قامت السياسات الاقتصادية لحزب العدالة والتنمية منذ وصوله إلى السلطة عام 2002 على تحقيق النمو الاقتصادي من خلال تمويل الحكومة للقطاع الخاص لإقامة المشاريع الضخمة، وضخّ الائتمان عبر البنوك التجارية، واستقطاب التمويل الخارجي، إلا أن هذه السياسات تعرضت للتحدي حينما زادت تكاليف الائتمان الخارجي بسبب تغيّر سياسات البنوك المركزية الرئيسة في العالم في أعقاب الأزمة العالمية عام 2008.

وبينما نجح أردوغان في تأجيل الأزمة الاقتصادية من خلال اتباع سياسات نقدية ومالية توسعية، إلا أن هذه السياسات ليست مستدامة؛ فأصاب الاقتصاد التركي الركود في أواخر العام 2018، وسيُواجه هذا الاقتصاد مشكلة حقيقية في عام 2020.

معضلة الدَّين القومي وارتفاع مخاطر الاستثمار في الأصول التركية

تتمثل المشكلة الرئيسة في الاقتصاد التركي بارتفاع الدَّين القومي، الذي يبلغ 447 مليار دولار، إذ يصل حجم الديون بالنسبة للناتج المحلي الإجمالي إلى 61.8%، وهي أعلى نسبة على الإطلاق في تاريخ تركيا. ونصف هذا الدين تقريباً يعود إلى القطاع الخاص، ما يعني تراجع الاستثمارات الخاصة بسبب تراكم الديون، الأمر الذي يقود إلى تراجع النمو وحدوث ركود، كما يقود إلى حالة من عدم الاستقرار المالي.

وبينما سعت الحكومة التركية إلى إنقاذ الشركات التركية الضخمة التي تواجه مشاكل مالية من خلال تحويل قروضها المعدومة إلى صندوق الثروة السيادي التركي، إلا أن قيمة أصول الصندوق ستتراجع إذا حدث اضطرابٌ مالي جديد؛ ما سيؤثر تالياً في إجمالي حجم محفظة الصندوق، وبخاصة أنه من غير المتوقع أن يُقبل المستثمرون العالميون على المخاطرة في الأصول التركية، وبخاصة إذا علمنا أيضاً أن البيانات الصادرة عن الحكومة التركية تفتقر إلى الشفافية.

وتتزامن تلك التطورات مع التوتر في العلاقات التركية-الأمريكية نتيجة شراء تركيا منظومة الصواريخ الروسية "أس-400"، وتعارض سياسات البلدين بخصوص شمال سوريا، الأمر الذي دفع الولايات المتحدة إلى فرض عقوبات اقتصادية على تركيا وفق "قانون مكافحة أعداء أمريكا من خلال العقوبات" (كاتسا). وضمن ذلك القانون هناك نوعان من العقوبات الرئيسة، هما: استبعاد أنقرة من نظام "سويفت" (نظام التحويلات المالية والمعاملات بين البنوك)، وعرقلة سعي الشركات الأمريكية وشركائها الدوليين للاستثمار في الأصول التركية. وهذان النوعان من العقوبات سيكون لهما تأثير مُدمّر على اقتصاد تركيا؛ فتركيا مُثْقَلة بالديون لحاملي السندات الخارجيين، والغالبية العظمى من مصادر رأس المال تأتي من الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية وحلفائها. وعلاوة على ذلك، فإن عدم القدرة على استخدام نظام "سويفت" سيُعرقِل بشكل مُباشر صادرات تركيا ووارداتها.

وحتى في حال فرض العقوبات الأقل شدة وفق قانون "كاتسا"، فإن من شأنها أيضاً أن تزيد من علاوة مخاطرة الاستثمار في تركيا؛ وبالتالي زيادة كُلف تمويل الشركات والدولة التركية. ومن الُمحتمل أن يزداد التقلّب في أسواق الصرف والسندات. ومع أن هذه العقوبات لن تؤدي إلى انهيار تام في الاقتصاد التركي، إلا أنها يمكن أن تكون مُدمِّرة حينما تتدهور الظروف المالية العالمية بالنسبة لتركيا في الفترة نفسها.

التوقعات في المستقبل القريب

تتمثّل المشكلة الرئيسة للاقتصاد التركي بصعوبة الحصول على التمويل الخارجي بتكاليف معقولة بسبب ضخامة الدَّين. فينبغي تأجيل سداد 50% من الدَّين الداخلي للحكومة في عام 2020. وعلاوة على ذلك، يبلغ الحجم الإجمالي للديون الخارجية التي تستحق السداد في أقل من عام 175 مليار دولار أمريكي. وبحكم هذين السببين، فإن أكبر تحدٍّ سيواجه الاقتصاد التركي في 2020 هو تسديد الديون، وتأجيل سدادها. وسيؤدّي عدم تمديد فترة استحقاق الديون إلى فقدان النشاط الاقتصادي، بينما ستدفع عمليات تمديد استحقاق الدَّين إلى رفع أسعار الفائدة، وقيمة سعر صرف الدولار. وهذا الأمر يُمثل مأزقاً بحد ذاته، والفرصة الوحيدة لتفاديه تتوقّف فقط على القبول الإيجابي بالمخاطرة من قبل المستثمرين العالميين.

