عملت حكومة رئيس الوزراء العراقي مصطفى الكاظمي منذ الأيام الأولى لتسلُّمها مهامها، على وضع إجراءات عملية لإصلاح قطاع الأمن في العراق، وهو ما جعلها في مواجهة مستمرة مع الفصائل الولائية المرتبطة بإيران، والرافضة لأي عملية إصلاح للأجهزة الأمنية العراقية، خصوصاً عندما تستهدف هذه الإصلاحات وجودها وعناصرها، وهو ما أشارت إليه مثلاً التدابير الأخيرة التي اتخذها جهاز المخابرات الوطني العراقي، عبر نقْل عددٍ من عناصره للعمل في المنافذ الحدودية العراقية. ورغم تأكيد الجهاز على الطبيعة الفنية والإدارية لهذا الإجراء، إلا إن الفصائل أصرَّت على إعطائهِ بُعْداً سياسياً، وجعلتهُ مدخلاً لتصعيد التوتر القائِم مع حكومة الكاظمي.

المقاربة الأمنية لحكومة الكاظمي

اعتمدت حكومة الكاظمي مقاربة أمنية تجمع بين البعدين الخشن والناعم، في التعامل مع الفصائل الولائية ووجودها داخل الأجهزة الأمنية العراقية، تمثلت أطرها العامة في الآتي:

  • تمكين الدولة العراقية من خلال الحد المتدرج من قوة هذه الفصائل، وعلى نحوٍ يجعل من خيار مواجهتها واحتوائها أكثر سهولة في مراحل لاحقة، وضمن هذه السياسة اندرجت إجراءات استهداف المناصب الحكومية التي استحوذت عليها الفصائل الولائية بطريقة مخالفة للقانون، واحتواء مكاتبها الاقتصادية التي تتحكم بالثروات والمال العام[1]، وتقليص وجود العناصر التابعة لها داخل الأجهزة الأمنية، عبر عمليات الاستبدال والنقل والإقالة، بصورة قانونية ودستورية، مع الحرص على عدم إعطائها بُعْداً سياسياً.
  • حصر الدعم الدولي بالقوات الأمنية الرسمية العراقية، وحرمان الفصائل الولائية منها، من أجل تمكين القوات العراقية، وزيادة الفارق بينها وبين الفصائل، ومحاولة إيصالها إلى مرحلة الاندماج الطوعي داخل الأجهزة الأمنية العراقية.

ورغم نجاح هذه المقاربة في التضييق على عمل الفصائل الولائية، إلا أنها واجهت تحدِّيات مهمة، تتمثل في استمرار امتلاك هذه الفصائل القدرة على الاستفزاز الأمني وتهديد الاستقرار السياسي، ما دفع حكومة الكاظمي إلى القبول بتوازنات مرحلية، حتى تستعيد الدولة قوتها الكاملة، فضلاً عن إصرار الكتل السياسية الشيعية على الاستحواذ على المناصب القيادية في الأجهزة الأمنية الحساسة، بما فيها جهازا المخابرات الوطني والأمن الوطني، اللذان يُداران بالوكالة، في مقابل سعي حكومة الكاظمي إلى إبعاد هذه المناصب عن الاستحقاقات السياسية، وتحديداً تلك المتعلقة بالقوى السياسية التي لديها علاقات متوترة مع الولايات المتحدة.

تدابير حكومة الكاظمي لإصلاح قطاع الأمن

اتخذت حكومة الكاظمي العديد من الإجراءات والتدابير المتصلة بإصلاح قطاع الأمن، وتقليص قوة الفصائل الولائية تدريجياً، وشملت تلك التدابير الآتي:

