usual, their approval of some of the terms of the agreements or statements that will emerge from the national dialogue will be the subject of bargaining and negotiation in order to obtain material and immediate gains for the Kurdish Region.

Latest Briefs