ولذلك، سيكون من الحكمة وصف 2019 كعام نصف الانتعاش قبل الصَّدمة الُمقبلة، بدلاً من الانتعاش الكامل. وستُواجه الشركات الصغيرة والكبيرة القابضة صعوبةً كبيرة في الحصول على الأموال لمواصلة عملياتها. فانهيار مصرف رئيس ليس هو الحالة الأساسية، في حين أنه خيار لا يُمكن استبعاده تماماً، في حال ضرَبَ الكسادُ العالمي تركيا بقوة. لقد نشطت الحكومة بشكل كبير جداً في تأجيل الأزمة إلى عام 2018، واستخدمت جميع المصادر تقريباً لتخفيف الآثار السلبية على كلٍّ من الكيانات التجارية والشعب في 2019، ولكن لا يتوافر لديها المزيد من الموارد لمكافحة الأزمة الاقتصادية في 2020. وسيكون حجم الركود العالمي وآثاره الجانبية الإيجابية المحددَّين الرئيسَين لمدى قوة الاقتصاد التركي أو سوئه.

ويتعين أخذ الآثار الاجتماعية والسياسية للأزمة الاقتصادية في الاعتبار أيضاً؛ وبخاصة أن معدلات البطالة تُعد الأعلى على الإطلاق في تاريخ تركيا، إضافةً إلى التوقعات باستمرار هذه المعدلات خلال السنة المقبلة. وقد تحاول الحكومة التركية خفضَ الأجور الحقيقية لجعل تكاليف العمالة معقولة بالنسبة للقطاع الخاص، لكنَّ هذا الأمر سيقود أيضاً إلى تراجع القوة الشرائية للطبقة العاملة. وسيتواصل الاستياء في صفوف المجتمع التركي، إضافة إلى احتمال استمرار التراجع في معدلات الرضا عن الحكومة. 

أحدث الإيجازات

From Stagnation to a Deepening Crisis: Troubles in the Turkish Economy in the Run up to 2020

 

After taking power in 2002, the Justice and Development Party achieved economic growth through its policies of granting funding to the private sector to carry out mega-projects, pumping credit through commercial banks, and attracting foreign investment. These policies encountered a hurdle, however, when foreign credit costs began to rise as a result of the change in policy made by the main central banks around the world in the aftermath of the 2008 global crisis.

          While Erdoğan’s expansionary economic and fiscal policies managed to delay the economic crisis, they were not sustainable. In late 2018, the Turkish economy stagnated, and it will face real challenges in 2020.

 The dilemma of national debt and the growing risk of investing in Turkish assets

          The main problem facing the Turkish economy is the rising national debt, which has reached US$ 447 billion. The debt-to-GDP ratio sits at 61.8%, the highest in Turkish history. Almost half the debt belongs to the private sector; private investment has waned as a result of the accumulation of debts, leading to a decline in growth, to stagnation, and to financial instability.

          The Turkish government has tried to rescue the largest Turkish companies facing financial difficulties by transferring their bad loans to the Turkey Wealth Fund. The value of the Fund’s assets will begin to decrease if new financial turmoil occurs, however, which will have an impact on the total size of its portfolio, particularly as global investors are not expected to accept the risks present in Turkish assets, especially given that the data provided by the Turkish government lack transparency.

          These developments have coincided with a growing strain in Turkish–American relations, following Turkey’s purchase of Russian-made S-400 missile systems and the clash in the two countries’ policies on northern Syria. The USA is therefore considering imposing economic sanctions on Turkey under its Countering America’s Adversaries Through Sanctions Act (CAATSA), which provides for two main types of sanctions: the exclusion of Ankara from the SWIFT system (for financial transfers and transactions between banks), and the punishment of any American companies or their international partners that attempt to invest in Turkish assets. These two types of sanctions will have a destructive effect on the Turkish economy. Turkey is weighed down by its debts to foreign bondholders, and the vast majority of its capital comes from the USA and its allies. Moreover, the inability to use the SWIFT system will have a direct impact on Turkey’s imports and exports.

          Even if less severe CAATSA sanctions are imposed, investment risk premiums in Turkey will still increase, which will drive up the cost of corporate and state finance. The exchange and bond markets are also expected to become more volatile. While the sanctions will not cause the complete collapse of the Turkish economy, they may damage it severely, leading to the deterioration in global economic conditions for the country within the same period.

Near-term predictions

          The main challenge facing the Turkish economy is the difficulty of obtaining foreign finance at a reasonable cost, owing to the magnitude of the country’s debts. Payment on 50% of the government’s domestic debt will need to be deferred in 2020, and US$ 175 million in foreign debt will mature within the next 12 months. Consequently, the greatest challenge that the Turkish economy will face in 2020 is the repayment and postponement of its debts. While the failure to extend the maturity period will lead to a decline in economic activity, efforts to extend the period will drive up interest rates and the dollar exchange rate. This is a cause for concern in and of itself, and can be avoided only if global investors accept the risks.

          It would therefore be wise to describe 2019 as a year of semi-recovery before the next shock, rather than one of complete recovery. Small and large holding companies will face serious difficulties in obtaining the funds required to continue their operations. While the collapse of a major bank is not inevitable, it cannot be ruled out if the global recession hits Turkey hard. Although the government made real efforts to delay the crisis until 2018, and has used almost every option to mitigate the negative impact on both commercial entities and the people in 2019, it has no more resources available to combat the economic crisis in 2020. The magnitude of the global recession and its positive side effects will be key determiners of the strength or weakness of the Turkish economy.

          The social and political impact of the economic crisis must also be taken into account, in particular as unemployment rates in Turkey are at an all-time high and are expected to remain as such throughout the coming year. Although the Turkish government has tried to reduce real wages to make labour costs acceptable for the private sector, this will also weaken the purchasing power of the working class. Resentment among the various sectors of Turkish society will grow, and the government’s satisfaction rating may continue to fall.

 
 
 

Sharethis