الانتخابات ومستقبل النظام السياسي في زيمبابوي

مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 09 أغسطس 2018

شهدت زيمبابوي مؤخراً إجراء أول انتخابات رئاسية وتشريعية ومحلية، بعد 40 عاماً من حكم الرئيس روبرت موجابي، حيث أسفرت الانتخابات عن احتفاظ إيمرسون منانجاجوا برئاسة البلاد، وفوز الحزب الحاكم " الاتحاد الوطني الزيمبابوي الأفريقي– الجبهة الحاكمة"، الذي يُعرف اختصاراً بـ"زانو"، بأغلبية مقاعد البرلمان والمجالس المحلية، متفوقاً على حزب المعارضة الأساسي "حركة التغيير الديمقراطي" بقيادة نيلسون شاميسا، لتدخل البلاد حلقةً جديدة من العنف، بسبب رفض المعارضة لنتائج الانتخابات، الأمر الذي يثير تساؤلات جمة بشأن مستقبل النظام السياسي في زيمبابوي، صاحبة ثاني أكبر اقتصاد في إقليم الجنوب الأفريقي.  

إدارة العملية الانتخابية

أعلنت اللجنة الوطنية العليا للانتخابات بدء عملية الاقتراع في 30 يوليو 2018، حيث ترشح للرئاسة 23 مرشحاً، وهو أكبر عدد من المرشحين منذ استقلال البلاد عام 1980. وكان على رأس هؤلاء الرئيس الحالي منانجواجا، والمحامي القس شاميسا. كما تقدم آلاف المرشحين لخوض الانتخابات البرلمانية والمحلية، سواء من المستقلين أو الممثلين لأكثر من 120 حزباً سياسياً.

قدم منانجاجوا نفسه للشعب باعتباره رجل الدولة القادر على تصحيح المسار، بهدف بناء دولة ديمقراطية جديدة حديثة. كما طرح برنامجاً انتخابياً يقوم على تحسين العلاقات السياسية بين زبمبابوي والدول الغربية، وخلق مناخ اقتصادي جاذب للاستثمارات الأجنبية، بما يسهم في زيادة معدلات النمو، ويخلق الآلاف من فرص العمل، ويحسّن الدخول ومستويات المعيشة. كما تعهد بأن تسير العملية الانتخابية بكل حرية ونزاهة، مؤكداً ثقته الكاملة في تحقيق النصر الساحق. 

أما شاميسا، فقد خاض الانتخابات تحت شعار التغيير، مركزاً على مشكلات البلاد الراهنة، وبخاصة انتهاك حقوق الإنسان، والفساد السياسي، وتنامي معدلات الجريمة، وارتفاع التضخم، ونقص السلع الأساسية، وانتشار الفقر والمرض. كما حرص شاميسا (40 عاماً) على اكتساب تأييد فئة الشباب بالبلاد، الذين يمثلون 43.5% من الناخبين، مؤكداً أن زيمبابوي لا تحتاج إلى رجل كبير السن، بقدر احتياجها إلى أفكار كبيرة وطموحة، ملمحاً إلى كون منانجواجوا (75 عاماً) ينتمي لطائفة الحكام المستبدين بالقارة الأفريقية، وأن تصعيده إلى الرئاسة في نوفمبر 2017 –خلفاً للرئيس موجابي– من طرف الجيش لم يكن بهدف استعادة الديمقراطية وإنقاذ الاقتصاد الوطني، وإنما كان بهدف الحفاظ على شبكة المصالح السياسية والمالية التي تجمع أعضاء التحالف الحاكم. 

تحليل نتائج الانتخابات   

شهدت الانتخابات إقبالاً واضحاً، قدّرته اللجنة الانتخابية بـ 75% من العدد الإجمالي للناخبين، والذي يناهز 5 ملايين ناخب. وكشفت النتائج عن فوز منانجاجوا برئاسة البلاد، محققاً 50.8% من الأصوات مقابل 44.3% لشاميسا، بالإضافة إلى نجاح حزب زانو في حصد 144 من مقاعد البرلمان مقابل 61 مقعداً لحركة التغيير الديمقراطي، بما يؤهل زانو للقيام بتعديل الدستور، بعدما حصد أكثر من ثلثي المقاعد البرلمانية.

ويمكن تفسير نتائج الانتخابات بكون منانجاجوا موجوداً في السلطة بالفعل، بالإضافة إلى نجاح حملته في مواجهة الفساد خلال الأشهر الماضية، ومساندة قادة حزب زانو له، وتأييد العديد من الأطراف الأخرى له، وبخاصة القوات المسلحة ووسائل الإعلام، وجمعية المحاربين القدماء، التي ترتبط تاريخياً بالحزب الحاكم. فضلاً عن المساندة الإقليمية القوية التي تلقاها منانجاجوا وحزبه من أعضاء "مجموعة التنمية لدول أفريقيا الجنوبية" (سادك)، وبخاصة دولة جنوب أفريقيا، التي يتولى رئيسها رئاسة المجموعة في دورتها الحالية.  