  • اقتصادياً، أجرت حكومة الكاظمي منذ 14 سبتمبر 2020 العديد من التغييرات في المؤسسات الاقتصادية والمنافذ الحدودية والموانئ، إلى جانب هيئتي النزاهة والأوراق المالية، من أجل تعزيز سيطرة الحكومة على مصادر الدخل الوطني، وتأمين الأموال للحكومة لمواجهة الأزمة الاقتصادية، وفي الوقت نفسه حرمان الفصائل من مصادر مالية مهمة غير مشروعة.[2]
  • أمنياً، أجرت حكومة الكاظمي منذ 4 يوليو 2020 العديد من التغييرات الأمنية التي طالت جهاز الأمن الوطني ومستشاريته، إلى جانب قيادة العمليات الوطنية وقيادة الدفاع الجوي وفرقة القوات الخاصة بحماية المنطقة الخضراء، من أجل خلق ظروف تُمكِّن الحكومة العراقية من استعادة سلطتها من الفصائل المزعزعة للاستقرار. وتعمل هذه التغييرات بشكلٍ وثيق مع جهود الإصلاح داخل هيئة الحشد الشعبي [3]، والتي تمثل إحدى العقبات المهمة في هذا المجال.
  • استخبارياً، أجرت حكومة الكاظمي منذ 7 يوليو 2020 العديد من التغييرات التي طالت الأجهزة الاستخبارية، وذلك عبر إقالة رئيس مديرية الاستخبارات العسكرية في وزارة الدفاع العراقية، وإقالة وكيل وزير الداخلية لشؤون الاستخبارات، وإقالة مدير عام استخبارات ومكافحة الإرهاب بوزارة الداخلية (خلية الصقور)، وإقالة مدير قسم الاستخبارات وأمن عمليات بغداد، في إطار مساعي أوسع لتقليص دور الفصائل داخل هذه الأجهزة الحساسة، بعد أن كانت قد تغلغلت كثيراً داخلها خلال فترة حكومة عادل عبد المهدي.
  • سياسياً، عملت حكومة الكاظمي، وبنجاح متفاوت، على عدد من التدابير والخطوات السياسية ذات الصلة بمساعي إصلاح قطاع الأمن العراقي، أهمها الآتي:
  1. الدَّفْع نحو تحويل الدور الإيراني في العراق إلى ضابط لحركة الفصائل الموالية لطهران، ورفْع اليد عن بعضها.
  2. محاولة خلْق إجماع سياسي عراقي على إدانة الهجمات الصاروخية التي تنفذها "خلايا الكاتيوشا" المرتبطة بالفصائل الولائية، والتي تستهدف المواقع والسفارات والمصالح الأجنبية.
  3. التوصل لتفاهمات مع التحالف الدولي وحلف الشمال الأطلسي، لممارسة أدوار أوسع في تطوير الأجهزة الأمنية العراقية ودعمها.

تحديات إصلاح قطاع الأمن في العراق

تُواجِه جهود حكومة الكاظمي لإصلاح قطاع الأمن في العراق جملةً من التحديات، أهمها الآتي:

  • مُعارضة الفصائل الولائية لتدابير إصلاح قطاع الأمن العراقي، واعتبارها جزءاً من استراتيجية أمريكية مضادة لها.
  • رفْض أغلب القوى السياسية الشيعية أية عملية إصلاحية تطال الأجهزة الأمنية، خشية تَعرُّض المكتسبات السياسية التي حققتها بعد عام 2003 للخطر.
  • التوتر الأمريكي-الإيراني وانعكاسه السلبي على الواقعين السياسي والأمني في العراق، بما في ذلك عرقلته العديد من البرامج الإصلاحية التي تحاول الحكومة العراقية إنجازها.
  • استشراء الفساد ومظاهر التغلغل الحزبي داخل الأجهزة الأمنية، وعدم كفاية التدريب والتنظيم لمنتسبي تلك الأجهزة، ما انعكس سلباً على قوتها واستقلاليتها.
  • ازدواجية الأدوار والمهام لمختلف وكالات الاستخبارات والقوات الأمنية، والتداخُل فيما بينها.[4]
  • انسحاب بعثة التحالف الدولي الخاصة بتحديث وتدريب القوات الأمنية الرسمية العراقية، من العديد من القواعد العسكرية التي كانت توجد فيها، بفعل استمرار الهجمات الصاروخية التي تستهدفها من قبل الفصائل المسلحة المنفلتة.

استنتاجات

حاولت الفصائل الولائية مؤخراً الربط بين مجمل الإصلاحات التي أجرتها حكومة مصطفى الكاظمي في العديد من أجهزة ومؤسسات القطاع الأمني في العراق، وتوصيفها على أنها تأتي في إطار مخطط لاستهدافها وضرْبها مستقبلاً. ورغم تأكيد حكومة الكاظمي بأن هذه الإصلاحات تأتي في إطار إعادة الثقة بالأجهزة الأمنية العراقية من قبل المجتمع الدولي، وتقويتها وزيادة استقلاليتها، خصوصاً أن العراق لا يزال يواجه تهديدات تنظيم داعش، وتحديات أمنية أخرى، إلا أن هذه الإجراءات الإصلاحية قد تتسبب في نشوب مواجهة بين الحكومة والفصائل الموالية لإيران مستقبلاً، لا سيما أن هذه الفصائل ليست في وارد الاستسلام أمام انهيار مكاسبها الأمنية والسياسية والمالية التي حصلت عليها بعد الحرب على "داعش".