في المقابل افتقر شاميسا إلى الخبرة والجماهيرية اللازمة لمنافسة غريمه القوى منانجاجوا، الملقب بالتمساح، وبخاصة أنه تولى قيادة حركة التغيير الديمقراطي قبل عدة أشهر فقط، عقب رحيل قائدها السياسي المخضرم، ورئيس الوزراء السابق مورجان تسفانجيراي.  

ردود الأفعال الداخلية والخارجية 

رحب منانجاجوا بنتائج الانتخابات، مؤكداً نزاهتها، وأكد أنه سيكون رئيساً للجميع، بمن فيهم هؤلاء الذين لم ينتخبوه. في المقابل رفضت المعارضة نتائج الانتخابات، مؤكدة أن العملية الانتخابية شابها الكثير من الخروقات التي تقدح في صدقيتها، وأهمها ترويع الناخبين، وغياب الأمن، وانحياز اللجنة الانتخابية والقوات المسلحة والإعلام لمرشح الحزب الحاكم. لذا أكد شاميسا تمسكه بحقه القانوني في الطعن على نتائج الانتخابات أمام القضاء. كما اندلعت احتجاجات في العاصمة هراراي، وهو ما قابله النظام بنشر قوات الأمن في البلاد، وقمع الاحتجاجات ما أدى إلى مقتل ثلاثة من المُحتجين.

أما عن الموقف الإقليمي والدولي، فقد أكد الاتحاد الأفريقي ومجموعة "سادك" أن الانتخابات تمتعت بالشفافية والنزاهة وفقاً للمعايير الأفريقية، فيما أكد المراقبون الأوروبيون عدم تمتع العملية الانتخابية بالنزاهة الكافية.        

مستقبل النظام السياسي في زيمبابوي

في ضوء نتائج الانتخابات، والمواقف المتباينة إزائها يمكن توقع حدوث سيناريوهَين اثنين في زيمبابوي: أولهما اعتماد نتائج الانتخابات، والاعتراف الدولي بمنانجاجوا رئيساً للبلاد؛ وثانيهما هو إبرام صفقة سياسية يتم خلالها اقتسام السلطة بين منانجاجوا وشاميسا.

لكن يبدو أن السيناريو الأول هو الأرجح، ويعود ذلك إلى الشعبية التي يتمتع بها منانجاجوا في الشارع السياسي، وخاصة بعد مساهمته في إزاحة موجابي عن السلطة، فضلاً عن قوة التيار المساند له في حزب زانو والقوات المسلحة، والدعم الإقليمي الذي يتمتع به، ووجود خطوط اتصال بينه وبين القوى الدولية المؤثّرة، وعلى رأسها الولايات المتحدة وبريطانيا والصين، وسعيه لاستعادة عضوية بلاده في الكومنولث بعد تجميدها منذ 2002، وحرص صناديق الاستثمار الدولية على فتح صفحة جديدة مع زيمبابوي.

وتزداد احتمالات تحقق هذا السيناريو مع انحسار أعمال العنف بالبلاد، والانقسام الداخلي الذي تعانيه حركة التغيير الديمقراطي المعارضة، وعدم توافر المعطيات اللازمة لفرض نوع من تقاسم السلطة، حيث يوجد بالفعل نائب قوي للرئيس هو قسطنطينو تشيوينجا، الجنرال السابق صاحب الدور الأكبر في إطاحة موجابي. كما أن تجربة تقاسم السلطة لم تنجح مسبقاً؛ فقد تم تعيين مورجان تسفانجيراي رئيساً للوزراء عام 2009، بضغط غربي على الرئيس موجابي، للتخلي عن مصادرة أراضي المزارعين البيض وفق برنامجه للإصلاح الزراعي، فلم تدم تلك التجربة أكثر من عامين ونصف عام، بسبب فقدان الثقة المتبادل وتداخل الاختصاصات، ومن المرجح أنها لن تنجح الآن أيضاً.     

 لكن انفراد منانجاجوا بالسلطة لا يعني أن زيمبابوى سوف تسير في طريق سلس نحو الاستقرار السياسي والتعافي الاقتصادي. فهذا الأمر مرهون باتخاذ إجراءات متوازية عديدة على صعيد الإصلاح السياسي، وإعادة الاندماج في الاقتصاد العالمي، وتحسين مستويات المعيشة، وذلك حتى لا يصبح منانجاجوا هو الوجه الآخر لموجابي.

 

أحدث الإيجازات

General Elections and the Future of the Political System in Zimbabwe

 

Following Robert Mugabe’s 40-year rule, general elections were held in Zimbabwe on July 30, 2018 to elect a new president and the members of both houses of parliament. The ruling ZANU-PF party won the majority of local council and parliamentary seats and the incumbent president, Emmerson Mnangagwa, was returned. ZANU-PF was running against the Movement for Democratic Change (MDC) led by Nelson Chamisa. The opposition still refutes the results of the elections and the country may now be primed for a new cycle of violence, raising significant questions concerning the future of the political system in the second biggest economy in southern Africa.