والمؤكد أن مواجهة محتملة كهذه، ستكون صعبة وغير مضمونة النتائج، بالنظر إلى أن طرفيها يمتلكان أدوات قوة أحدهما ضد الآخر، وما يزيد من تعقيد هذه المواجهة، أن نطاقها قد يتجاوز الحدود العراقية، ليجد صداه في البيئة الأمنية الخارجية للعراق، لا سيما في ظل استمرار التوتر في العلاقات الأمريكية-الإيرانية، وبقاء الداخل العراقي مسرحاً محتملاً للصدام بين الدولتين.

الهوامش

[1] هشام الهاشمي، المواجهة مع الفصائل المهجنة، موقع العالم الجديد، 2 يوليو 2020. https://bit.ly/3tGcYp0

[2] Michael Knights, Kadhimi’s Rolling Reshuffle (Part 2): Protecting Iraq’s Economic Institutions and Borders, The Washington Institute for Near East Policy, 15 Sep 2020. https://bit.ly/3f0VXSm

[3] Michael Knights and Alex Almeida, Kadhimi’s Rolling Reshuffle (Part 1): Military Command Changes, The Washington Institute for Near East Policy, 14 Sep 2020. https://bit.ly/3r4c5Vv

[4] Michael Knights, Pierre Morcos and Charles Thépaut, NATO in Iraq: Not a Surge, The Washington Institute for Near East Policy, 5 Mar 2021. https://bit.ly/3s7UKMH

 

أحدث الإيجازات

Since the first days of assuming its duties, the government of Iraqi Prime Minister Mustafa al-Kadhimi has worked to put in place practical measures to reform the security sector in Iraq. This has made it in constant confrontation with the loyalist factions that are linked to Iran and that reject any reform process of the Iraqi security services, especially when those reforms target the existence and elements of those factions. This was demonstrated, for example, by the recent measures taken by the Iraqi National Intelligence Service (INIS), namely the deployment of a number of its members at Iraqi border crossings. While the INIS emphasised that this procedure was of a purely technical and administrative nature, the factions insisted on conferring a political dimension on it, and made of it a pretext to escalate the existing tension with the Kadhimi government.

The security approach of the Kadhimi government

The Kadhimi government has adopted a security approach that combines both the hard and soft dimensions in dealing with the loyalist factions and their presence within the Iraqi security services. The general frameworks of the said approach are as follows:

  • Empowering the Iraqi state through the gradual limitation of the power of those factions, in a manner that would make the option of confronting and containing them easier at later stages. This policy included the procedures of targeting the government positions that were acquired by the loyalist factions in violation of the law, containing their economic offices that control the wealth and public funds,[1] and reducing the presence of their affiliated elements within the security services through the processes of replacement, transfer and dismissal, in a legal and constitutional manner, while being careful not to give the process a political dimension.
  • Restricting international support to the official Iraqi security forces, and depriving the loyalist factions of it in order to empower the Iraqi forces, increase the difference between them and the factions, and try to bring the latter to the stage of voluntary integration into the Iraqi security services.

While this approach was successful in restricting the work of the loyalist factions, it faced important challenges, namely the continued possession by those factions of the capability of security provocation and threatening political stability, which prompted the Kadhimi government to accept interim balances, until the state regained its full strength, in addition to the insistence by the Shiite political blocs on assuming leadership positions in the sensitive security services, including the INIS and the National Security Services (INSS), which are run on an interim basis, as opposed to the endeavour by the Kadhimi government to exclude those positions from political considerations, specifically those related to the political actors that have tense relations with the US.

The Kadhimi government’s measures to reform the security sector

The Kadhimi government has taken many procedures and measures related to the reform of the security sector and gradually reducing the power of the loyalist factions. Those measures included the following:

  • At the economic level, since 14 September 2020, the Kadhimi government has made many changes in the economic institutions, border crossings and ports, in addition to the Integrity and Securities Authorities, in order to enhance the government's control over the sources of national income and secure funds for the government to confront the economic crisis, while at the same time depriving the factions of important illicit financial sources.[2]
  • At the security level, since 4 July 2020, the Kadhimi government has made many security changes that affect the INSS and its Advisory, in addition to the National Operations Command, the Air Defence Command and the Special Forces Division for the Protection of the Green Zone, in order to create conducive conditions for the Iraqi government to regain its authority from the destabilising factions. Those changes go hand in hand with the reform efforts within the Popular Mobilisation Committee (PMC, al-Hashd al-Shaabi),[3] which constitutes an important obstacle in this domain.
  • At the intelligence level, since 7 July 2020, the Kadhimi government has made many changes to the intelligence services, including the dismissal of the Director of Military Intelligence at the Iraqi Ministry of Defence, the dismissal of the Interior Minister’s Undersecretary for Intelligence Affairs, the dismissal of the Director General of Intelligence and Combating Terrorism at the Ministry of the Interior (the Falcons Cell), and the dismissal of the Director of the Intelligence and Security Department for Baghdad Operations, as part of broader efforts to reduce the role of the factions within those sensitive agencies, after they had deeply penetrated them during the period of the government of Adel Abdul Mahdi.
  • At the political level, the Kadhimi government has worked, with varying degrees of success, on a number of measures and political steps related to the efforts to reform the Iraqi security sector, the most important of which being the following:
  1. Pushing for the transformation of the Iranian role in Iraq into a regulator of the movement of the pro-Tehran factions, and for Iran to abandon some of those factions.
  2. Attempting to create an Iraqi political consensus to condemn the missile attacks carried out by the Katyusha Cells associated with the loyalist factions, which target foreign sites, embassies and interests.
  3. Reaching understandings with the International Alliance and the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) to play broader roles in developing and supporting the Iraqi security apparatus.

Challenges to the reform of the security sector in Iraq

The efforts of the Kadhimi government to reform the security sector in Iraq face a number of challenges, the most important of which being the following:

  • The opposition by the loyalist factions to the measures to reform the Iraqi security sector, considering those measures as part of a US strategy to counter them.
  • Rejection by most of the Shiite political powers of any reform process that affects the security services for fear of threatening the political benefits they gained after 2003.
  • The US-Iranian tension and its negative impact on the political and security realities in Iraq, including its obstruction of many reform programmes that the Iraqi government is trying to implement.
  • Widespread corruption and manifestations of partisan infiltration within the security services, and the insufficient training and discipline of members of those services, which negatively affected their strength and independence.
  • The duplication of roles and tasks of the various intelligence agencies and security forces, and the overlapping between them.[4]
  • The withdrawal of the international coalition mission to modernise and train the official Iraqi security forces from many of the military bases in which they were located due to the continued missile attacks targeting them by the unruly armed factions.

Conclusions

The loyalist factions have recently tried to link the overall security reforms made by the government of Mustafa al-Kadhimi in many security sector agencies and institutions in Iraq, and to characterise those reforms as coming within the framework of a scheme to target and strike them in the future. Despite the assertion by the Kadhimi government that those reforms come within the framework of restoring the confidence of the international community in the Iraqi security services, and strengthening those services and increasing their independence, especially that Iraq continues to face Deash (ISIS) threats and other security challenges, those reform measures may lead to a confrontation between the government and the pro-Iran factions in the future, especially that those factions are not willing to give in to the collapse of the security benefits they gained after the war on Daesh.

What is certain is that such a potential confrontation would be difficult and its results unguaranteed, given that the two sides have tools of force against each other. What makes this confrontation more complicated is that its scope may go beyond the Iraqi borders, extending to Iraq’s external security environment, especially in the light of the continued tension in US-Iranian relations, and the fact that the Iraqi interior remains a potential scene for a clash between the two countries.

References

[1] Hisham al-Hashimi, Confrontation with the hybrid factions, al-Aalem al-Jadeed website, 2 July 2020. Available at: https://bit.ly/3tGcYp0

[2] Michael Knights, Kadhimi’s Rolling Reshuffle (Part 2): Protecting Iraq’s Economic Institutions and Borders, The Washington Institute for Near East Policy, 15 Sep 2020. https://bit.ly/3f0VXSm

[3] Michael Knights and Alex Almeida, Kadhimi’s Rolling Reshuffle (Part 1): Military Command Changes, The Washington Institute for Near East Policy, 14 Sep 2020. https://bit.ly/3r4c5Vv

[4] Michael Knights, Pierre Morcos and Charles Thépaut, NATO in Iraq: Not a Surge, The Washington Institute for Near East Policy, 5 Mar 2021. https://bit.ly/3s7UKMH

 

Latest Briefs