 

Management of the electoral process

 

Zimbabwe’s Electoral Commission opened polling on July 30, 2018, and a total of 23 candidates stood for president – the highest number since independence in 1980. At the top of the list were the sitting president, Emmerson Mnangagwa, and the lawyer and priest Nelson Chamisa. Thousands of candidates ran in the parliamentary and local council elections, either as independents or as representatives of one of the 120+ political parties in the country.  

 

Mnangagwa presented himself as a man capable of achieving a national course-correction to build a new, modern democracy. He also drew up an electoral program based on improving political relations between Zimbabwe and the West and attracting foreign investment to support growth, create thousands of job opportunities and improve living conditions. Moreover, he vowed that the country would have smooth and transparent elections.

 

Chamisa ran under the slogan “yes for change,” focusing on addressing the country’s contemporary problems including human rights violations, political corruption, rising crime and inflation, shortages in basic commodities, and the spread of poverty and disease. The 40-year-old Chamisa also sought to win the support of the country’s youth, which accounts for 43.5% of voters. He argued that Zimbabwe did not need an old man as much as it required bold, innovative ideas. He also hinted that Mnangagwa (at 75) belonged to the totalitarian cult that long ruled Africa. He added that Mnangagwa’s rise to power in 2017 – as Mugabe’s successor and with the help of the army – was not predicated on the need to restore democracy or save the national economy; rather, the purpose was to protect the ruling coalition’s network of personal, political and financial interests.

 

Analyzing the results

 

According to the estimates of the higher electoral commission, voter turnout was very high (nearly 75% of the 5 million eligible voters). The results showed that Mnangagwa received 50.8% of the votes cast in the presidential race, against Nelson Chamisa’s 44.3%. ZANU-PF won 144 seats in parliament while the MDC won only 61, allowing the former the power to amend the constitution with a two-thirds majority in parliament.

 

Mnangagwa’s landslide victory stems from a variety of factors. They include the fact that he was essentially in power during these elections, as well as the success of his anti-corruption measures taken in the months preceding the ballot, and the support he received from ZANU-PF leaders and others in the country – particularly the Armed forces, the mass media and the Veterans’ Association that had historical relations with the ruling party. Mnangagwa and his party also received strong regional support, particularly from the members of South African Development Community (SADC) and South Africa, under Jacob Zuma’s SADC chairmanship.

 

By contrast, Chamisa lacked the experience and public support to compete against Mnangagwa – also known as the “Crocodile” owing to his political cunning and experience. Moreover, Chamisa became MDC leader of the main opposition only a few months before the election, following the death of its former leader, the veteran politician and ex-prime minister Morgan Tsvangirai.

 

Internal and external reactions to the election results

 

Mnangagwa welcomed the election outcomes, describing them as genuine. He vowed that he would represent everyone in the country, including those who chose not to elect him. For its part, the MDC confirmed it would launch a legal challenge to Mnangagwa’s narrow election victory, which it attributed to electoral fraud. It confirmed that numerous irregularities were observed during the electoral process – most notably voter intimidation, lack of security and bias within the electoral commission, armed forces and media toward the ruling party’s candidate.

 

Protests erupted in Harare and police were deployed to preserve the rule of law; the resultant confrontations with police led to the death of three protesters.

 

As for the global and regional responses to the election results, the African Union and South African Development Community (SADC) confirmed that the polls were genuine and transparent, according to African standards. European Union observers confirmed that the electoral process was flawed.

 

The future of Zimbabwe’s political system

 

In light of the results and the divergent responses they have inspired, one of two scenarios is likely to develop in Zimbabwe: either the results are upheld by the courts and Mnangagwa is internationally recognized as the president of the country; or a political deal is reached based on a power-sharing agreement between Mnangagwa and Chamisa.

 

The first scenario is more likely for several reasons. Mnangagwa’s popular support has grown significantly since helping to oust Mugabe from power; he enjoys the backing of both ZANU–PF and the leadership of the Armed forces as well as other regional actors, and has already established strong communication channels with the US, the UK and China. He has sought to rejoin the Commonwealth after Zimbabwe’s membership was suspended in 2002, and international investment funds are keen to open a new chapter in relations with Harare.

 

The realization of this scenario also becomes more plausible as violence in the country diminishes and greater divisions emerge among the ranks of the MDC. Moreover, the necessary conditions for establishing a power-sharing agreement do not exist. Furthermore, the ‘strong man’ and former army chief Constantino Chiwenga has been appointed as vice-president; he is well-known for his significant role in ousting Mugabe.

 

The last power-sharing experience in the country failed and it is highly likely that a repeat attempt would also end in failure. The West pressured Mugabe to appoint Morgan Tsvangirai as prime minister in 2009 to discourage the president from confiscating the lands of white farmers under his agricultural reform agenda; however, that experience lasted only two and a half years due to conflicting powers and a lack of mutual trust.

 

Mnangagwa’s retention of power won’t necessarily result in a smooth transition to political stability and economic recovery. Rather, this will greatly depend on the president’s ability to undertake parallel measures that ensure political reform, the reintegration of the country into the global economy and improvements in national living conditions; in the absence of such measures, Mnangagwa’s presidency will effectively represent a continuation of Mugabe’s rule.

 

 

 
 

Sharethis